SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-09-21 05:53:59

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Running BL Hydrogen rc1 (i386) since 2 weeks and so far I encountered only 1 minor problem, the 'Open Dropbox Folder' in the OB menu didn't work. It gave a warning that it couldn't open '/HOME/Dropbox'. It was an easy fix. I opened the bl-dropbox-pipemenu (usr/bin) and changed the line

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager /HOME/Dropbox'

to

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager ~/Dropbox'

After a restart it is working smile

Last edited by Roetsj (2015-09-21 05:54:54)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-09-21 06:34:13

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Roetsj wrote:
menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager /HOME/Dropbox'

That's strange -- all your line was missing was a "$" symbol in front of "HOME" and this is present in the OB menu:
https://github.com/BunsenLabs/bunsen-pi … x-pipemenu

Had you modified the entry?

Offline

#3 2015-09-21 06:52:06

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

You're right (my bad I tried to recall it afterwards) the line was

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

but I had to change it into ~/Dropbox. I'm off to work now but I will try to get more info (change the line back to $HOME and get the warning again) later this day (if needed).

Offline

#4 2015-09-21 16:03:25

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

I reproduced the situation in vbox (on a diferent machine). After installation I get a popup. This is telling me that Dropbox.py has been installed in /home/roetsj/bin and "(if /home/roetsj/bin is in my PATH, then the path /home/roetsj/bin can be omitted.)". I can only choice for OK. Then (after registration), if a go to the menu Open Dropbox Folder I get a popup warning: "Error when getting information for file '/home/roetsj/$HOME/Dropbox': Bestand of map bestaat niet." (file or folder doesn't exist).
I didn't change the pipemenu and the specific line still says

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

but I get it working with

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager ~/Dropbox'

Last edited by Roetsj (2015-09-21 16:07:21)

Offline

#5 2015-09-21 16:37:47

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

I can't reproduce this using RC1 32 bit in Virtualbox. The installer downloads the needed package and proprietary files, installs, I get the same popup about bin as you, I sign in, and the tray icon shows that it's syncing.

The only issue I see as that I'm prompted to launch the client even though it's already running.

It seems the icon's background-transparency works in tint2 now.  smile

I'll try the 64 bit ISO now and post back.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#6 2015-09-21 17:12:22

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

Works me using 64 bit as well.


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#7 2015-09-21 17:46:34

Roetsj
#! CrunchBanger
From: Amsterdam, NL
Registered: 2011-01-11
Posts: 162

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

hhh wrote:

... and the tray icon shows that it's syncing.

Mine is syncing as well (even waited until syncing was done), in Thunar the Dropbox folder is there, only the menu item Open Dropbox Folder isn't working with this specific line. No big deal, I got it solved and so far I seem to be the only one. It's nice that transparancy is working again  smile

Offline

#8 2015-09-21 18:15:09

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Open Dropbox Folder didn't work

@OP I have found the same as you - trying to open the Dropbox directory from the menu fails. This seems to be due to a typo in the pipemenu, which can be fixed by changing line 116 from

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' 'bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox'

to

menuItem 'Open Dropbox Folder' "bl-file-manager $HOME/Dropbox"

Thanks for reporting this smile

Last edited by damo (2015-09-21 18:15:32)


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo