SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-02-03 18:50:48

Cortex99
New Member
Registered: 2015-02-03
Posts: 2

Debian menu not working

Hello there, (this is my first forum post tongue)

I'm having a frustrating problem. I want the Debian menu in my Openbox main menu. I followed the steps from the wiki, but to no avail. Here's my rc.xml: http://pastebin.com/zwnhfeKW
Here's my menu.xml: http://pastebin.com/ZStmKxaR
Here's info on the menu package: http://pastebin.com/jV2xfG1n

What's wrong...?

Thanks in advance!

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2015-02-04 13:08:08

Cortex99
New Member
Registered: 2015-02-03
Posts: 2

Re: Debian menu not working

Anyone?

Offline

#3 2015-02-04 13:29:26

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Debian menu not working

Hey, saw your post but have to leave for work. I'm sure someone will come to the rescue soon. You can start by renaming your menu files (rc.xml.bak, for example), and make new ones. Start with a few entries and build up to see if you can find the problem.

I'm off. Hi ho, hi ho...


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#4 2015-02-04 14:26:52

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Debian menu not working

Move the "<menu id="/Debian" />" line inside the root-menu, where you want it to appear

<openbox_menu xmlns= etc etc>
  <menu id="root-menu" label="Openbox 3">
    .
    .
    <menu id="/Debian" />
    .
    .
  </menu>
</openbox_menu>

Don't forget to openbox --reconfigure, and after installing something

sudo update-menus

If you want to manually configure/update the Debian menu then copy the /var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml to ~/.config/openbox.

PS It's fine to paste output using code tags, so it appears here, instead of pastebin

[code]Paste text here[/code]

Last edited by damo (2015-02-04 14:30:11)


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#5 2015-05-18 21:33:08

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: Debian menu not working

damo wrote:

Move the "<menu id="/Debian" />" line inside the root-menu, where you want it to appear

<openbox_menu xmlns= etc etc>
  <menu id="root-menu" label="Openbox 3">
    .
    .
    <menu id="/Debian" />
    .
    .
  </menu>
</openbox_menu>

Don't forget to openbox --reconfigure, and after installing something

sudo update-menus

If you want to manually configure/update the Debian menu then copy the /var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml to ~/.config/openbox.

PS It's fine to paste output using code tags, so it appears here, instead of pastebin

[code]Paste text here[/code]





that didn't work for me -- I added the lines needed in the rc file per #! post Number IDK -- but heres the link -- lol  http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=19    openbox -- reconfigure -- nope. log out log in -- nope found this page did what you suggested -- nope --


				<command>
					vlc
				</command>
			</action>
		</item>
		<menu id="Debian" />    <---- put it right there I did 
		<separator/>
		<menu id="accessories" label="Accessories">
		    <item label="Catfish File Search">
				<action name="Execute">
					<command>
						catfish

then

           file:///usr/share/openbox/menu.xsd">

	<menu id="root-menu" label="Openbox 3">
			<menu id="Debian" />   <---- tried it again right there I did 
		<item label="Run Program">
			<action name="Execute">
				<command>
					gmrun
				</command>

still No Work hmm

did do an upgrade to Jessie within in #! do you think maybe that be it??? so I got a find a different avenue?

Just want it to auto update when ever I install or remove software is all --  8.(  8.(


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#6 2015-05-18 21:53:07

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Debian menu not working

Add one of these lines to your ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml between the <menu> and </menu> tags, before the entry <file>menu.xml</file> tags:

<file>/var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml</file>
<file>debian-menu.xml</file>

http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Menus#The_Debian_menu

Then use `openbox --reconfigure`

Offline

#7 2015-05-18 22:17:35

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: Debian menu not working

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Add one of these lines to your ~/.config/openbox/rc.xml between the <menu> and </menu> tags, before the entry <file>menu.xml</file> tags:

<file>/var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml</file>
<file>debian-menu.xml</file>

http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Menus#The_Debian_menu

Then use `openbox --reconfigure`

I did per that page in #! I found it at

  <menu>
    <!-- You can specify more than one menu file in here and they are all loaded,
       just don't make menu ids clash or, well, it'll be kind of pointless -->
    <!-- default menu file (or custom one in $HOME/.config/openbox/) -->
    <!-- system menu files on Debian systems
    <file>/var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml</file>
    <file>debian-menu.xml</file> -->
       <!-- system menu files on Debian systems  -->  <-- the ole commented out section 
       
    <file>/var/lib/openbox/debian-menu.xml</file>  <---- added it right there I did 
    <file>debian-menu.xml</file>
    <file>menu.xml</file>
    ......


</menu>

copy paste made me not uncomment that other line out it did it did big_smile big_smile then I did all of that other stuff openbox --reconfigure --- sudo menu-regenerate-me-please smile logged out log in lalalala

edit:
these too are already installed   menu  and menu-xdg

Last edited by userx-bw (2015-05-18 22:21:09)


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

#8 2015-05-22 16:14:29

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

Re: Debian menu not working

I notice in #5 you have

<menu id="Debian"  />

this should be

<menu id="/Debian" />

Offline

#9 2015-05-22 18:58:56

userx-bw
#! Die Hard
From: stuck in an unknown reality
Registered: 2013-11-19
Posts: 735

Re: Debian menu not working

benhee wrote:

I notice in #5 you have

<menu id="Debian"  />

this should be

<menu id="/Debian" />

Copy Paste got me again .. thanks!


"How can you learn how to fix it, if you don't break it first? :8
"the only way to get away with murder is - by killing time" swp 1997  8o
"A computer is only as smart as the person using it"
"Just plug it in and see if it blows up, if not then take it apart and figure out how it works."

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo