SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-04-19 01:00:11

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

[Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

I've installed debian jessie using the weekly netinst image but there's a grave bug. I cannot reboot the system neither in the installer nor in the installed system. I have to force the shutdown of the machine by pressing the power button for five seconds. I suspect that it's a problem related to the kernel. How can I report/fix the problem? I've reported it here too

http://forums.debian.net/viewtopic.php? … 30#p574530

Last edited by Michele13 (2015-04-23 22:51:44)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-04-19 01:07:37

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

That's a pretty serious bug hmm

To report bugs in Debian:
https://www.debian.org/Bugs/Reporting

You could try compiling version 4.0 yourself & see if that helps.
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 26#p426526

Offline

#3 2015-04-19 09:35:43

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

michele,
- how are you rebooting/shutting down?
- what exactly have you installed? gui, command line only, extra packages...
- try to catch as much as possible of the messages while shutting down. maybe record it with your camera, write it down...
- your hardware!!! what part of it could be "incompatible"?

as you can see, there's a lot of information still missing.

and a friendly word of advice: careful on debian forums. it's the land of the wolves.

Offline

#4 2015-04-19 09:43:53

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

ohnonot wrote:

and a friendly word of advice: careful on debian forums. it's the land of the wolves.

It's quite good fun if you fancy a bit of flaming...

The best description I read was that the Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle while the Debian forums are like a punk bar in Kraków big_smile

Offline

#5 2015-04-19 10:40:55

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

ohnonot wrote:

michele,
- how are you rebooting/shutting down?
- what exactly have you installed? gui, command line only, extra packages...
- try to catch as much as possible of the messages while shutting down. maybe record it with your camera, write it down...
- your hardware!!! what part of it could be "incompatible"?

as you can see, there's a lot of information still missing.

and a friendly word of advice: careful on debian forums. it's the land of the wolves.

- I reboot using the reboot command
- I have installed just a minimal system as it's said in Johnraff's Wally thread. I just finished the install and did nothing else...
- Will write it later...
- My hardware: (output of lspci)

00:00.0 Host bridge: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/PM/GMS/910GML Express Processor to DRAM Controller (rev 03)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:02.1 Display controller: Intel Corporation Mobile 915GM/GMS/910GML Express Graphics Controller (rev 03)
00:1d.0 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB UHCI #1 (rev 03)
00:1d.7 USB controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) USB2 EHCI Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.0 PCI bridge: Intel Corporation 82801 Mobile PCI Bridge (rev d3)
00:1e.2 Multimedia audio controller: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Audio Controller (rev 03)
00:1e.3 Modem: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) AC'97 Modem Controller (rev 03)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge: Intel Corporation 82801FBM (ICH6M) LPC Interface Bridge (rev 03)
00:1f.1 IDE interface: Intel Corporation 82801FB/FBM/FR/FW/FRW (ICH6 Family) IDE Controller (rev 03)
02:04.0 Network controller: Intel Corporation PRO/Wireless 2200BG [Calexico2] Network Connection (rev 05)
02:06.0 CardBus bridge: ENE Technology Inc CB1410 Cardbus Controller (rev 01)
02:08.0 Ethernet controller: Intel Corporation PRO/100 VE Network Connection (rev 03)

Offline

#6 2015-04-19 10:43:47

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Michele13 wrote:

- I reboot using the reboot command

Please post the exact command.

In Jessie, I use:

systemctl reboot -i

Offline

#7 2015-04-19 10:57:44

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

I used the command

sudo reboot

and this is what I get:

watchdog watchdog0: watchdog did not stop!
reboot: Restarting system
_

Last edited by Michele13 (2015-04-19 10:58:16)

Offline

#8 2015-04-19 11:12:03

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

The watchdog message is explained here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 2#p1372562

Do you have any attached drives or other devices?
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=39204

Offline

#9 2015-04-19 12:20:36

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

The watchdog message is explained here:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 2#p1372562

So this error message is not a problem right?

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Do you have any attached drives or other devices?
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=39204

Nope.... smile

Offline

#10 2015-04-19 12:37:43

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Michele13 wrote:

So this error message is not a problem right?

I don't think so.

Does the `systemctl` command I gave above work?

You could also try:

systemctl reboot --force

If none of those work, file a bug report with Debian.

Offline

#11 2015-04-19 14:25:30

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

The best description I read was that the Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle while the Debian forums are like a punk bar in Kraków big_smile

lol lol lol lol  I like it!

Also for Debian forums:  NEVER mention you are running a Debian derivative ie: Crinchbang.  Just tell then you are using Debian.

Debian Wheezy = #! Waldorf
Debian Jessie = what BunsenLabs "Hydrogen" = jessie.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#12 2015-04-19 16:27:09

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Sector11 wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

The best description I read was that the Ubuntu forums try to be like a coffee shop in Seattle while the Debian forums are like a punk bar in Kraków big_smile

lol lol lol lol  I like it!

Also for Debian forums:  NEVER mention you are running a Debian derivative ie: Crinchbang.  Just tell then you are using Debian.

Debian Wheezy = #! Waldorf
Debian Jessie = what BunsenLabs "Hydrogen" = jessie.

What's the pain for doing it?  big_smile *headshot*  ]:D
I hope to be able to file a bug report, I have to see if there was a bug even during the install install of the boot loader (when I was running debian-installer. I'll do a photo of the screen and post it here if you want. How do I load images here? smile

Last edited by Michele13 (2015-04-19 16:29:07)

Offline

#13 2015-04-19 16:48:31

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Michele13 wrote:

How do I load images here? smile

I use http://postimage.org/ to generate a thumbnail link.

Post the "Forum BBCode (1)" link.

Offline

#14 2015-04-19 16:59:34

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

^ Yea that - create an account - they are free and you can create "galleries" .
I have 19 - when they get to 300(ish) I create a new one:
s11 s11-1 s11-2 etc are general
One gallery: "Blacy_sm" for black smilies --> big_smile_sm.png
some for specific apps - people etc.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#15 2015-04-19 17:03:29

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Michele13 wrote:

What's the pain for doing it?  big_smile *headshot*  ]:D

According to their forum: your post will be moved to "Off Topic" and most likely ignored if they know you are using a derivative of Debian.

However: the Debian Netinstall is pure Debian.  big_smile

Even my "Wally" install says Debian8  big_smile


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#16 2015-04-19 17:38:19

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Bug#782908: base: reboot issues, computer freezes after using reboot or systemctl reboot commands

Michele13 wrote:

Package: base
Severity: normal

Dear Maintainer,

   * What led up to the situation?
I've installed a debian base system using a net install ISO and HdMedia kernel and initrd.
I set debconf priority to *low* so tha installer gave me extra questions like it's used to do in a expert install.
Installation was successful, however when the system tried to reboot it did not work as my PC did actually freeze.
The problem aslo affects the installed system, all these commands bring the same results: the system will freeze when it says

reboot: Restarting system

List of commands that i've tried to give to the system

sudo reboot
sudo systemctl reboot -i
sudo systemctl reboot --force

There weren't additional devices attached to the system nor additional packages installed
just the base system and the standard system utilities

Maybe the problem could be kernel related, I have another system based on slackware with the 3.17 kernel version and it has the same issues.



-- System Information:
Debian Release: 8.0
  APT prefers testing
  APT policy: (500, 'testing')
Architecture: i386 (i686)

Kernel: Linux 3.16.0-4-686-pae (SMP w/1 CPU core)
Locale: LANG=it_IT.UTF-8, LC_CTYPE=it_IT.UTF-8 (charmap=UTF-8)
Shell: /bin/sh linked to /bin/dash
Init: systemd (via /run/systemd/system)

How is it? I hope it's good...

-- mod edit ---
removed email - feel free to put it back if you wish.

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-04-19 18:36:55)

Offline

#17 2015-04-19 18:33:10

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

^ Looks good to me.

You might want to remove you email from the post here to minimise your spam.

Offline

#18 2015-04-19 20:40:56

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

the Debian forums are like a punk bar in Kraków big_smile

i imagine a punk bar in kraków to be much friendlier.
no, i'd rather say it's like a trucker bar in the south of the usa:
stranger comes in.
all conversation ceases.
everyone is waiting for the stranger to open his mouth, so they can tear him apart.

but hey, i'm just joking. stick to the facts, keep calm, and all is well and if you avoid rant/troll/flame topics, you will get help eventually.

but:

Sector11 wrote:

NEVER mention you are running a Debian derivative ie: Crinchbang.  Just tell then you are using Debian.

this.

and, S11, you are getting better and better! Crinchbang - love it! sounds fitting, now that it's a zombie...

Offline

#19 2015-04-19 22:50:18

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

I will keep you informed if someone contacts me for the bug

Offline

#20 2015-04-19 23:07:05

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

ohnonot wrote:

but:

Sector11 wrote:

NEVER mention you are running a Debian derivative ie: Crinchbang.  Just tell then you are using Debian.

this.

and, S11, you are getting better and better! Crinchbang - love it! sounds fitting, now that it's a zombie...

Noooooooooooooooooooooooooo!
I didn't! ... well I guess the evidence says I did. :8 :8 :8 lol  lol  lol

In December it will be GrinchBang, The Crunch that stole Christmas.  O:)
{shaking head and silently walking off into the sunset....}

Back to topic - nothing more to see here


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#21 2015-04-20 01:10:28

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

^ Time for a nap there, Sector11?  ]:D


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#22 2015-04-21 21:41:15

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

I'm compiling the vanilla kernel patched with aufs, version 3.19 and it's taking four hours and forty minutes at the moment to compile...

Offline

#23 2015-04-21 22:15:56

Michele13
#! Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2015-04-16
Posts: 86

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

COMPILATION ABORTED! I could not take it anymore... A friend of mine found this website by google-ing "linux reboot freeze":

http://linux.koolsolutions.com/2009/08/ … -restarts/

the boot parameter reboot=bios works for me, how can I make it persistent in grub? what file do I need to edit to make it persistent to update-grub?

Offline

#24 2015-04-21 22:26:03

porkpiehat
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-10-02
Posts: 1,007

Re: [Solved] Unable to reboot with jessie

^ the answer is in the comments in the link you posted.

http://linux.koolsolutions.com/2009/08/ … ment-15812

edit /etc/default/grub (as root) and add "reboot=bios" to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX, then run "sudo update-grub" to rebuild the grub config.

Last edited by porkpiehat (2015-04-21 22:26:36)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo