SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-01-24 20:33:08

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

[Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

### Edit ### The problem now extends to wireless, so i changed the subject
Hello, #! community

I am in need to some help with my new distro. I really want to use the #! distro but I have had some problems with the wired internet. The reason I need the wired and wireless, is that at home I only have wired connection and at my university, I only have access to wireless. I have not tried to connect to a wireless network yet, but I hope it works after this problem has been resolved.

It does not seem to be a clear, from my old post searches, for this problem. I have the #! 11 64-bit version running it on a Lenovo Thinkpad E320. I have some info from the following commands:

lspci -knn output:

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family DRAM Controller [8086:0104] (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: agpgart-intel
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller [8086:0116] (rev 09)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: i915
00:16.0 Communication controller [0780]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family MEI Controller #1 [8086:1c3a] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
00:1a.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #2 [8086:1c2d] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller [8086:1c20] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:1c10] (rev b4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:1c12] (rev b4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:1c14] (rev b4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1c.5 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family PCI Express Root Port 6 [8086:1c1a] (rev b4)
	Kernel driver in use: pcieport
00:1d.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family USB Enhanced Host Controller #1 [8086:1c26] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: ehci_hcd
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation HM65 Express Chipset Family LPC Controller [8086:1c49] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
00:1f.2 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family 6 port SATA AHCI Controller [8086:1c03] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: ahci
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family SMBus Controller [8086:1c22] (rev 04)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM43224 802.11a/b/g/n [14e4:0576] (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Broadcom Corporation BCM43224 802.11a/b/g/n [14e4:0576]
03:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader [10ec:5209] (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: rts_pstor
03:00.1 SD Host controller [0805]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5209 PCI Express Card Reader [10ec:5209] (rev 01)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: sdhci-pci
08:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Atheros Communications Inc. AR8151 v2.0 Gigabit Ethernet [1969:1083] (rev c0)
	Subsystem: Lenovo Device [17aa:21ee]
	Kernel driver in use: atl1c

ifconfig output:

eth0      Link encap:Ethernet  HWaddr 08:9e:01:2c:1f:5b  
          inet6 addr: fe80::a9e:1ff:fe2c:1f5b/64 Scope:Link
          UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST  MTU:1500  Metric:1
          RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:28 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:1
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000 
          RX bytes:0 (0.0 B)  TX bytes:6473 (6.3 KiB)
          Interrupt:43 

lo        Link encap:Local Loopback  
          inet addr:127.0.0.1  Mask:255.0.0.0
          inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
          UP LOOPBACK RUNNING  MTU:16436  Metric:1
          RX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
          TX packets:130 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
          collisions:0 txqueuelen:0 
          RX bytes:10468 (10.2 KiB)  TX bytes:10468 (10.2 KiB)

Do tell me if I need to provide anything else and I hope you don't mind the big wall of text. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by Flippy (2014-01-27 20:47:45)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2014-01-25 00:16:13

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

From the ifconfig command, it seems that the wired interface should be functional.
Are you using the NetworkManager to configure your network interface?


Could you post the output of:

cat /etc/network/interfaces

Offline

#3 2014-01-25 06:18:01

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

I have no idea what comes shipping with this, I read somewhere else it was something called wicd. However, based on my etc/init.d/ map, I guess network-manager is used since no wicd entry is present from the "ls -l /etc/init.d/" output.
Anyway, here is the /etc/network/interfaces/ output:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

I did not include the comments. This seems alittle too empty, could this be the problem?

Offline

#4 2014-01-25 06:52:05

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Looks like your ethernet is up, but there is no address assigned to it

retf knows loads more than me about this, but you could try manually adding it eg:

sudo ifconfig eth0 192.168.1.1

or whatever your server's is

You might also try adding this to /etc/network/interfaces

iface eth0 inet dhcp

BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

#5 2014-01-25 07:00:17

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Very well, thank you. I will try it out. I know from minor other experiences, that I should have an eth0 entry in this file. Then I knew which IP I had, now I really don't. I added:

iface eth0 inet dhcp

to /etc/network/interfaces file and ran:

sudo ifdown -a 
sudo ifup -a

doesn't seem to have changed anything.

#### EDIT ####

I have poked around the debian wiki and the man pages alittle. Still nothing. Right now my /etc/network/interfaces file looks like this:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
#allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

Do I need to uncomment the hotplug line later?

Another thing, I did run: sudo ifdown -a
before I edited the interfaces file and:
sudo ifup -a
afterwards, which gave this wierd output

Internet Systems Consortium DHCP Client 4.2.2
Copyright 2004-2011 Internet Systems Consortium.
All rights reserved.
For info, please visit https://www.isc.org/software/dhcp/

Listening on LPF/eth0/08:9e:01:2c:1f:5b
Sending on   LPF/eth0/08:9e:01:2c:1f:5b
Sending on   Socket/fallback
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 3
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 6
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 13
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 7
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 12
DHCPDISCOVER on eth0 to 255.255.255.255 port 67 interval 8
No DHCPOFFERS received.
No working leases in persistent database - sleeping.

Last edited by Flippy (2014-01-25 08:48:32)

Offline

#6 2014-01-25 12:56:24

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Try uncommenting the 'hotplug line.
This /etc/network/interfaces  should work for most systems and configurations:

auto lo
iface lo inet loopback

auto eth0
allow-hotplug eth0
iface eth0 inet dhcp

If that doesn't work there are a few possibilities:

  1. The DHCP server is not running [probably].

  2. The network cable connecting the computer system to the rest of the network is damaged [maybe].

  3. The DHCP server is running, but not using a standard configuration [not very likely].

Offline

#7 2014-01-25 13:04:50

pdc
#! Member
From: America
Registered: 2013-12-03
Posts: 52
Website

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

This output makes sense. Your DHCP request is being sent (DHCPDISCOVER). But you are not getting any offers (DHCPOFFERS) of IP addresses from the DHCP server on the ethernet. That's consistent with your first post's output of 'ifconfig' which shows 28 packets being sent (TX) but none received (RX).

Basically this means that your DHCP client seems to be working but the DHCP server out there on the wired network is NOT.

Usually, the DHCP server is on a router on the wired network. Do you have such a router? It should have the DHCP server running by default.


Anything that doesn't take years of your life and drive you to suicide hardly seems worth doing.
-Cormac McCarthy

Offline

#8 2014-01-25 13:16:57

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

#retf
Ok, I have changed the interfaces file to what you wrote. It does not seem like the network cable is the problem neither. I switched it with my other cable that was connected to my stationary computer and the cable(which was connected to the laptop) worked on the stationary pc. I did change the /etc/rc.local file according to this guide: http://abi71.wordpress.com/2011/12/21/e … slackware/ but nothing changed.

Now I have another wierd thing, the network symbol appears to be connected. The symbol is like two brushes (a broad one) diagonally, brushhead towards each other. When I click on it it says:
Wired network
  device not managed.

Last edited by Flippy (2014-01-25 13:27:49)

Offline

#9 2014-01-25 13:27:27

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

#pdc
I have a router between the ethernet hole in the wall and the computers. I do not know if I have a DHCP server on it. Oh wait, I think it is a switch, TL-SF1005D from TP link. Well this got awkward.

Offline

#10 2014-01-25 13:34:18

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

The "Wired Network - device not managed" message means that:
1. You are running NetworkManager.
2. You have manually configured your eth0 interface.
3. Since you have manually configured your eth0 interface, NetworkManager is not going to try to configure it.

If you delete all the lines in /etc/network/interfaces that relate to 'eth0'    --- you'll see that NetworkManager no longer displays this message.

As to the problem you have connecting to the network with the PC in question:  Most likely there is no DHCP server running.
So, next question:
1.  How are you plugging into the rest of the network?

BTW: I have found this site to be very helpful in drawing text diagrams that can be copy/pasted into a forum post...
http://www.asciiflow.com/#Draw

Also asciio:

sudo apt-get install asciio

Is a good off-line ascii drawing program.

Last edited by retf (2014-01-25 13:43:58)

Offline

#11 2014-01-25 13:48:03

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Ok I have deleted the 'eth0' releated lines in the interfaces file. Here is my setup, really simple kind of. The switch version is mentioned in my other post above.

Asciiflow

Offline

#12 2014-01-25 13:55:04

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

What you've got there is about 1/2 a working setup...
You're posting here, so I assume you've got Internet access to/from somewhere.
Are you posting here from the desktop or a smart phone [connected via phone's carrier network]  ?

Offline

#13 2014-01-25 13:55:50

pdc
#! Member
From: America
Registered: 2013-12-03
Posts: 52
Website

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Flippy wrote:

#pdc
I have a router between the ethernet hole in the wall and the computers. I do not know if I have a DHCP server on it. Oh wait, I think it is a switch, TL-SF1005D from TP link. Well this got awkward.

Whooops. That is definitely a problem.  BUT, you still may have a router somewhere upstream of the 'ethernet hole in the wall' right? If you can find out who owns that, I guess you could get them to turn on DHCP...but you're better off putting in your own...on your side of the 'ethernet hole in the wall.'

TP Link makes a nice wired-only router, too...that's what I'm using TL-R860 (though, I'm sure there is a newer version).


Anything that doesn't take years of your life and drive you to suicide hardly seems worth doing.
-Cormac McCarthy

Offline

#14 2014-01-25 13:58:04

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

By desktop, I assume you mean the stationary pc? Then yes, excuse the confusion, English is not my first language. It just seems to be my laptop that is having a problem with the internet connection.

Offline

#15 2014-01-25 14:06:53

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Is the stationary PC running a Linux distro?  MS Windows?
Could you post the networking configuration of the functional networked machine?

EDIT:
On MS Windows, the:

ipconfig

command is nearly equivalent to the:

ifconfig

on GNU/Linux machines...

Last edited by retf (2014-01-25 14:12:25)

Offline

#16 2014-01-25 14:14:36

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

I run windows 7 on the stationary PC. How do I find a summary on the network configuration on Win 7? I don't delve much into networks in general.  :8

#### EDIT####

Ok, I will run ipconfig in a while, just let me change the language settings to english. I think you could make out the parts from it  but I will change it in a while if necessary.

#EDIT# I changed langauge to english for less glitched out text. 
*Data remove*

Last edited by Flippy (2014-01-25 14:50:20)

Offline

#17 2014-01-25 14:19:08

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

I haven't used MS Windows in many years...
But... you can try this:
1. Open a terminal in Windows
2. Type:

ipconfig

And see what the system spits out at you...

EDIT: Oh - you did it already...
smile

EDIT 2:
From the English translated text and the "whois" records on the ip addresses it would seem that you probably are in Sweden ?  and somehow are also connected to the UK Defense network ?

Is the Windows machine configured via DHCP or static routing?  Is it a work machine?  If it is, you should edit your post and delete the ip address...

In any case, your configuration is definitely non-regular for a home use network.  The network configuration of the Windows machine indicates that your machine is directly addressable on the open internet.  This is generally not advisable for home network purposes, and is usually only the case for static routing configured for business server use.  If your Internet Service Provider (ISP) has configured static routing, you are unlikely to be able to add any other computers to your network without first contacting the ISP.

Last edited by retf (2014-01-25 14:40:36)

Offline

#18 2014-01-25 14:55:09

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Yes, I live in sweden and live in a apartment for students. I really find it disturbing that I am on a foreign country defense network, I wonder if I can sleep tonight. I don't know what my ISP has configured, but I edited my previous post just in case. If it is as you believe, I would be able to just switch the stationary PC with my laptops ethernet cable. I did that before but I didn't get any connection. Maybe I did not wait long enough?

Offline

#19 2014-01-25 15:06:37

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

The secondary IP address may be a proxy.  Since you live in an apartment for students, I would imagine the DHCP side of the network has already been configured for you.  If you know this to be the case, you may want to ask the school's Computer Networking help desk to find out if and how you can add a second host computer to the networking jack in the room.  It's possible they will tell you that all you need to do is purchase one of these:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.a … 6833162069

Which will setup the correct routing for you almost by default...

It's also possible they will tell you that you can't hook anything else up...

Offline

#20 2014-01-25 15:31:04

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

I have had the though of purchasing a wireless router. I have contacted my ISP to see if it is static. If this turns out to be the case I will probably close this thread. Also, I will check if my wireless works (which will probably be tomorrow) or not and then post a new thread. Thank you, everyone, for your help up until now.

Offline

#21 2014-01-25 17:12:51

wmdiem
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2008-12-26
Posts: 187

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

If your Internet Service Provider (ISP) has configured static routing, you are unlikely to be able to add any other computers to your network without first contacting the ISP.

Even if the ISP has configured a static IP for this computer, he should be able to replace the switch with a router running DHCP and NAT and mirror the static config (from the windows machine) to the router. The only way I can think this wouldn't work is if he has to configure a proxy (which should only require adding that proxy to the other clients) or if the ISP is using mac filtering (although some routers will let you set the mac address so you could get around this) OR you could add a second network adapter the the windows machine and use Windows ICS to set that machine up as a gateway/NAT/DHCP server/etc that would server any number of other clients through the switch (used to be really simple, though  I haven't done it on anything more recent than win2k or xp).
Before doing anything, I would look at the static config on the win machine and copy it to the linux box, only changing the ip address to an address on the same subnet that ping tells me isn't already taken, maybe also check to make sure that  I actually do have a public ip (does this give you the same address as what was shown in the windows ipconfig?). tracert might also give some interesting hints about the network topology.
OP who provided your Windows machine, and who set it up on the network?

Offline

#22 2014-01-25 17:56:50

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

The public IP address is not a problem.  Everyone connecting to the Internet must have a public IP address.  However, the public IP address is usually assigned to the WAN port on either an ISP provided router or a self-owned compatible router.  I was trying to point out that setting up a regular user PC as visible and addressable on the open Internet is probably not the best move, especially if the user is not very aware of how to properly configure a firewall as well as NAT if the publicly addressed machine has two NICs.  Also, if the OP's ISP has static routing with MAC filtering then it may be against the ISP terms of service to setup secondary nodes.  Just because you could do something doesn't mean you should do something --- and doing something could get you bumped off the ISP...

...Although some would say it's better to ask forgiveness than permission...   ]:D

Offline

#23 2014-01-27 18:05:16

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

#quick edit, my wireless didn't work anyway efter the things i did above.
Well now, I have found something more interesting. When I reinstalled the OS, and it booted I noticed some error code. I think I am missing something firmware related. I did some digging and I guess it is some kind of driver.

I ran: sudo cat /var/log/syslog | grep firm

Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    3.990850] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    3.993396] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    3.995588] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    3.997715] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    7.661048] brcmsmac 0000:02:00.0: firmware: agent aborted loading brcm/bcm43xx-0.fw (not found?)
Jan 27 18:23:46 crunchbang kernel: [    7.661186] ieee80211 phy0: brcmsmac: Failed to find firmware usually in /lib/firmware/brcm
Jan 27 18:23:48 crunchbang kernel: [   16.893085] IBM TrackPoint firmware: 0x0e, buttons: 3/3
Jan 27 18:23:50 crunchbang NetworkManager[2194]: <info> monitoring kernel firmware directory '/lib/firmware'.
Jan 27 18:43:03 crunchbang NetworkManager[2194]: <info> kernel firmware directory '/lib/firmware' changed
Jan 27 18:43:48 crunchbang NetworkManager[2194]: <info> kernel firmware directory '/lib/firmware' changed
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    3.950681] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    3.953224] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    3.955430] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    3.957877] platform microcode: firmware: agent loaded intel-ucode/06-2a-07 into memory
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    7.522384] brcmsmac 0000:02:00.0: firmware: agent loaded brcm/bcm43xx-0.fw into memory
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    7.550921] brcmsmac 0000:02:00.0: firmware: agent aborted loading brcm/bcm43xx_hdr-0.fw (not found?)
Jan 27 18:45:26 crunchbang kernel: [    7.551069] ieee80211 phy0: brcmsmac: Failed to find firmware usually in /lib/firmware/brcm
Jan 27 18:45:29 crunchbang kernel: [   16.800573] IBM TrackPoint firmware: 0x0e, buttons: 3/3
Jan 27 18:45:29 crunchbang NetworkManager[2073]: <info> monitoring kernel firmware directory '/lib/firmware'.

Any pointers on what I should try from here?

Last edited by Flippy (2014-01-27 18:31:32)

Offline

#24 2014-01-27 19:25:20

retf
#! CrunchBanger
From: On top of spaghetti
Registered: 2013-12-25
Posts: 200

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Well the broadcom driver will need to be installed before the wireless networking will function...
I think that is in the 'non-free' repo here...
http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/broadcom-sta-dkms

Since you don't have Internet access from the machine in question - you'll have to download the packages on the stationary machine and install them from a USB stick or other removable media...

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2014-01-27 20:06:05

Flippy
Member
Registered: 2014-01-24
Posts: 14

Re: [Unsolved/Closed]Wired / Wireless Network Problem

Ok, thanks alot! I would like to have some pointers from what to do with this dkms package. I need dkms program to install it and I have downloaded it from: http://packages.debian.org/wheezy/dkms . The problem is, what do I do with it? Since there are no clear instructions I am kind of stuck. Synaptic does not seem to cooperate with me either. I feel like a child you have to hold hands with through the park hmm

This is what kind of frustrates me: I could use apt-get install if I had internet, but I don't because I have no drivers. I need to install the driver but can't because I don't have the dkms program. I could install dkms if I had internet with apt-get and continue the cycle. Also, the dkms.conf file seems to be a mountain of confusion. I have only found some minor documentation on it however, we might return to this subject some time later.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo