SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#226 2015-02-23 00:05:12

mcred
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-28
Posts: 9

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Sure seems  like it, does work with other distros as well. That's why I'm kind of stumped.

mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$ lspci -knn|grep -iA3 audio
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Gateway, Inc. Device [107b:4044]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 01)
--
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0be3] (rev a1)
    Subsystem: Device [196e:082e]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller [8086:109a]
mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$

Not sure if I should "blame" pulseaudio, ALSA, or operator error smile.






Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
mcred wrote:

Well, another relic running Wally... (hand-me-down Gateway FX510S). Followed the cheatsheet, all went well, but I too have no sound.

Tried rerunning the cheat, still no luck. I'm stumped.

Is there a definitive solution to sound yet, or is it still a work in progress?

Thanks

Is your card supported?

lspci -knn|grep -iA3 audio

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#227 2015-02-23 00:37:43

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Just to be clear that your levels are adjusted and you are not muted some quick notes about the defaults for volumeicon-alsa:
Left click mutes.
Mouse wheel up/down raises/lowers master volume
Right click --> Open Mixer brings up your mixer.
Right click --> Preference lets you change your middle and left mouse-click behaviors. So, if you are like me and unintentionally muting your volume, you can reverse the mouse key binds.
Additional notes:
I have both alsamixergui and alsamixer installed at this point. I find alsamixergui's interface bad enough that I actually prefer the ncurses version, alsamixer. If not set in preferences, you can change it to xterm -e "alsamixer" to use the ncurses version or alsamixergui to use the gui version. You could also presumably utilize whatever other arbitrary mixer you prefer.

Offline

#228 2015-02-23 03:39:19

mcred
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-28
Posts: 9

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Question,

How dependent is sound working regarding having "gstreamer" in Wally/Jessie? I remembered the connection between it and other types of sound playback and remembered a suggested package or two during the install using the cheatsheet, that, as it turns out, were not installed.

Turns out that the output of "sudo apt-cache policy gstreamer*" shows but one installed package - libgstreamer-plugins-base1.0-0.

Is more than that needed for working sound?

Offline

#229 2015-02-23 07:52:30

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

mcred wrote:

Sure seems  like it, does work with other distros as well. That's why I'm kind of stumped.

mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$ lspci -knn|grep -iA3 audio
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Gateway, Inc. Device [107b:4044]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 01)
--
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0be3] (rev a1)
    Subsystem: Device [196e:082e]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller [8086:109a]
mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$

Not sure if I should "blame" pulseaudio, ALSA, or operator error smile.

You have two sound cards -- you just need to force the non-HDMI output to be the default.

If you are using pulseaudio (`pstree|grep pulse` with firefox running) then just use pavucontrol to set the default card.

If not, post the output of:

aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards

Offline

#230 2015-02-23 07:56:43

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

pvsage wrote:

Thanks for the .plka suggestions; unfortunately, they haven't helped.

Er... pv... you might check your spelling there.
I just tried this: http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 96#p420096 on a fresh install and it worked.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#231 2015-02-23 10:21:01

Innocent#!User
New Member
From: Wally
Registered: 2015-02-16
Posts: 8

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Does this command mess up your display again:

compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc &

That command took me right back to the grey screen where I started. After doing

killall compton

and blindly clicking my calendar again, I saw the following in my terminal:

user@crunchbanger:~$ compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc &
[1] 1300
user@crunchbanger:~$ glx_hasglext(): Missing GL extension GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two.
killall compton
[1]+  Terminated              compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc

===
hp pavilion ze4500 running Wally

Offline

#232 2015-02-23 13:43:23

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

johnraff wrote:

Er... pv... you might check your spelling there.

:8
It might help if there were some readily-found explanation for the filename extension. roll  (For those who were having trouble like I was, probably something like "Policy Kit Local Authorization".  Duh.)  I've changed it in my Barebones Bunsen partition; I'll let you know after my next reboot.

Incidentally, I'm going with this in mine:

ResultAny=auth_self_keep
ResultInactive=auth_self_keep

...because I still don't see how requiring password authorization, especially on a laptop carried and used in the public, can be a bad thing.  Probably nice to have a separate partition on the hard drive that some passerby couldn't accidentally stumble into.

(EDIT:  Why is human-readable documentation for polkit scattered so thin on the internets??)

Last edited by pvsage (2015-02-23 14:25:07)

Offline

#233 2015-02-23 19:00:23

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Innocent#!User wrote:
Head_on_a_Stick wrote:

Does this command mess up your display again:

compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc &

That command took me right back to the grey screen where I started. After doing

killall compton

and blindly clicking my calendar again, I saw the following in my terminal:

user@crunchbanger:~$ compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc &
[1] 1300
user@crunchbanger:~$ glx_hasglext(): Missing GL extension GL_ARB_texture_non_power_of_two.
killall compton
[1]+  Terminated              compton --backend glx --paint-on-overlay --vsync opengl-swc

OK, how about running it with no options:

compton &

You should get your shadows back with this but no vsync will be activated -- if it works edit "cb-compositor" and remove the `--vsync opengl` flag.

What card are you running?

lspci -knn|grep -iA3 vga

Offline

#234 2015-02-24 06:56:45

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

pvsage wrote:

...I still don't see how requiring password authorization, especially on a laptop carried and used in the public, can be a bad thing.  Probably nice to have a separate partition on the hard drive that some passerby couldn't accidentally stumble into.

Actually, agreed. So in fact your previous solution of adding '/usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &' to autostart might be the better way to go. That line will be needed anyway as more apps ask to be run with pkexec instead of gksu.

(EDIT:  Why is human-readable documentation for polkit scattered so thin on the internets??)

Sigh... Not only polkit unfortunately... bored.gif

Did find this: http://www.admin-magazine.com/Articles/ … -PolicyKit

Last edited by johnraff (2015-02-24 07:09:27)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#235 2015-02-25 03:44:03

mcred
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-28
Posts: 9

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Well, fixed my problem... no matter how firmly, how absolutely, you believe you've
setup your hardware correctly - check it again, especially before asking for advice on a forum - making
sure you use the correct jack for your "darn" speakers (facepalm).

Thanks all for your ideas, help and patience.

Head_on_a_Stick wrote:
mcred wrote:

Sure seems  like it, does work with other distros as well. That's why I'm kind of stumped.

mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$ lspci -knn|grep -iA3 audio
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:27d8] (rev 01)
    Subsystem: Gateway, Inc. Device [107b:4044]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation NM10/ICH7 Family PCI Express Port 1 [8086:27d0] (rev 01)
--
01:00.1 Audio device [0403]: NVIDIA Corporation High Definition Audio Controller [10de:0be3] (rev a1)
    Subsystem: Device [196e:082e]
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Intel Corporation 82573L Gigabit Ethernet Controller [8086:109a]
mcred2@mcred2-FX510S:~$

Not sure if I should "blame" pulseaudio, ALSA, or operator error smile.

You have two sound cards -- you just need to force the non-HDMI output to be the default.

If you are using pulseaudio (`pstree|grep pulse` with firefox running) then just use pavucontrol to set the default card.

If not, post the output of:

aplay -l
cat /proc/asound/cards

Offline

#236 2015-02-25 04:51:52

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

johnraff wrote:
pvsage wrote:

...I still don't see how requiring password authorization, especially on a laptop carried and used in the public, can be a bad thing.  Probably nice to have a separate partition on the hard drive that some passerby couldn't accidentally stumble into.

Actually, agreed. So in fact your previous solution of adding '/usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 &' to autostart might be the better way to go. That line will be needed anyway as more apps ask to be run with pkexec instead of gksu.

I hadn't even considered the whole gksu/pkexec transition thing! :8  In that case, we absolutely want the authentication agent loaded; otherwise we'll end up running to the sudoers file for every new thing that wants sudo rights, and that isn't a good thing.

Offline

#237 2015-02-25 05:06:16

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

^Indeed. Even on Waldorf it's needed if you want to launch synaptic from some auto-generated menu that reads .desktop files.

The pkla file fix (or some arcane "run" file which is supposed to be the Better Way now) could be an option to enable for non-mobile desktop users? Maybe in bunsen-welcome? Easy enough to do.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#238 2015-02-28 02:12:04

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

pvsage wrote:

I hadn't even considered the whole gksu/pkexec transition thing! :8  In that case, we absolutely want the authentication agent loaded; otherwise we'll end up running to the sudoers file for every new thing that wants sudo rights, and that isn't a good thing.

Do you think there might be a case for moving to pkexec instead of gksu for the menu commands? At present:

john@fauxjanice:~$ grep gksu ~/.config/openbox/menu.xml 
                        gksudo thunar
                        gksudo gparted
                        gksudo synaptic
                        gksudo slimconf

At present gparted and synaptic are already configured for pkexec, so it would mean putting a file in /usr/share/polkit-1/actions for thunar. (slimconf shouldn't be there neutral ) I've just tried it on Wally and it worked OK. I guess gksu would still have to be left in the system, but it sounds as if it's going to be deprecated eventually...


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#239 2015-02-28 06:54:13

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

^ I'd go with what works. (6)(9)  (<-- supposed to look like googly eyes; we don't have such an emoji on this forum)  Sorry for the non-answer...

`gksudo synaptic` seems to work just fine in my Jessie LXDE install, so I'd just go ahead and stick with gksudo until Debian drags us (many, I'm sure, kicking and screaming ]:D ) to pkexec.

Offline

#240 2015-02-28 07:05:02

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

^sure, makes sense. If it ain't broke and all that.

(Could still throw in a couple of polkit files for thunar and geany anyway... just in case...)

Last edited by johnraff (2015-02-28 07:06:45)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#241 2015-02-28 08:36:58

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

The cheat sheet is awesome, great work johnraff! mutatis mutandis it's a nice guide for build a #! experience basically on every distro, not only Debian!
Thanks!

Offline

#242 2015-02-28 18:43:43

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 633
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

I'm setting up Wally right now!
johnraff can you please help me understand what I have to change to replace xscreensaver with light-locker (for testing sake)? Some parts of cb-lock and tb-exit I guess?

Offline

#243 2015-02-28 23:50:08

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

It's /usr/bin/cb-lock you'll need to edit. (tb-exit has no "lock screen" option.)
Replace the 'xscreensaver-command -lock' commands with whatever you need.


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#244 2015-03-01 02:33:12

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

I've noticed that, unlike SLiM, ~/.profile isn't sourced by LightDM.  This can be a problem for people who, like me, use ~/bin for personal scripts.
https://bugs.debian.org/cgi-bin/bugrepo … bug=636108
Apparently the solution is to use ~/.xsessionrc and copy the relevant parts of ~/.profile that are desired.  This also allows the scripts in ~/bin to show up in dmenu_run.

Offline

#245 2015-03-01 02:40:51

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

I keep a bunch of personal scripts there as well. How about something like this?

Most of the time you don’t want to maintain two separate config files for login and non-login shells — when you set a PATH, you want it to apply to both. You can fix this by sourcing .bashrc from your .bash_profile file, then putting PATH and common settings in .bashrc.

To do this, add the following lines to .bash_profile:

    if [ -f ~/.bashrc ]; then
       source ~/.bashrc
    fi

Now when you login to your machine from a console .bashrc will be called.

Source

Offline

#246 2015-03-01 02:45:51

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

^ I see this has been addressed in the bunsen-configs repo thread already.
http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 99#p420799
Apparently the Debian Way is to use .xsessionrc for this, not .bashrc.  Does dmenu_run pick up ~/bin with the .bash_profile .bashrc method?

EDIT:  Also note the age of Josh Staiger's blog post vs. the Debian bug tracker thread.

Offline

#247 2015-03-01 03:02:54

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

It appears to do so.
Some code:

# set PATH so it includes user's private bin if it exists
if [ -d "$HOME/bin" ] ; then
    PATH="$HOME/bin:$PATH"
fi

from out of ~/.profile into ~/.bashrc
then create bash_profile with the code above. Log out and back in to be sure the changes get caught. Run a script from ~/bin to test. It worked for me. Do dmenu_run and check to see if it is there. It should be.

Last edited by tknomanzr (2015-03-01 03:03:35)

Offline

#248 2015-03-01 04:30:07

AnInkedSoul
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2010-06-30
Posts: 232

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

tknomanzr wrote:

from out of ~/.profile into ~/.bashrc
then create bash_profile with the code above.

No need for bash_profile, just add the code to .bashrc

Offline

#249 2015-03-01 05:01:20

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

.bashrc is only invoked by bash, though.
Anyone whose shell is anything else won't get those PATH entries.

FWIW, my understanding:
.bashrc for bash-specific settings, invoked in both console and X sessions.
(I don't think there's any need to source it in any other dotfile.)

shell-independent:
.profile for environment variables etc in console logins
.xsessionrc for the same in X sessions

Does that sound right?

Last edited by johnraff (2015-03-01 05:03:12)


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#250 2015-03-01 06:44:46

progredux
New Member
From: Edmonton, AB
Registered: 2015-02-28
Posts: 3

Re: Wally - a Waldorf replica on a Jessie netinstall

Thank you to you all for this great work. Wally is excellent thus far!

One quick note: my dvdrw drive was unmountable until I installed gvfs-backends ... that was not included in the original cheat sheet ... other than that all well so far.

thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo