SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-16 02:46:47

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Sid won't break despite my best efforts

Upgraded to Sid with @Head_on_a_Stick's autologin and migration to systemd-network in place, have Jessie backports enabled in sources.list and update and upgrade without a second thought twice a day. Loss of Sound&Video, to my mind probably the biggest bugaboos post an upgrade still work in my case. Qupzilla 1.8.6 turned out to be a huge disappointment, Java stopped working in it and there was no improvement in respect of it's exorbitant memory usage. Chromium, on the other hand seems to behave much better in Sid so i have revised my opinion of both browsers.

There's just this one annoyance that i cannot explain which makes me hope Sid would break and i'd get an excuse to reinstall; these are the two lines i've added in /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart

eval `cat $HOME/.fehbg` && gkrellm &
buici-clock --override-redirect -geometry =108x45+1260+720 &

Everything runs as expected but my freakin' wallpaper just won't load, why, WHY, WHAAAII?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-09-16 05:19:40

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

mzsade wrote:

There's just this one annoyance that i cannot explain which makes me hope Sid would break and i'd get an excuse to reinstall; these are the two lines i've added in /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart

eval `cat $HOME/.fehbg` && gkrellm &
buici-clock --override-redirect -geometry =108x45+1260+720 &

Strip the feh command out of there and add the following to ~/.config/openbox/autostart...

sh ~/.fehbg &

bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#3 2015-09-16 05:20:48

Anaconda
crypto-anarchist
From: Vancouver Canada
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 437

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

"Sid won't break..."

You're just not trying hard enough. I broke Sid last night by using deb-multimedia.org repos.

But yeah, Sid is actually pretty solid right now from what I can see so far in my xfce desktop.


“The university is well structured, well tooled, to turn out people with all the sharp edges worn off...." Mario Savio
"Protections for anonymous speech are vital to democratic discourse". Help enforce our right to free and anonymous speech by taking the Tor challenge.

Offline

#4 2015-09-16 06:11:11

vic
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,361

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

Wont`t break? Install KDE  big_smile


Time to move on!#

Offline

#5 2015-09-16 07:17:26

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

hhh wrote:

Strip the feh command out of there and add the following to ~/.config/openbox/autostart...

sh ~/.fehbg &

Awesome! Before this i'd tried everything within my limited scope including putting the feh --bg-scale command as an executable script in ~/.xsession after it didn't work in */openbox/autostart. Seriously, i'd be completely adrift without the Linux community and Linux wouldn't be half the fun it is for me without you guys. big_smile

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-16 07:45:35)

Offline

#6 2015-09-16 07:26:14

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

mzsade, try

. ~/.fehbg

no need to eval.

edit: oh, you got it already. i forgot to press F5 again...

Last edited by ohnonot (2015-09-16 07:27:13)

Offline

#7 2015-09-17 06:26:11

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

mzsade wrote:

...have Jessie backports enabled in sources.list and update and upgrade without a second thought twice a day.

Why do you have Backports enabled if you're tracking Sid?


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#8 2015-09-17 15:06:57

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

KrunchTime wrote:

Why do you have Backports enabled if you're tracking Sid?

Remembered reading somewhere that mixed repos crash Sid. wink But no more of that now, i love Sid, it's rock-solid, fully intend to keep it, and have removed the backports' deb, for what it's worth.

Offline

#9 2015-09-22 06:37:53

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Sid won't break despite my best efforts

@mzsade:  Mixing any repos, other than cherry picking from Backports under Stable, or cherry picking from Experimental under Unstable, is usually not recommended.

I'm loving Unstable (Sid) more now that I have more experience with it.  It also helps that I'm no longer using an AMD/ATI GPU.  Shout out to the members of this communicy, as well as those over at Siduction, for the info I've gleaned over the last two years or so.

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-09-22 06:38:53)


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo