SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-07-13 01:53:22

paxmark1
#! Junkie
From: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 263

Conky v1.10 Thread

[url=http://link.to.your.fullsized.image][img]http://link.to.your.thumbnail.image[/img][/url]

Last edited by paxmark1 (2015-07-14 00:09:23)


Jean Vanier wrote "Being Human" and "A Short History of Progress" by Ronald Wright.  Gotta love the Massey Lectures.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-07-13 02:13:08

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

This makes sense ... will discuss with the other Mods...

Offline

#3 2015-07-13 05:39:56

intoCB
Scatweasel
Registered: 2012-10-25
Posts: 2,412

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

sudo systemctl start conky.service

see manual page systemd.conky(5) for more misinformation.

Offline

#4 2015-07-13 17:13:42

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

[damo@cb-desktop ~]$ conky -c /home/damo/.config/conky/ellipse-gauges-clock/ellipse-gauges-clock.conkyrc 
conky: Syntax error (...ome/damo/.config/conky/ellipse-gauges-clock/ellipse-gauges-clock.conkyrc:2: unexpected symbol near '#') while reading config file. 
conky: Assuming it's in old syntax and attempting conversion.
conky: desktop window (2a4) is root window
conky: window type - normal
conky: drawing to created window (0x2000001)
conky: drawing to double buffer
conky: forked to background, pid is 15162
conky: obj->data.i 1 info.cpu_count 0
conky: attempting to use more CPUs than you have!

Offline

#5 2015-07-13 17:43:31

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

@ damo

It because you are running conky v1.10 in Debian SID - more LUA based then text file.  I'm of little help at the moment, sorry.

It's NEW there will be OOPSIES! as mobilediesel would have said.

Offline

#6 2015-07-13 17:49:37

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

man appname

Offline

#7 2015-07-13 18:24:35

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

I can confirm that it is conky 1.10 issue (I'm NOT using lua at all in my conkies):

$ conky -c /home/user/.config/conky/.conkyrc_pekwm_calendar
conky: Syntax error (/home/user/.config/conky/.conkyrc_pekwm_calendar:1: '=' expected near 'top_left') while reading config file. 
conky: Assuming it's in old syntax and attempting conversion.
conky: desktop window (2f1) is root window
conky: window type - override
conky: drawing to created window (0x1a00001)
conky: drawing to double buffer

And what is worse, my particular conky config has

update_interval     30

and as a result it is not shown for first 30 seconds.

And, yes, I'm on sid. Actually, during dist-upgrade a week or two ago, there was a message about conky changing to lua syntax. Damn, now I have to learn yet another syntax muncher devil  devil

Offline

#8 2015-07-13 18:27:59

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Last edited by damo (2015-07-13 19:17:08)

Offline

#9 2015-07-13 19:28:15

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

To convert an old conkyrc file to the new syntax, find the convert.lua script inside the /usr/share/doc/conky-1.10.0 folder, copy it inside your old conkyrc's folder, make it executable and run

./convert.lua .oldconkyrc

Done.

Do it because although 1.10 is supposed to be backwards compatible with the old syntax, I've found it to be quite buggy with the latter.


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#10 2015-07-13 19:31:41

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

@ paxmark1 & damo

I created this thread today because of your posts.  I used paxmark1's post as the first post and edited it to reflect his was the first conky v1.10 question on the forum.  Second actually, the first was in Teo's weather thread.

But you're welcome damo.

Offline

#11 2015-07-13 19:45:24

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

./convert.lua .oldconkyrc

Offline

#12 2015-07-13 19:52:57

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

I think lua is now a dependency for conky...


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#13 2015-07-13 19:59:09

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

#14 2015-07-13 19:59:50

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

#15 2015-07-13 20:05:49

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#16 2015-07-13 20:20:47

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

WOW!  Thanks for your help Teo ... and I know your "didn't" lua before I guess you are now though.

Donno if I should smile or sad  - but still glad to see you here.

Offline

#17 2015-07-13 20:22:37

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Me thinks it's high time for a conky fork...  roll


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#18 2015-07-13 20:29:49

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

#19 2015-07-13 21:20:57

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

#20 2015-07-13 21:22:00

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

#21 2015-07-13 22:03:08

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

./convert.lua .conkyrc .conkyrc_bak

Offline

#22 2015-07-13 22:06:16

TeoBigusGeekus
#! Die Hard
From: /Greece/Kastoria
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 963

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

See the error messages when you run the conkies separately from command line and try to correct them.

...And, as I said in a previous post, avoid 1.10.0-1. Wait for a newer version.

Last edited by TeoBigusGeekus (2015-07-13 22:06:31)


Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!
Please make Autocad Civil 3D and Archicad work on Linux!

Offline

#23 2015-07-14 03:01:22

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

conky.config = {
	out_to_console = true,
	out_to_x = false,
	background = false,
	cpu_avg_samples = 2,
	net_avg_samples = 2,
	no_buffers = true,
	out_to_stderr = false,
	update_interval = 1.0,
	uppercase = false,
	use_spacer = 'none',

};

conky.text = [[
Uptime: ${uptime_short}  |  CPU: ${execpi 60 ~/conky/TCore0.sh} °C   CPU: ${execpi 60 ~/conky/TCore1.sh} °C  |  CPU%: ${cpu cpu0}%  ${loadavg}  |  Mem: ${memperc}%  | Net: Down - ${downspeedf wlp3s0} kb/s  Up - ${upspeedf wlp3s0} kb/s ]];

"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#24 2015-07-18 01:49:22

Crinos512
Member
Registered: 2013-07-22
Posts: 14

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2015-07-18 01:54:35

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Hello my old friend and welcome to our forums.

Conky 1.10 has gone more lua based.  Not sure if it is as light as the v1.9 version but this thread is dedicated to the new version.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo