SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-21 05:53:59

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Running BL Hydrogen rc1 (i386) since 2 weeks and so far I encountered only 1 minor problem, the 'Open Dropbox Folder' in the OB menu didn't work. It gave a warning that it couldn't open '/HOME/Dropbox'. It was an easy fix. I opened the bl-dropbox-pipemenu (usr/bin) and changed the line

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager /HOME/Dropbox'

to

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager ~/Dropbox'

After a restart it is working smile

Last edited by Roetsj (2015-09-21 05:54:54)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-09-21 06:34:13

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager /HOME/Dropbox'

Offline

#3 2015-09-21 06:52:06

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

You're right (my bad I tried to recall it afterwards) the line was

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

but I had to change it into ~/Dropbox. I'm off to work now but I will try to get more info (change the line back to $HOME and get the warning again) later this day (if needed).

Offline

#4 2015-09-21 16:03:25

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

I reproduced the situation in vbox (on a diferent machine). After installation I get a popup. This is telling me that Dropbox.py has been installed in /home/roetsj/bin and "(if /home/roetsj/bin is in my PATH, then the path /home/roetsj/bin can be omitted.)". I can only choice for OK. Then (after registration), if a go to the menu Open Dropbox Folder I get a popup warning: "Error when getting information for file '/home/roetsj/$HOME/Dropbox': Bestand of map bestaat niet." (file or folder doesn't exist).
I didn't change the pipemenu and the specific line still says

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

but I get it working with

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager ~/Dropbox'

Last edited by Roetsj (2015-09-21 16:07:21)

Offline

#5 2015-09-21 16:37:47

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

I can't reproduce this using RC1 32 bit in Virtualbox. The installer downloads the needed package and proprietary files, installs, I get the same popup about bin as you, I sign in, and the tray icon shows that it's syncing.

The only issue I see as that I'm prompted to launch the client even though it's already running.

It seems the icon's background-transparency works in tint2 now.  smile

I'll try the 64 bit ISO now and post back.

Offline

#6 2015-09-21 17:12:22

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Works me using 64 bit as well.

Offline

#7 2015-09-21 17:46:34

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Offline

#8 2015-09-21 18:15:09

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

@OP I have found the same as you - trying to open the Dropbox directory from the menu fails. This seems to be due to a typo in the pipemenu, which can be fixed by changing line 116 from

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

to

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' "bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox"

Thanks for reporting this smile

Last edited by damo (2015-09-21 18:15:32)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo