SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-28 13:00:12

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

GEOS commodore gui

Berkeley or some other company made a GUI for the commodore and I was wondering if any of you had herd of it
Yes it dose exist I've got the work disk but am missing the boot disk
Man I wish I had a USB 5 inch floppy disk drive


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-01-28 15:21:41

xero
#! Junkie
From: 0x000000
Registered: 2013-09-30
Posts: 382
Website

Re: GEOS commodore gui

download:
http://cbmfiles.com/geos/

how i got there:
http://lmgtfy.com/?q=c64+geos+download

as for the floppy drive, most people replace it with a compact/flash drives. you can go diy or buy a kit:
http://www.1541ultimate.net/content/

Last edited by xero (2014-01-28 15:23:36)


▬▬ι═════════-
dotfiles http://git.io/.files

Offline

#3 2014-01-29 12:48:43

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

Later ongoing to puy lynks browser on it and go to Google to see what it can do
Ice grab the old modem in the garrage


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#4 2014-02-13 02:44:34

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

Found a old PC with the drive I need


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#5 2014-02-13 12:43:07

Akareyon
Member
From: South Cimbria
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 21
Website

Re: GEOS commodore gui

samZ0rp wrote:

Found a old PC with the drive I need

Sorry to say so, but no, you haven't. C=1541 5.25" disks are 100% incompatible with PC 5.25" disks. You'll need a real 1541, 1541-II or 1571 (worst case scenario: 1551) to read/write a Commodore DOS formatted disk. Get one from eBay and a X1541 cable (that's what your old PC might come in handy for, if it has a LPT port, for more info see here) or a XU1541 USB adapter.

Or, as xero said, get the 1541Ultimate. Ordered mine last year, might arrive this month :-)

Last edited by Akareyon (2014-02-13 12:44:21)

Offline

#6 2014-02-15 01:10:13

Akareyon
Member
From: South Cimbria
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 21
Website

Re: GEOS commodore gui

I stand corrected: Catweasel could do that for you, or try googling for a thing called DISK2FDI - good luck with those o_O

Maybe hack it into this?

Wait.

I see something...

It's the BIOS of a IBM compatible computer, or a C64 or ZX Spectrum startscreen, a ARM ticking away.

Any key check... functional.

Look, it says...

- FreeGEOS -

graphic environment open system

It boots fast - it's greeting you before you switch on the power. It is lightweight - the processors run so empty that you have to heat your CPUs lest they catch a cold from boredom. Yet, all the power of a  library lies at your feet - a compendium so vast and mighty and allencompassing that it boggles the most phantastic of minds. The tools are easy to learn yet take eons to master. And for future nostalgia, converters and codices, emulators and simulators for the formats, protocols and routines of the 20th century and their spoiled offspring are provided in the blink of an eye. Any device plugged into any port of your computer? FreeGEOS will use exactly the drivers it needs to establish communication with your USB printer even if you've plugged it into your digital cam's audio line out with a LPT1-to-PS/2-adapter inbetween to render a copy of your sonata for eight SIDs -- while FreeGEOS for Nintendo DS hacks its way through the non-existent Bluetooth of your laptop to sync up with the mp3 library on your girlfriend's iPhone (running iFreeGEOS, of course)! If you know how to turn a Tandy TRS-80 on, be sure you have a fresh FreeGEOS tape with you. It runs on TI calculators, Casio, V-Tech and Sharp PCs, too!

It's intuitive. It's creative. It's compatible. You'll have it on your X-Box, PlayStation, Wii and even feed your Tamagotchis and Furbies with it. Heck, with two week's worth of experience you'll be compiling the FreeGEOS kernel to replace your toaster's firmware and teach it how to walk the dog. And if all else fails, send morse code with a flash light, the GameBoy Camera will pick it up and launch the FreeGEOS-Botnet to disable all atomic warheads and bring everlasting peace, prosperity, health and happiness to all the people of the world.

Until then I'd just grab a few bucks, get or build a XE1541 cable, snatch a 1541 drive from ebay and get that baby running on an old *nix, XP or 95 or even just DOS computer with LPT1 port. Download the software. There's a GUI, or so I've been told, but even in DOS prompt you can easily read or write pretty much anything from and to a C64 disk from and to a .d64 image (remember you don't want to mix up if and of with dd? Same here ;-) Open the d64 with those precious GeoWrite memoirs and GeoPaint masterworks of yours in VICE (get GEOS for C64 and C128 here or enjoy your favourite SID tune running and humming on a MOS 6581!

Last edited by Akareyon (2014-02-15 01:11:00)

Offline

#7 2014-02-17 06:43:25

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

ive got 2 1541 drives with me right now
however id rather not screw with them too much because i dont want to permently break them


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#8 2014-02-17 06:45:18

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

also ive got a vic 20 and a commodore 128 already in good condition
heck the vic 20 was in its box
(opened already and used but in great condition


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#9 2014-02-17 07:07:02

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

oops the drive is a 1571
and ive got it and the commodore and all its accesories running


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#10 2014-02-17 11:20:38

Akareyon
Member
From: South Cimbria
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 21
Website

Re: GEOS commodore gui

Which C128, if I may ask?

1571 is even better, you won't have to flip your disk in C64 GEOS because it has two r/w heads.

Now, depending on what you're trying to achieve, get a X1541 cable if you have a computer with parallel port or a XU1541 cable if you only have USB, hook your 1571 to your PC, download the GEOS disk images, copy them to four empty diskettes and voilà! the one and only true OS on the one and only true computer is at your command.

GEOS had a strange copy protection in place, you may remember it. You would have to unlock your boot disk with the work disk, and these would be tied to one another forever. There were tools, workarounds and tricks for that, and I'd gladly help you with this if I hadn't stored my Commodore collection in a time capsule. You don't have a Final Cartridge III, perchance?

Offline

#11 2014-02-18 01:39:15

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

mabey but i havent found all the games i had yet
ive got the boxes for sim city and various other games but no friggen disks
so it looks as if im going to have to go in to my aunts attic (its inside the walls in her roof so you need to doo a lot to get at the stuff)
also half the disks dont work
however ive got plenty of 5 1/4 inch blank floppies for a trs 80 / ibm thing


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#12 2014-02-18 12:31:32

saneks
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 1,020

Re: GEOS commodore gui

5,25" floppy disks are only usable on 1541's when they are 1D or 2D/DD - HD disks will not work. I tried that in the 90s.  cool


eee701 user & other lap/desktops

Offline

#13 2014-02-18 14:05:08

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

oh
well ive got both and im trying to put files on a dd flopie to test the drive however i cant find the drive in antix (debian sid repos)
do i need a driver or some program to make the drive show up
(if i dont it may be broken)
i may choose to dualboot windows 98 and linux on it if i cant get it to work because windows should have a bit more support because it is as old as the drive itself
however i did get youtube on antix (well it was 144p and still very choppy)
also dose debian have tape drive support because i found a 1010 port cassette drive with 20 mb sized tapes and figured they would be prety secure because who would have one of those drives


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#14 2014-02-18 14:08:38

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

im thinking of takeing the drive out and puting it in my pentium d desktop so ive got some power but the desktop is a snakes nest of wires and i always get cut working on pcs
i think time and  zipties are in order


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#15 2014-02-18 18:39:22

saneks
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 1,020

Re: GEOS commodore gui

samZ0rp wrote:

oh
i found a 1010 port cassette drive with 20 mb sized tapes and figured they would be prety secure because who would have one of those drives

dude, that stuff was designed for backup purposes. better get an old Harddrive to store stuff.
what exactly are you up to? - using x64 or vice emulator on the pentium? or only to copy over to 5,25 disk?

you can download 99,9% of all the software ever released from commodore sites today as abandonware - copy it to sd, use that on a real commodore with a SD2IEC reader or better a 1541 Ultimate, and if you want to go full retro, copy over to disks.. but you can have an sd drive on the c64 and fit basically everything ever released on a single card.

I never had a x1541 cable and today we have different ports on new machines.. but as I said we also have means for using SD on an 1982 machine.. which pretty much freaked me out when I first saw it.

however, I wish you a lot of fun tinkering with that old stuff. my rig is in the attic, but I have an emulator at hand..

Last edited by saneks (2014-02-18 18:55:58)


eee701 user & other lap/desktops

Offline

#16 2014-02-19 15:28:33

samZ0rp
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-12-18
Posts: 122

Re: GEOS commodore gui

im thinking security through obsceurity mabey with the hard ware


Warning it may eat your hampster

Offline

#17 2014-02-20 09:14:39

Akareyon
Member
From: South Cimbria
Registered: 2014-01-28
Posts: 21
Website

Re: GEOS commodore gui

samZ0rp wrote:

im thinking security through obsceurity mabey with the hard ware

It is a nice thought I've been thinking as well. You don't have to worry about viruses, keyloggers, trojans and rootkits on a C64.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo