SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#201 2014-05-13 03:14:36

gecko_god
New Member
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 3

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Hi! Thanks for answering. That dind't actually work (it still asked if I wanted to exit and even clicking in "Yes, exit i3" has the same effect. i3 just closes and I can't log out).
But you gave me an idea, I changed back the line in /etc/slim.conf to start with /X11/Xsession instead of ~/.xinitrc and put the startup commands I needed (compton, mouse configs, etc) in ~/.i3/config like this

exec nm-applet &
exec synclient TapButton1=1 &
exec synclient TapButton2=3 &
exec sleep 3s && compton-git --opengl --vsync opengl-swc --paint-on-overlay &

I'm not sure if the "&" at the end of each command is really necessary in this script, but it worked, thanks! big_smile

edit:

One more thing, is there a nice way to configure lid close actions (I would like to suspend when on battery and do nothing when plugged) and change two-finger scrolling to edge scrolling?

Thanks again õ/

Last edited by gecko_god (2014-05-13 03:18:07)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#202 2014-05-13 08:05:56

dxm
Member
Registered: 2014-05-07
Posts: 11

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

For the lid close actions, someone wrote a blog bost about doing that from in i3, which you might find helpful!

For the touchpad thing, this page on the Arch wiki might help get you started. Good luck!

Offline

#203 2014-05-13 20:36:45

gecko_god
New Member
Registered: 2014-05-12
Posts: 3

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Gonna try that, thank you!  smile

Offline

#204 2014-07-18 00:23:43

nathanvy
New Member
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 9

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

Been trying out i3 for while - refer to the epic 30 Wm's thread for a review and installation notes:
http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/post/200514/#p200514

I can see getting hooked on this Wm; I actually prefer tabbing to tiling, but can't quite get efficient with container management.

Screenshot:

http://t.imgbox.com/aamqhlZm.jpg

How can I get little battery/wifi indicators in the tray like in PackRat's screenshot?  I've set my config to allow a tray, and VLC puts an icon up there when running, but I would like network/battery indicators smile

Offline

#205 2014-07-18 00:32:53

camshron
#! Member
Registered: 2009-04-02
Posts: 58

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

add this to your config file e.g exec --no-startup-id app-name
i have exec --no-startup-id nm-applet & and exec  --no-startup-id volumeicon &. you can use some of my configs for examples to start with and customize your own  https://github.com/camshron/configs

Offline

#206 2014-07-18 01:53:47

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

^ this

although, I have not tried using --no-startup-id. I'll have to keep it in mind for future reference.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#207 2014-07-18 03:44:37

nathanvy
New Member
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 9

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

camshron wrote:

add this to your config file e.g exec --no-startup-id app-name
i have exec --no-startup-id nm-applet & and exec  --no-startup-id volumeicon &. you can use some of my configs for examples to start with and customize your own  https://github.com/camshron/configs

PackRat wrote:

^ this

although, I have not tried using --no-startup-id. I'll have to keep it in mind for future reference.

Outstanding, thanks.

Offline

#208 2014-07-18 06:41:47

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

but can't quite get efficient with container management.

I wonder if anyone can, really. Manual tilers like Herbstluftwm handle it far better, IMO. But one trick is to plan ahead - split your containers before opening new applications. E.g two tabs on one workspace:

========|=======
App1	| App 3
[1]

To split one tab, but keep the full screen area for the other:

Mod+V (split vertically)

[V]=====|=======
App1	| App 3
|	|
|	|
---	|
App2	|
|	|
|	|

Why tabs and not just workspaces? i3 can't move from one space to the next, when for example clicking a link.

My i3 config: https://raw.githubusercontent.com/AladW … .i3/config

But I don't use it anymore. In the case of i3, active development equals active breakage.

Last edited by Alad (2014-07-18 06:50:16)

Offline

#209 2015-02-05 20:06:55

neil_fl
Member
Registered: 2012-03-30
Posts: 24

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Here's a screenshot of my new wm!
2015_02_05_1423164154.jpg

Offline

#210 2015-06-18 00:40:44

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

what is a good way to get this to work in i3? I was using it in my autostart in Openbox -- not really sure what to do to get it to work. I've figured out everything thing else I need (so far) just not sure about this one.

#completely turn off the touchpad 
# buttons and everything

xinput set-prop 12 "Device Enabled" 0
       synclient touchpadoff=1 
	synclient VertEdgeScroll=0 
	synclient TapButton1=0
        synclient TapButton2=0
       synclient TapButton3=0 &

Edit : hahaha Never mind it was just as I suppected more then not,, ~ after posting this I scooled up the page and found my answer lol

 exec  xinput set-prop 12 "Device Enabled" 0
   ""    synclient touchpadoff=1 
  ""	synclient VertEdgeScroll=0 
   ""	synclient TapButton1=0
     ""   synclient TapButton2=0
   ""    synclient TapButton3=0 &

something like that lol

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-06-18 00:43:00)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#211 2015-06-18 01:08:22

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

^ for a laptop?

I use this script -

#!/bin/bash
synclient TouchpadOff=$(synclient -l | grep -c 'TouchpadOff.*=.*0')

save the script to someplace on your $PATH and make it executable. I place it in my autostart files/sections so that the touchpad is turned off when I log in, but also make a key binding for the script so I can toggle the touchpad on/off.

@userx-bw - you get the volume keys working? I use alsa and they work if I quote the text:


bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec "amixer -q sset Master 5%+ unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec "amixer -q sset Master 5%- unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec "amixer sset Master,0 toggle"

Last edited by PackRat (2015-06-18 01:14:35)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#212 2015-06-18 01:13:46

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

^ for a laptop?

I use this script -

#!/bin/bash
synclient TouchpadOff=$(synclient -l | grep -c 'TouchpadOff.*=.*0')

save the script to someplace on your $PATH and make it executable. I place it in my autostart files/sections so that the touchpad is turned off when I log in, but also make a key binding for the script so I can toggle the touchpad on/off.

I added to my i3/config

exec

to everything using a separate line for each pram in i3 config file and it works perfectly thanks for your input though smile


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#213 2015-06-18 02:25:16

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

^ for a laptop?

I use this script -

#!/bin/bash
synclient TouchpadOff=$(synclient -l | grep -c 'TouchpadOff.*=.*0')

save the script to someplace on your $PATH and make it executable. I place it in my autostart files/sections so that the touchpad is turned off when I log in, but also make a key binding for the script so I can toggle the touchpad on/off.

@userx-bw - you get the volume keys working? I use alsa and they work if I quote the text:


bindsym XF86AudioRaiseVolume exec "amixer -q sset Master 5%+ unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioLowerVolume exec "amixer -q sset Master 5%- unmute"
bindsym XF86AudioMute exec "amixer sset Master,0 toggle"

yeah I tired that volume key thing it didn't work too well didn't stay long on it moved on to something else --
from what I remember I couldn't get them to bind to my arrow keys as they are being used so I tired

mod+v+up
mod+v+down

but no go at that point
what keys are they bind too??

---
on the touch pad I just keep it off completely and use my mouse == I've been typing too many times then my palm hits the touch pad and goes crazy mad then I lose everything I just typed. So I kill it ]:D problem solved.


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#214 2015-06-18 02:30:02

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

camshron wrote:

add this to your config file e.g exec --no-startup-id app-name
i have exec --no-startup-id nm-applet & and exec  --no-startup-id volumeicon &. you can use some of my configs for examples to start with and customize your own  https://github.com/camshron/configs

yeah that is just how I did it too
exec --no-startup-id <program name>
radiotray - dropbox start add start to the end so it starts wink - volumeicon - don't have a battery icon installed on Slack yet on Debian I use mate-power-manager


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#215 2015-06-18 13:46:41

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

what keys are they bind too??

My keyboards have the multimedia keys for volume control so I use those.

You tried -

mod+v+up
mod+v+down

I don't think those are valid key bindings - one modifier + 2 keys - try something like -

bindsym mod+shift+u     # mod + shift + Up/Down are already used by default
bindsym mod+shift+d

Last edited by PackRat (2015-06-18 13:48:36)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#216 2015-06-18 14:22:40

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

what keys are they bind too??

My keyboards have the multimedia keys for volume control so I use those.

You tried -

mod+v+up
mod+v+down

I don't think those are valid key bindings - one modifier + 2 keys - try something like -

bindsym mod+shift+u     # mod + shift + Up/Down are already used by default
bindsym mod+shift+d

Yeah I don't got those keys  sad --

right now I'm trying to fix i3 on my slack box (install) I downloaded and installed the dependencies to compile and install i3-4.10.2 where even Debian does not have that latest version in there repos. So I got it complied and installed now I got this problem

error while loading shared libraries cannot open shared object file libxkbcommon.so.0 no such file or directory

I just got to find it and figure out how to get the system to see it -- I installed it using configure,  make, make install so I don't think Slackware updated it in there files. Find just found it right here

/usr/local/lib/libxkbcommon.so.0

so now I'm off to Google land to find the geek I seek the answer to. In which I need to fix this problem ...  wink
and post a help me in here too lol wink

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-06-18 14:39:41)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#217 2015-06-18 16:00:36

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

Which Slackware?

Slackware 14.1 is pretty old and may only support 4.8 - slackware i3 wm at slackbuilds

If you're running slackware current, you may get i3 to compile.

Last edited by PackRat (2015-06-18 16:01:26)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#218 2015-06-18 16:17:52

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

Which Slackware?

Slackware 14.1 is pretty old and may only support 4.8 - slackware i3 wm at slackbuilds

If you're running slackware current, you may get i3 to compile.

yeah its 14.1 the latest (2 yrs old) but I downloaded all of the depenceis it was screaming about then compiled and installed them not using a SlackBuild script. then I used the SlackBuild Script to install the newest ver of i3 by just changing that ver in the script and it complied and installed with no errors -- until I tried startx then I got that error of a file that is in here -- I link it is a link to it so I am right now removed it and found a slackbuild script for that libray and trying to figure out to get it to work.

stuck on this in running it

libxkbcommon-master/xkbcommon-x11.pc
./libxkbcommon.SlackBuild: line 65: cd: libxkbcommon-0.5.0: No such file or directory

trying to figure out what that means and where it is looking to find a version number because I got it off of git and it is not showing what version it is and I don't remember what it was when I got it then installed it lol

I know it can work all it got a have is all of the things to make it run right? neutral

everything is installed just going back a step to try and get that libxkbcommon in properly now than see what happens


4.8 was what I was using they got out a 4.10.2 now

http://i3wm.org/downloads/

it is in SID debian

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-06-18 16:19:33)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#219 2015-06-18 18:24:39

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

PackRat wrote:

Which Slackware?

Slackware 14.1 is pretty old and may only support 4.8 - slackware i3 wm at slackbuilds

If you're running slackware current, you may get i3 to compile.

nX3EYwC.png

I got it running on Slackware 14.1 "old?" -- i3 version 4.10.2 the latest and greatest big_smile

I just had to update a few things xcb files and make ver utils
everything else is the same it used the old config and conky and it's running


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#220 2015-06-19 19:15:47

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

what is everybody using for a screen saver and lockscreen?


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#221 2015-06-21 23:02:46

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

ok is there any still left alive on this post?

When I am running Openbox I can use my Fn F9 Fn F10 to adjust my brightness on my monitor. Yet hen I am in i3 I no longer have this option. I've looked up solutions not to find any.

So I was thinking if I can use it in Openbox then All I got a do is find out how that one is using it then trying to set it up the same way in this i3. Hopefully that'd work.

anyone know How to find settings to monitor brightness?


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#222 2015-07-08 21:15:38

camshron
#! Member
Registered: 2009-04-02
Posts: 58

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

userx-bw wrote:

what is everybody using for a screen saver and lockscreen?

#!/bin/sh -e

# Take a screenshot
scrot /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Blur the image
convert /tmp/screen_locked.png -blur 0x6 /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Lock screen displaying this image.
i3lock -i /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Turn the screen off after a delay.
sleep 60; pgrep i3lock && xset dpms force off

I use this for a lockscreen it takes a screenshot then blurs the scrot then puts the display to sleep

Offline

#223 2015-07-08 21:54:04

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

camshron wrote:
userx-bw wrote:

what is everybody using for a screen saver and lockscreen?

#!/bin/sh -e

# Take a screenshot
scrot /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Blur the image
convert /tmp/screen_locked.png -blur 0x6 /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Lock screen displaying this image.
i3lock -i /tmp/screen_locked.png

# Turn the screen off after a delay.
sleep 60; pgrep i3lock && xset dpms force off

I use this for a lockscreen it takes a screenshot then blurs the scrot then puts the display to sleep




I'm using standard xscreensaver and this nice lock screen that just locks keyboard leaving it looking like its not locked besides the mouse pointer turns into a lock shape, and you can even leave what ever running and still see it working -- or xscreensaver lock if I want then screen savers showing ~

#start screen saver
exec  xscreensaver -no-splash

## Lock screen clear xtrlock
bindsym $sup+c exec --no-startup-id xtrlock

bindsym Control+l exec --no-startup-id /usr/bin/xscreensaver-command -lock

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-07-08 21:56:13)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#224 2015-07-17 22:05:49

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: The great #! forums i3 thread

getting i3 to shut down like really fast like dwm... go to the happy place in your config file where it has the shut down i3, it will say quit, just replace that one little four letter word with another four letter word, exit . save then reload it done! no more having to click a yes I told you to leave my sight confirmation message.


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo