SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-11-23 03:23:21

Chizbang
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2013-11-02
Posts: 33
Website

Crunchbang on an SSD?

Im thinking about buying a used KINGSTON SSDNOW V300 60 GB. This will be my first SSD but I am very unsure of if it would be worth it with Crunchbang? I have never experienced one so I cant really scale how much quicker they really are... Are they really quick enough to warrent spending and reinstalling? The system in question is a Thinkpad X201 i5 520. Any ideas?

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-11-23 04:12:42

CSCoder4ever
BL Keyboard Troll
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2013-09-03
Posts: 2,256

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Jump on it. it's definitely worth it.

although if you could go new... that's a better route to take, though avoid kingston if going new.

Offline

#3 2014-11-23 06:19:58

Peregrino69
#! Member
From: Am*dam
Registered: 2014-11-10
Posts: 87

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Second that. I put an SSD to my old dv9000. It's definitely a lot faster than the old HDD. Additional plus point is that the system is MUCH cooler, equals quieter. Fan hardly starts, whereas before the continuous whirr was driving me nuts!

Second also the caution about second-hand SSD - if only because a new one comes with a warranty. You didn't mention the price, but new ones aren't too expensive either, methinks. For example Novatech sells 120-128 GB drives for ~50GBP.

It's an absolutely worthwhile investment.


As long as you learn one new thing every day, the day wasn't wasted smile

Offline

#4 2014-11-23 12:29:36

Head_on_a_Stick
CatMod
From: A world of pure imagination
Registered: 2014-01-21
Posts: 4,797

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

I have that exact model -- firefox startup time went from ~7seconds to less than 2 seconds; boot times more than halved, etc...

Strongly recommended and longevity is looking excellent for this vintage.

smile

Offline

#5 2014-11-23 13:58:20

TicTac
#! Junkie
From: Wherever You Go, There You Are
Registered: 2014-10-23
Posts: 256

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Peregrino69 wrote:

Second that. I put an SSD to my old dv9000. It's definitely a lot faster than the old HDD. Additional plus point is that the system is MUCH cooler, equals quieter. Fan hardly starts, whereas before the continuous whirr was driving me nuts!
Second also the caution about second-hand SSD - if only because a new one comes with a warranty. You didn't mention the price, but new ones aren't too expensive either, methinks. For example Novatech sells 120-128 GB drives for ~50GBP.

^ That.


"Let me explain something to you. Um, I am not "Mr. Lebowski". You're Mr. Lebowski. I'm the Dude. So that's what you call me. You know, that or, uh, His Dudeness, or uh, Duder, or El Duderino if you're not into the whole brevity thing."   

The Dude.

Offline

#6 2014-11-25 04:53:57

paxmark1
#! Junkie
From: Winnipeg, MB Canada
Registered: 2009-07-08
Posts: 263

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Huge difference.  I have a SDHC slot and put some volatile content and a small swap on that.


Jean Vanier wrote "Being Human" and "A Short History of Progress" by Ronald Wright.  Gotta love the Massey Lectures.

Offline

#7 2014-11-25 05:14:02

CSCoder4ever
BL Keyboard Troll
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2013-09-03
Posts: 2,256

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

I wouldn't put swap on an SSD. but that's just me I guess.

Offline

#8 2014-11-26 22:47:39

olegabrielz
#! Junkie
From: Norway
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 442

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

CrunchBang + SSD = nice!!

I use Kingston 240GB SSD on my old HP dv6645. It is absolutely worth it smile

And I have to agree with CSCoder4ever reguarding the use of swap on SSD.

Offline

#9 2014-11-27 01:09:21

MsMattie
#! Member
From: Rocky Mountains
Registered: 2013-11-30
Posts: 55

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

I put a 256GB SSD into a Lenovo X200 and it works well for both Crunchbang and the dual boot Win7. Also important to me, an SSD is supposed to be more durable in a laptop, and will take more tossing around in the jolts of travel, as compared to a hard drive.


Linux in the backwoods of the Rocky Mountains...

Offline

#10 2014-11-27 01:56:04

Bearded_Blunder
#! Junkie
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 262

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

MsMattie wrote:

I put a 256GB SSD into a Lenovo X200 and it works well for both Crunchbang and the dual boot Win7. Also important to me, an SSD is supposed to be more durable in a laptop, and will take more tossing around in the jolts of travel, as compared to a hard drive.

And MUCH more bumping and jostling when the drive is powered on.. Powered on laptops with spinning drives are best handled in much the same way as a bowl of soup, you want to avoid bumps, and changes in orientation which can crash heads due to gyroscopic effects with a spinning drive.


Blessed is he who expecteth nothing, for he shall not be disappointed...

Offline

#11 2014-12-03 01:10:33

blainester
New Member
From: California, USA
Registered: 2014-12-02
Posts: 9

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

SSD's are so much better I don't think any new computers will still come with spinning platters in 5 years time. Seriously, it made my 10 year old Thinkpad actually usable. Seriously the only time I realized it was an old computer was when I was compiling software.

Offline

#12 2014-12-06 00:36:22

fishesandloaves
Member
Registered: 2014-03-15
Posts: 40

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

All my personal machines have SSDs. Worth it. Really.

I had a bad experience with an Intel-branded SSD.

I've had no trouble with Sandisk and Crucial.

Offline

#13 2014-12-06 06:38:39

blainester
New Member
From: California, USA
Registered: 2014-12-02
Posts: 9

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Dude get an SSD. Once you use one you won't ever be able to go back to spinning platters. The difference is amazing, and the newer ones have excellent life expectancies (on par or greater than spinning disks).

Offline

#14 2015-01-06 23:54:07

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

CSCoder4ever wrote:

I wouldn't put swap on an SSD. but that's just me I guess.

What does one do if all you have is an SSD...don't enable swap at all?  If you don't enable swap, then how do you suspend your system?  I recently purchased an ASUS Zenbook UX303LA...only SSD storage, so you've piqued my curiosity.


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#15 2015-01-07 20:23:08

excollier
#! Member
Registered: 2013-03-18
Posts: 66

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Post #6 had a good idea if you have a card reader slot on the laptop or desktop.
I must look about an ssd myself this year.

Offline

#16 2015-01-07 20:43:39

CSCoder4ever
BL Keyboard Troll
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2013-09-03
Posts: 2,256

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

KrunchTime wrote:
CSCoder4ever wrote:

I wouldn't put swap on an SSD. but that's just me I guess.

What does one do if all you have is an SSD...don't enable swap at all?  If you don't enable swap, then how do you suspend your system?  I recently purchased an ASUS Zenbook UX303LA...only SSD storage, so you've piqued my curiosity.

I think your confusing suspension with hibernation, Hibernation NEEDS swap in order to work. While suspending doesn't, as the information is kept in RAM.

The difference between the 2 is only a couple watts, it would be worth it just to suspend it imo.

Offline

#17 2015-01-08 00:54:04

Crim
Member
Registered: 2014-12-20
Posts: 14

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

SSD's are great. I added one the first part of December to a Win 7 based desktop and it now boots and loads my most used software so much faster it's hard to believe. That said, I'm not sure how much improvement you'll actually see using #! because it's so frugal with system resources and fast as it is. To compare, my HP laptop which is what I run #! on boots faster off a regular fairly slow hard drive than Win 7 does from SSD. I'm guessing from an SSD the BIOS initialization will take longer than the actual OS boot process. It will be one zippy system, that's for sure.

Offline

#18 2015-01-08 09:18:09

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

CSCoder4ever wrote:

I think your confusing suspension with hibernation, Hibernation NEEDS swap in order to work. While suspending doesn't, as the information is kept in RAM.

The difference between the 2 is only a couple watts, it would be worth it just to suspend it imo.

You're partially right.  I thought both functions required swap.

I did a bit of brief searching and found the following on How to Optimize Linux for SSDs by Danny Stieben:

The constant reads and writes SWAP partitions do add significant wear-and-tear to the SSD. If you really would like to have a SWAP partition, it’d be better to place it on a secondary, non-SSD hard drive if at all possible. I know it’s tempting to put a SWAP partition on an SSD – it would be the best-performing SWAP partition you’ll ever have – but this speed comes at a major cost.

A lot of people suggest that you can still add a SWAP partition but disable hibernation, since that causes extreme amounts of reads and writes. But since it’s rare that you’ll use a SWAP partition, as you probably have more than enough RAM, it’ll just take up space and potentially cause wear-and-tear. Also, not including a SWAP partition to begin with is an easy way to disable hibernation.

My only concern in not having a swap, although I definitely will not use one on an SSD based on the above, is that I think I remember swap kicking in when running Windows 7 in a VM.  Thing is, I can't remember if it occurred on both laptops or just on the one in which I only have 4GB of RAM.

Anyway, I want to thank you for your mention about NOT enabling swap on an SSD.  You probably saved my SSD.   wink

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-01-08 09:19:12)


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#19 2015-01-08 09:48:42

hhh
Cityspeak
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 3,253

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

"The SSD Endurance Experiment: Two freaking petabytes"...
http://techreport.com/review/27436/the- … -petabytes

The 840 Pro and a second HyperX 3K have now reached two freaking petabytes of writes. To put that figure into perspective, the SSDs in my main desktop have logged less than two terabytes of writes over the past couple years. At this rate, it'll take me a thousand years to reach that total.

Last edited by hhh (2015-01-08 09:51:09)


bunsenlabs     8)     forum mod squad

Offline

#20 2015-01-08 18:30:31

Anaconda
crypto-anarchist
From: Vancouver Canada
Registered: 2008-12-04
Posts: 437

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Re: swap on SSD. As hhh has pointed out, it really is not a big deal anymore. If someone still has concerns about this, perhaps because they are using a cheaper or older SSD, all you need to think about is the following.

If you set swappiness to a low value it is unlikely that swap will ever get used much at all. If it is getting much use under such circumstance then you really need more RAM. Also, when it is actually needed, the performance advantage of swap on SSD vs spinning platters is enormous.

Last edited by Anaconda (2015-01-08 18:31:51)


“The university is well structured, well tooled, to turn out people with all the sharp edges worn off...." Mario Savio
"Protections for anonymous speech are vital to democratic discourse". Help enforce our right to free and anonymous speech by taking the Tor challenge.

Offline

#21 2015-01-09 23:03:25

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

Anaconda wrote:

Re: swap on SSD. As hhh has pointed out, it really is not a big deal anymore.

I've decided to try not having a swap on my new machines.  My new ASUS AIO has 16GB of RAM, so it's not like I'm hurting, although the AIO has a spinning HDD.  My new ASUS Zenbook will have 12GB of RAM once I upgrade it with a module from Crucial.


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#22 2015-01-09 23:15:36

CSCoder4ever
BL Keyboard Troll
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2013-09-03
Posts: 2,256

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

If you have 4GB+ of memory, there isn't really any point of swap imo.

my Archbook doesn't have it, my desktop doesn't have it, and my slackstation certainly does not.

Offline

#23 2015-01-09 23:23:00

olegabrielz
#! Junkie
From: Norway
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 442

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

I'm running sid on my dell latitude e4310 with kingston ssd, 4gb ram and no swap. I have had no problems yet smile

Offline

#24 2015-01-09 23:33:12

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

olegabrielz wrote:

I'm running sid on my dell latitude e4310 with kingston ssd, 4gb ram and no swap. I have had no problems yet smile

Okay, but what do you do with your machine?  I believe I've actually used swap on one/both of my laptops when running Windows 7 in VirtualBox.  Otherwise, I don't believe either machine has ever used the swap I have set aside for each.

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-01-09 23:33:44)


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2015-01-09 23:58:25

olegabrielz
#! Junkie
From: Norway
Registered: 2014-06-14
Posts: 442

Re: Crunchbang on an SSD?

KrunchTime wrote:

Okay, but what do you do with your machine?

I use it for web, audio/video, steam, and some gimp. Before I got this dell I used the same ssd on my old HP pavilion dv6645eo, also with 4gb ram and no swap. I did use it as a DAW in a period, set up with low latency kernel, running ardour3 and musescore, and with zoom H6 (6 channel usb soundcard). It worked just fine.
If I would run out of ram, I will just buy some more. New ram for these older machines isn't actually what I would describe as expensive wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo