SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#26 2014-04-25 13:46:16

darkcrash
Member
Registered: 2014-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

thanks for this guide but I seem to be having some issue getting 1.6.3 installed.

/var/log/apt/history.log and term.log

http://pastebin.com/eJ0Z1Xqm

any help would be greatly appreciated!

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#27 2014-04-25 14:29:13

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Hm.. it looks like thunar itself wasn't upgraded. What does

sudo aptitude full-upgrade

give?

Offline

#28 2014-04-25 14:49:31

darkcrash
Member
Registered: 2014-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

Hm.. it looks like thunar itself wasn't upgraded. What does

sudo aptitude full-upgrade

give?


this is what I get

S7gqDsjp.jpg

Offline

#29 2014-04-25 14:56:57

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

I'd have expected a hold on thunar or similar.

apt-cache policy thunar
dpkg-query -l thunar

Also: "localepurge"; do you use bleachbit or other tools? These may have damaged apt.

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-25 14:58:32)

Offline

#30 2014-04-25 15:11:40

darkcrash
Member
Registered: 2014-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

I'd have expected a hold on thunar or similar.

apt-cache policy thunar
dpkg-query -l thunar

Also: "localepurge"; do you use bleachbit or other tools? These may have damaged apt.


this is what I get from those commands

Bq8vXL6p.jpg

also the localepurge is from

http://crunchbanglinux.org/wiki/howto/localepurge

I do not use Bleachbit. I can uninstall localepurge if thats what is causing my upgrade to no go so smooth.

Offline

#31 2014-04-25 15:27:20

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

That article is pretty old, I believe currently only those locales you use are installed, even without localepurge.

You forgot to change your /etc/apt/preferences (as described in the first post)

gksudo geany /etc/apt/preferences

Replace the contents with

Package: *
Pin: release a=waldorf
Pin-Priority: 990

Package: *
Pin: release n=xfce-4.10
Pin-Priority: 200

Then

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude -t mx upgrade

Last edited by Alad (2014-04-25 15:31:12)

Offline

#32 2014-04-25 15:37:55

darkcrash
Member
Registered: 2014-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

That article is pretty old, I believe currently only those locales you use are installed, even without localepurge.

You forgot to change your /etc/apt/preferences (as described in the first post)

gksudo geany /etc/apt/preferences

Replace the contents with

Package: *
Pin: release a=waldorf
Pin-Priority: 990

Package: *
Pin: release n=xfce-4.10
Pin-Priority: 200

Then

sudo aptitude update
sudo aptitude -t mx upgrade

Thank you Very Much!!!

I had to change the
Package: *
Pin: release a=waldorf
Pin-Priority: 990

I still had it set to 1001 pin-priority neutral


then ran the update and upgrade followed by a  sudo pkill thunar

all is well now:)

Thank you again for the help with this and the guide!!!

Ill make sure I double check the instructions given so next time I wont have any "user created problems". cool

Offline

#33 2014-04-25 16:29:00

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

@darkcrash

You can just copy your terminal text (select text, ctrl-shift-c) and post it between code tags - no need for screenshots wink


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#34 2014-04-25 16:46:17

darkcrash
Member
Registered: 2014-01-17
Posts: 12

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

damo wrote:

@darkcrash

You can just copy your terminal text (select text, ctrl-shift-c) and post it between code tags - no need for screenshots wink


thanks for letting me know I will do that going forward! Just old habits when trying to show what a issue/problem is.

old habits die hard :8

Offline

#35 2014-04-25 18:11:57

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:

Sounds nice. But doesn't Crunchbang have a script (cb-aerosnap) that provides this functionality? I remember having a few problems with it, though.

Off-topic, but Openbox can handle a bit of simple tiling by itself now. Something like this in rc.xml:

    <keybind key="W-Left">
      <action name="UnmaximizeHorz"/>
      <action name="MaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <width>50%</width>
        <x>0</x>
        <y>0</y>
      </action>
    </keybind>
    <keybind key="W-Right">
      <action name="UnmaximizeHorz"/>
      <action name="MaximizeVert"/>
      <action name="MoveResizeTo">
        <width>50%</width>
        <x>-0</x>
        <y>0</y>
      </action>
    </keybind>

John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#36 2014-04-27 00:45:13

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

johnraff wrote:

Off-topic, but Openbox can handle a bit of simple tiling by itself now. Something like this in rc.xml

Ah, I wondered if you could put that in rc.xml (saw it in obapps). Thanks smile

Offline

#37 2014-04-27 09:52:47

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

The rc.xml code works but unfortunately it is clumsy in execution.  Even if you use keybindings to launch apps, you still need to launch Thunar twice, then mouse-over each one to highlight it and keybind it into place.  With Pytyle you just launch Thunar twice and then one keystroke splits them neatly on the screen.  I used to use Pytyle for all sorts of other things but have found that I now just reserve it for Thunar on the odd occasion - particularly when doing drag-and-drop between Thunar and Root-Thunar, like when filling out "/etc/skel" when remastering.


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

#38 2014-04-28 04:47:46

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Just an addition to my previous post - I forgot about the keybinding Alt-tab for selecting windows.  Suddenly not so clumsy!!


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

#39 2014-04-28 15:37:04

johnraff
nullglob
From: Nagoya, Japan
Registered: 2009-01-07
Posts: 4,148
Website

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

^ or just launch, position, launch, position:
Win+F Win+L Win+F Win+R


John
--------------------
( a boring Japan blog , Japan Links, idle twitterings  and GitStuff )
#! forum moderator    BunsenLabs

Offline

#40 2014-04-30 05:06:09

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

I have been playing around with the rc.xml and it is possible to keybind multiple launches, but is it possible to combine that with the actions of window positioning?  I have been trying to combine the launch and position actions but once I get into the applications section it all starts to get very complicated when launching the same app twice.  It would be nice to have a single keybinding that launched Thunar as a split pane - one instance to the left and one to the right - but I'm starting to wonder if it is possible.  I suppose another option is a shell script that can be launched via a keybinding.


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

#41 2014-04-30 05:10:18

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

I do something similar with different gimp setups, using scripts to launch different instances. Obapps handles the workspace and window placements for each instance.


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#42 2014-04-30 12:51:16

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Interestingly if I launch Thunar and position left, the next instance of Thunar automatically places to the right.  Not sure if that is because I have "trained" it or not - Thunar remembers previous layout and position.  The other thing is something I didn't know - middle click on a folder opens it in a new window.  So I can launch , position left, middle click on a folder and voila - something that looks like twin pane, sort of!


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

#43 2014-04-30 16:19:47

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

^ That's not Thunar, that's Openbox handling window placement.  It's all in the rc.xml. wink

Offline

#44 2014-05-01 04:00:49

Taco.22
New Member
From: Wheatbelt WA
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 8

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Before realising that I could set Thunar's position through rc.xml, I manually edited thunarrc to retain its geometry.  I have it about half screen width but central so it doesn't cover conky or my embedded urxvt.  So the question then is - is it possible to set more than one position for an app in the "application"  section of rc.xml so that you have multiple instances in different positions?


What can go wrong?!?

Offline

#45 2014-05-04 09:05:02

Yoyo
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2013-05-13
Posts: 26
Website

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

@Alad

Thanks for the tip

In my case use apt-get

sudo apt-get -t mx upgrade
sudo apt-get -t mx dist-upgrade

And no problems, Thunar update fine to 1.6.3, i have no problems with other packages  smile


CrunchBang 11 Waldorf 32bits

Offline

#46 2014-05-10 14:04:47

Alad
Software Satan
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 1,512

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Yoyo wrote:

In my case use apt-get

sudo apt-get -t mx upgrade
sudo apt-get -t mx dist-upgrade

And no problems, Thunar update fine to 1.6.3, i have no problems with other packages  smile

I've read your blog post and it seems that MX added gvfs to their repo (for MTP support), hence the held packages. hmm

gvfs (1.12.3-5mx14) mx; urgency=low

  * Rebuilt for MX-14 applying the mtp patches to
  * the wheezy sources to avoid version mis-matches.

-- Timothy E. Harris <maintainer@mepiscommunity.org>  Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:01:12 -0400

Going to add a warning to the original post until I get a chance to update the tutorial.

Offline

#47 2014-05-15 17:25:36

primit1v3
Member
From: in front of my laptop
Registered: 2014-04-12
Posts: 37

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Alad wrote:
Yoyo wrote:

In my case use apt-get

sudo apt-get -t mx upgrade
sudo apt-get -t mx dist-upgrade

And no problems, Thunar update fine to 1.6.3, i have no problems with other packages  smile

I've read your blog post and it seems that MX added gvfs to their repo (for MTP support), hence the held packages. hmm

gvfs (1.12.3-5mx14) mx; urgency=low

  * Rebuilt for MX-14 applying the mtp patches to
  * the wheezy sources to avoid version mis-matches.

-- Timothy E. Harris <maintainer@mepiscommunity.org>  Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:01:12 -0400

Going to add a warning to the original post until I get a chance to update the tutorial.


I might be a bit thick but why is it bad for gvfs to be installed also???


Computers are a lot like air conditioners...
useless when you open windoze

Offline

#48 2014-05-15 18:14:37

jeffreyC
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2010-09-02
Posts: 596

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

primit1v3 wrote:
Alad wrote:
Yoyo wrote:

In my case use apt-get

sudo apt-get -t mx upgrade
sudo apt-get -t mx dist-upgrade

And no problems, Thunar update fine to 1.6.3, i have no problems with other packages  smile

I've read your blog post and it seems that MX added gvfs to their repo (for MTP support), hence the held packages. hmm

gvfs (1.12.3-5mx14) mx; urgency=low

  * Rebuilt for MX-14 applying the mtp patches to
  * the wheezy sources to avoid version mis-matches.

-- Timothy E. Harris <maintainer@mepiscommunity.org>  Sun, 20 Apr 2014 12:01:12 -0400

Going to add a warning to the original post until I get a chance to update the tutorial.


I might be a bit thick but why is it bad for gvfs to be installed also???

The problem with gvfs has been a long existing bug that gave permission denied even while working as root.
This resulted in many people avoiding gvfs.


There's a reason you separate military and the police. One fights the enemies of the state, the other serves and protects the people. When the military becomes both, then the enemies of the state tend to become the people.

Offline

#49 2014-05-17 00:06:42

primit1v3
Member
From: in front of my laptop
Registered: 2014-04-12
Posts: 37

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

jeffreyC wrote:
primit1v3 wrote:
Alad wrote:

I've read your blog post and it seems that MX added gvfs to their repo (for MTP support), hence the held packages. hmm

Going to add a warning to the original post until I get a chance to update the tutorial.


I might be a bit thick but why is it bad for gvfs to be installed also???

The problem with gvfs has been a long existing bug that gave permission denied even while working as root.
This resulted in many people avoiding gvfs.

hmm, seems a few other packages depend on gvfs so I can't remove it completely. I'll have to tolerate it lol


Computers are a lot like air conditioners...
useless when you open windoze

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#50 2014-06-03 06:43:25

wagmic1
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 119

Re: Thunar 1.6.3 in Waldorf - Hackfree approach

Thank you Alad
it s work like a charm
i order to not have gvf upgrade with apt-get
run :

sudo apt-get -t xfce-4.10 install thunar tasksel-data thunar-archive-plugin thunar-media-tags-plugin thunar-volman

I need to learn how to speak/write English big_smile
latest Firefox on #! handylinux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo