SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2015-08-29 20:22:00

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#27 2015-08-30 12:24:00

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2015-08-30 15:26:53)

Offline

#28 2015-08-30 15:35:57

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,634
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Isn't there any other volume icon that fullfeels our needs? I mean, last time I checked there were quite a few. That was the AUR, though. I have written one myself in C, perhaps I can port it to python and add some features. My version is really basic and only provides volume up/down on scrolling and a popover showing the volume level as a percentage.

But I guess we shouldn't let BunsenLabs wait on such minor nitpicks. If we can work around volumeicon-alsa, we should smile

Offline

#29 2015-08-30 16:00:45

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2015-08-30 16:05:10)

Offline

#30 2015-08-30 16:03:35

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,634
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

^ Mine only controls the master channel, so showing which channel it operates on is unnecessary big_smile

Offline

#31 2015-08-30 16:09:08

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

@Unia: Sounds good enough, how can 'we' test?

Offline

#32 2015-08-30 22:25:12

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#33 2015-08-30 22:41:33

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#34 2015-08-30 23:10:53

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

What part of "we're looking for a workaround to the double-notification bug in volumeicon-alsa" do you not understand?

Offline

#35 2015-08-31 01:29:00

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#36 2015-08-31 03:14:14

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2015-08-31 03:26:48)

Offline

#37 2015-08-31 11:22:08

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#38 2015-09-01 05:51:53

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Just tried pasystray - it has many obscure-looking settings available, and does control the volume via the scrollwheel (but no other way, unfortunately for those without good scrolling on their touchpad).

The main drawback for me was that it was invisible. There are no preferences available in that complex menu to change the icon theme, and changing the icon theme in lxappearance didn't help either. Oddly, middle-click to mute and an icon appears. That behaviour seems familiar actually. Didn't volti or volumeicon do that too?

Anyway, not over-thrilled.

Offline

#39 2015-09-01 15:15:21

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

pasystray uses the user's icon theme. The reason changing the icon theme didn't do anything is that, from what I can tell, tint2 doesn't apply the change until you logour/login (restarting tint2 via the menu didn't do anything).

For some reason, Faenza-Dark and Faenza-Dark-Bunsen have black status icons for the sizes 16, 22 and 24. I could hack that easily so the icon would be visible, but...

Anyway, not over-thrilled.

Ditto. volti with pavucontrol set as it's mixer is still our best bet at this point. Swapping volti with your applet of choice is simple enough.

Offline

#40 2015-09-01 17:47:17

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#41 2015-09-01 18:26:44

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,634
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#42 2015-09-02 01:54:55

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#43 2015-09-02 20:43:03

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

What's wrong with alsa, pulseaudio, pavucontrol & volumeicon?  Screenshot in #26
They work together quite well.

Offline

#44 2015-09-02 20:50:26

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#45 2015-09-02 21:06:15

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Offline

#46 2015-09-02 21:23:47

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Good for you! Unfortunately, I have no idea what system your using. That's definitely not xfce4-notifyd, there's no setting for having notifications in the center of the screen.

If you'd care to share, what OS are you using? What version of volumeicon? What's your output for...

apt-cache policy xfce4-notifyd

Offline

#47 2015-09-02 22:06:08

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

apt-cache policy xfce4-notifyd

Offline

#48 2015-09-03 02:16:40

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Volumeicon-alsa on Jessie is version 0.4.6-2.1. On Sid it's 0.4.6-2.2

Offline

#49 2015-09-03 02:56:52

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Right, so ostrolk is using the version from GitHub. As I explained earlier in this thread, we won't be installing 3rd-party binaries in the ISO by default. This can go in a "Things to do after installing BunsenLabs Hydrogen" HowTo, though, which we'll draw up after the "official" ISO gets released.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#50 2015-09-03 07:15:18

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Last edited by ostrołęk (2015-09-03 07:21:08)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo