SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-20 00:22:45

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Game graphics problems " war thunder "

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bypwUdnk1Uk

tried all graphics setting.  disabled composting,  nothing works.

anyone have any ideas?

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-09-20 12:43:58

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

How did you install Steam?

Do you have problems with any other Steam games?

What is your hardware?

lspci -knn|grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'

Please also post the output of:

glxinfo|grep rendering

Offline

#3 2015-09-20 15:49:35

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

Also, is this on an installed BL Hydrogen system? I thought you were stuck because of UEFI.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#4 2015-09-20 18:21:54

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

How did you install Steam?

Do you have problems with any other Steam games?

What is your hardware?

lspci -knn|grep -iA2 'vga\|3d'

Please also post the output of:

glxinfo|grep rendering

00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 3rd Gen Core processor Graphics Controller [8086:0166] (rev 09)
    Subsystem: Acer Incorporated [ALI] Device [1025:0685]
    Kernel driver in use: i915


direct rendering: Yes

intel i7 quad core 3610

installed steam from the website,  could not find it in synaptic.

didnt download any other games so i dont know.   this game play fine on mint mate.

Offline

#5 2015-09-20 18:27:13

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

hhh wrote:

Also, is this on an installed BL Hydrogen system? I thought you were stuck because of UEFI.


yes did a full install.

i disabled UEFI  just so i could install it.   I was trying to get it to install with UEFI enabled but it didnt work.

everything runs fine but the game look funny.

and also i install version 5 virtualbox and it would not work, so i had to install version 4.3 from synaptic.

Offline

#6 2015-09-20 20:41:11

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

davbeh wrote:

installed steam from the website,  could not find it in synaptic.

You should always check the Debian wiki first:
https://wiki.debian.org/Steam

You probably have a 64-bit system -- Steam is a 32-bit application so you must enable multi-architecture support on your machine and update your package database before it will show up in Synaptic.

The steps are listed clearly in the link above.

I can confirm that Steam works perfectly in Debian jessie (the same as BunsenLabs) playing CS:GO

Unfortunately, because you have installed from a script this may have damaged your system.

You may have also caused problems installing version 5 of VirtualBox -- did you add a PPA?

If it is a new install, I would recommend starting over and next time just follow the official guides and only ever install software using the package manager (Synaptic) and perhaps read the bottom link in my signature.

Offline

#7 2015-09-20 22:40:30

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
davbeh wrote:

installed steam from the website,  could not find it in synaptic.

You should always check the Debian wiki first:
https://wiki.debian.org/Steam

You probably have a 64-bit system -- Steam is a 32-bit application so you must enable multi-architecture support on your machine and update your package database before it will show up in Synaptic.

The steps are listed clearly in the link above.

I can confirm that Steam works perfectly in Debian jessie (the same as BunsenLabs) playing CS:GO

Unfortunately, because you have installed from a script this may have damaged your system.

You may have also caused problems installing version 5 of VirtualBox -- did you add a PPA?

If it is a new install, I would recommend starting over and next time just follow the official guides and only ever install software using the package manager (Synaptic) and perhaps read the bottom link in my signature.


thats probably whats wrong with steam,  same with vbox.  but i couldnt find version 5 on the debian site only see 4.3 

i will have to start over....

Offline

#8 2015-09-21 06:24:31

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

davbeh wrote:

i couldnt find version 5 on the debian site only see 4.3

https://packages.debian.org/search?keyw … ection=all

If you want to use version 5 in Debian Stable (BunsenLabs), then you will have to backport it yourself from Testing/Unstable by following this guide:
https://wiki.debian.org/SimpleBackportCreation

If you attempt to install it by adding Testing/Unstable repositories or Ubuntu PPAs, you will break your system. Again.

If you absolutely *need* the latest version (are you sure that you do?) then perhaps Debian Stable is not suited to your needs.

Offline

#9 2015-09-21 14:54:32

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
davbeh wrote:

installed steam from the website,  could not find it in synaptic.

You should always check the Debian wiki first:
https://wiki.debian.org/Steam

You probably have a 64-bit system -- Steam is a 32-bit application so you must enable multi-architecture support on your machine and update your package database before it will show up in Synaptic.

The steps are listed clearly in the link above.

I can confirm that Steam works perfectly in Debian jessie (the same as BunsenLabs) playing CS:GO

Unfortunately, because you have installed from a script this may have damaged your system.

You may have also caused problems installing version 5 of VirtualBox -- did you add a PPA?

If it is a new install, I would recommend starting over and next time just follow the official guides and only ever install software using the package manager (Synaptic) and perhaps read the bottom link in my signature.

dont understand what they want done in this link you gave above. had this same problem with the netinstall nothing seems to work for me : /   I did what i think they said to do but then it say "for example"  so do i add whats in the boxed areas in the file  /etc/apt/sources.list ?  I have added it but still cant find steam in synaptic nor will it let me install from the debian site, says wrong architecture.  then i was looking at the backport link you provided,  oh man this is just to much LOL maybe this is not for me.

Offline

#10 2015-09-21 15:50:29

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

davbeh wrote:

oh man this is just to much LOL maybe this is not for me.

Nah...

Add a "non-free" component to /etc/apt/sources.list, for example:

# Debian Jessie (testing)
deb http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free

Already present in RC1 Hydrogen. The hashtag here prevents that line from being read.

Enable Multi-Arch and update the list of available packages:

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# aptitude update

These are commands to be entered into a terminal (Terminator by default in Bunsen). The hashtags here mean run these commands as root, as opposed to the dollar symbol meaning run as user. We use sudo in Bunsen, so open a terminal and run the commands, one at a time...

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo apt-get update

The wiki uses aptitude, I'm using apt, choose your poison.

Then install steam and the graphics packages, if you need them, the same way.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#11 2015-09-21 18:46:37

davbeh
Member
Registered: 2015-09-18
Posts: 10

Re: Game graphics problems " war thunder "

hhh wrote:
davbeh wrote:

oh man this is just to much LOL maybe this is not for me.

Nah...

Add a "non-free" component to /etc/apt/sources.list, for example:

# Debian Jessie (testing)
deb http://http.debian.net/debian/ jessie main contrib non-free

Already present in RC1 Hydrogen. The hashtag here prevents that line from being read.

Enable Multi-Arch and update the list of available packages:

# dpkg --add-architecture i386
# aptitude update

These are commands to be entered into a terminal (Terminator by default in Bunsen). The hashtags here mean run these commands as root, as opposed to the dollar symbol meaning run as user. We use sudo in Bunsen, so open a terminal and run the commands, one at a time...

sudo dpkg --add-architecture i386
sudo apt-get update

The wiki uses aptitude, I'm using apt, choose your poison.

Then install steam and the graphics packages, if you need them, the same way.

Ok  now it installed.  thank you.   going to install war thunder again and see what happens.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo