SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#6851 2013-12-22 23:28:40

dk75
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 250

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

chepioq wrote:
dk75 wrote:

Uninstall everything xnvctrl, download source from nVidia that matches your driver and compile yourself.

I think it's not a good idea compile driver nvidia.

I will put a bug on rpmfusion bugzilla.

I wasn't talked about driver, xnvcntrl only.
It's separate source package.
if you don't have it in your package manager as installed from separate package then let it be that way.
Download source and compile it.

PS: had nVidia, installed nVidia beta drivers (not the distribution one), compiled xnvctrl by hand (nVidia beta drivers haven't have it in package)


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#6852 2013-12-23 05:21:10

chepioq
#! Member
Registered: 2013-01-09
Posts: 79

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

dk75 wrote:
chepioq wrote:
dk75 wrote:

Uninstall everything xnvctrl, download source from nVidia that matches your driver and compile yourself.

I think it's not a good idea compile driver nvidia.

I will put a bug on rpmfusion bugzilla.

I wasn't talked about driver, xnvcntrl only.
It's separate source package.
if you don't have it in your package manager as installed from separate package then let it be that way.
Download source and compile it.

PS: had nVidia, installed nVidia beta drivers (not the distribution one), compiled xnvctrl by hand (nVidia beta drivers haven't have it in package)

With Fedora package name is libXNVCtrl.
Description of this package :

%description
This packages contains the libXNVCtrl library from the nvidia-settings
application. This library provides the NV-CONTROL API for communicating with
the proprietary NVidia xorg driver. This package does not contain the
nvidia-settings tool itself as that is included with the proprietary drivers
themselves.

The source is on the nvidia site ?

Offline

#6853 2013-12-23 09:00:30

dk75
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 250

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

#6854 2013-12-23 16:24:38

chepioq
#! Member
Registered: 2013-01-09
Posts: 79

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

dk75 wrote:

Thank dk75, but compilation don't work for me.
It does not matter I use now the fedora package, without nvidia enable, and I modify my conky and use the outputs of nvidia-settings.

Offline

#6855 2013-12-23 16:36:26

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ have you checked the fedora forum for this (excuse me if that's in an earlier post of yours, I haven't read through them all)?

Fedora is somewhat particular in how they set up packages and the system; you may need to install a couple additional packages to get apps/drivers to compile.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#6856 2013-12-23 20:34:50

lionhead
#! Junkie
From: Dagobah / Germany
Registered: 2011-01-22
Posts: 459

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

is it possible to show the actual status of the telescopes? the div-container shows different messages: 'missions are online', 'missions offline through clouds' or 'missions offline through high humidity'.

the marked area (screenshot) shows the status. this is a screenshot of the source-code: http://postimg.org/image/mbjzd2otb/

it's a members-only page. this is the url: www.slooh.com/launchpad_teide.php

it would be easier to read this immediately (on the screen) then open the browser smile

Last edited by lionhead (2013-12-25 16:40:04)

Offline

#6857 2013-12-26 22:20:21

boisei0
#! CrunchBanger
From: Gaanderen, Netherlands
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 193

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Sector11 wrote:
Deegan wrote:

Thanks  #! CrunchBanger  big_smile

How come this error with conkyforecast?  sad

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/640x480q90/823/ekdi.png

Conky forecast has pretty well stopped working - and unless a python coder wants to pick up where Mark lets off it will stay that way.  sad   Sites make changes ... Mark has left Linux for work related reasons so cF sits unsupported.

Check out v9000 or Teo's scripts in my sig.

Inspired by this post and the conkyForecast script, I spent the last four days (including Christmas) updating my own weather script (when I look back, I did not use more than a few lines of my original code) to the cF syntax. I now have a working script, omitting only a few functions of cF. I'm using the api of the Norwegian Meteorological institute for this script. I took the picture below with the sample following sample template:

${image [--datatype=WI] -p 0,0 -s 64x64}
${image [--datatype=WI --startday=1] -p 120,0 -s 64x64}
${image [--datatype=WI --startday=2] -p 240,0 -s 64x64}
${voffset 15}
Now: [--datatype=HT]${goto 135}[--datatype=DW --startday=1]: [--datatype=HT --startday=1]${goto 255}[--datatype=DW --startday=2]: [--datatype=HT --startday=2]

bp1feMM.jpg

Within the next days, I plan to add some of the functions I omitted. There are a few thing I can/will not add by the limitations of the API I use. I'm now off for some sleep, but I think I will update my weather script topic tomorrow with the new script.


YAWS (cli weather script with conkyForecast syntax) | Bitbucket | Github | Blog
Member of the Unofficial #! Emergency Tinfoil Hat Distribution Center
Emergency Tinfoil Hat Conky Alert System development team

Offline

#6858 2013-12-26 22:25:26

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

boisei0 wrote:

Within the next days, I plan to add some of the functions I omitted. There are a few thing I can/will not add by the limitations of the API I use. I'm now off for some sleep, but I think I will update my weather script topic tomorrow with the new script.

Awesome - looking forward to seeing the results ...


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6859 2013-12-27 19:37:14

boisei0
#! CrunchBanger
From: Gaanderen, Netherlands
Registered: 2013-07-16
Posts: 193

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I just updated my weather script topic with the newest version of YAWS: http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=28674
Please note that it may/will contain (small) bugs.


YAWS (cli weather script with conkyForecast syntax) | Bitbucket | Github | Blog
Member of the Unofficial #! Emergency Tinfoil Hat Distribution Center
Emergency Tinfoil Hat Conky Alert System development team

Offline

#6860 2013-12-27 20:08:57

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

boisei0 wrote:

I just updated my weather script topic with the newest version of YAWS: http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=28674
Please note that it may/will contain (small) bugs.

Let me guess: Yet Another Weather Script.  big_smile

Grabbing it now - thanks.

EDIT - OH I've seen that before!   :8  :8

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-12-27 20:10:10)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6861 2014-01-02 04:54:00

J0K3R
New Member
Registered: 2013-12-28
Posts: 8

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

got this error while restarting conky

failed to execute child process "conkywonky" no such file or directory

what should i do ???
here is my .conkyrc

# Theme: CathexiS
# Description: Simple, minimal, distraction free foundation for building your desktop experience...
# Author: Samir Kahvedzic < akirapowered@gmail.com >
# Web: http://samirkahvedzic.deviantart.com


##############################################
# Settings
##############################################

background yes

# Use Xft?
use_xft yes
xftfont Coda:size=9
xftalpha 1

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 1.0

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type desktop

own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 200 200
maximum_width 200

# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no

# Draw borders around text
draw_borders no

# border width
border_width 1

# border margins
border_margin 5

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 0

# Default colors and also border colors
default_color 666666
own_window_colour 262524
default_shade_color 000000
default_outline_color 828282

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
#alignment top_left
alignment top_right
#alignment bottom_left
#alignment bottom_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
# same thing as passing -x at command line
gap_x 70
gap_y 100

# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 2

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale yes

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer yes

default_bar_size 200 3
draw_graph_borders yes

##############################################
#  Output
##############################################
TEXT
${color a7a7a7}${font Coda:size=40}${time %k:%M}${font}${color}
${voffset -44}$alignr${time %a} 
$alignr${time %D}

${color a7a7a7}Kernel:${color}$alignr$kernel
${color a7a7a7}UpTime:${color}$alignr$uptime  

P R O C E S S O R
${hr}
${color a7a7a7}Cpu1:${color}${offset 30}${cpu cpu1}%${color}
${cpugraph cpu1 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}
${voffset -54}${offset 112}${color a7a7a7}Cpu2:${color}${offset 30}${cpu cpu2}% ${color}
$alignr${cpugraph cpu2 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}
${color a7a7a7}Cpu3:${color}${offset 30}${cpu cpu2}%${color}
${cpugraph cpu2 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}
${voffset -54}${offset 112}${color a7a7a7}Cpu4:${color}${offset 30}${cpu cpu3}%${color}
$alignr${cpugraph cpu3 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}${color} 

M E M O R Y
${hr}
${color a7a7a7}Ram:$alignr${color FEA63C}$mem${color}/${color B7CE42}$memmax${color}
${membar}
${color a7a7a7}Swap usage:$alignr${color FEA63C}$swap${color}/${color B7CE42}$swapfree${color}
${swapbar}

HDD
${hr}
${color a7a7a7}Root:$alignr${color FEA63C}${fs_used /}${color}/${color B7CE42}${fs_free /}${color}
${fs_bar /}
${color a7a7a7}Home:$alignr${color FEA63C}${fs_used /home}${color}/${color B7CE42}${fs_free /home}${color}
${fs_bar /home}

NETWORK
${hr}
${color a7a7a7}eth0:$alignr${color FEA63C}
${color a7a7a7}Up:${color} ${upspeed eth0}KB/s${color}
${upspeedgraph eth0 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}
${color a7a7a7}Total:${color} ${totalup eth0}
${voffset -70}${offset 94}${color a7a7a7}Down:${color} ${downspeed eth0}KB/s
$alignr${downspeedgraph eth0 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}${color}
$alignr${color a7a7a7}Total:${color} ${totaldown eth0}
${hr}
${color a7a7a7}wlan1:$alignr${color FEA63C}
${color a7a7a7}Up:${color} ${upspeed wlan1}KB/s${color}
${upspeedgraph wlan1 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}
${color a7a7a7}Total:${color} ${totalup wlan1}
${voffset -70}${offset 94}${color a7a7a7}Down:${color} ${downspeed wlan1}KB/s
$alignr${downspeedgraph wlan1 20,85 556B2F 9ACD32}${color}
$alignr${color a7a7a7}Total:${color} ${totaldown wlan1}

any help ????

Offline

#6862 2014-01-02 11:41:47

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

J0K3R wrote:

got this error while restarting conky

failed to execute child process "conkywonky" no such file or directory

what should i do ???

any help ????

Looks like /usr/bin/conkywonky is missing.  It's a file that is packaged with #!

#!/bin/sh
# conkywonky
# ----------
# Many moons ago, Conky did not automatically restart when changes were
# made to its config files. This script was used to restart it. It does not
# really serve any purpose now, but I like the name and some people may still
# be using/referencing it.

if [ "$(pidof conky)" ]; then
    killall conky
    conky -q
    exit
else
    conky -q
    exit
fi

if your conky file is ~/.conkyrc starting it is easy, in a terminal:

conky

... that's it.

If you use a different name:

conky -c /path/to/conky_file

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6863 2014-01-07 03:23:46

tmq
#! Member
Registered: 2012-05-30
Posts: 84

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I have an annoying problem: I can't seem to align the output for "cal" in conky (v1.9.x). The top line moves (e.g. ${offset 50} moves "January 2014"), while the date lines remain glued to Conky's left margin.  What am I missing...how can I remedy this problem?

Offline

#6864 2014-01-07 06:13:48

chepioq
#! Member
Registered: 2013-01-09
Posts: 79

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

tmq wrote:

I have an annoying problem: I can't seem to align the output for "cal" in conky (v1.9.x). The top line moves (e.g. ${offset 50} moves "January 2014"), while the date lines remain glued to Conky's left margin.  What am I missing...how can I remedy this problem?

what code you use ?
may be it's a problem with the fonts, if you want align the cal, you should use a monospace fonts.

Offline

#6865 2014-01-07 12:24:50

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

tmq wrote:

I have an annoying problem: I can't seem to align the output for "cal" in conky (v1.9.x). The top line moves (e.g. ${offset 50} moves "January 2014"), while the date lines remain glued to Conky's left margin.  What am I missing...how can I remedy this problem?

chepioq wrote:

what code you use ?
may be it's a problem with the fonts, if you want align the cal, you should use a monospace fonts.

To clarify what chepiog said - a monofont is a "must" unless you are using a LUA calendar if you want proper alignment.

Are you just using something like: ${execpi 600 cal}?

NOTE: output of cal (ncal) uses 6 lines for the actual "calendar" part to account for months that have "6 week lines"

 07 Jan 14 | 09:12:49 ~
    $ ncal -bh -m 3
     March 2014       
Su Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa  
                   1  
 2  3  4  5  6  7  8  
 9 10 11 12 13 14 15  
16 17 18 19 20 21 22  
23 24 25 26 27 28 29  
30 31                 
 
 07 Jan 14 | 09:13:03 ~
    $ 

Try one of these:
2014_01_07_09_07_48_312x604_Sector11.jpg

minimum_size 300 0  # w|h
maximum_width 300
TEXT
${hr}
${hr}
${goto 20}${color6}SU MO ${color5}${time %b %Y}${color6} FR SA
${goto 20}${color}${execpi 86400 LAR=`date +%-d`; ncal -bh | sed '2d' | sed -e '1d' -e 's/\<'$LAR'\>/${color6}&${color}/' | sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/\n${goto 20}/g'}
${hr}
${goto 100}${color6}SU MO ${color5}${time %b %Y}${color6} FR SA
${goto 100}${color}${execpi 86400 LAR=`date +%-d`; ncal -bh | sed '2d' | sed -e '1d' -e 's/\<'$LAR'\>/${color6}&${color}/' | sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/\n${goto 100}/g'}
${hr}
${hr}
${goto 20}${color5}${time %b}             ${time %Y}
${goto 20}${color6}SU MO TU WE TH FR SA
${goto 20}${color}${execpi 600 LAR=`date +%-d`; ncal -bh | sed '2d' | sed -e '1d' -e 's/\<'$LAR'\>/${color6}&${color}/' | sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/\n${goto 20}/g'}
${hr}
${goto 70}${color5}${time %b}             ${time %Y}
${goto 70}${color6}SU MO TU WE TH FR SA
${goto 70}${color}${execpi 600 LAR=`date +%-d`; ncal -bh | sed '2d' | sed -e '1d' -e 's/\<'$LAR'\>/${color6}&${color}/' | sed ':a;N;$!ba;s/\n/\n${goto 70}/g'}

I use short month names as "May" is a lot shorter than "September"
[url=http://postimg.org/image/fu6n97zpl/][img]http://s20.postimg.org/fu6n97zpl/2014_01_07_09_07_48_312x604_Sector11.jpg[/img][/url]

${hr}

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6866 2014-01-07 14:04:08

brincher
New Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2013-12-29
Posts: 9

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I wanna show you my conky config too.
There is nothing special about it [I used some tricks from lots of people here], but the good thing is: it is exactly how I wanted it to be. Today is my birthday, so I will take it as a gift!
big_smile
The only thing not working [I tried EVERYTHING] is a weather forecast, but it's ok.

capturadetela-07-01-2014-114416.php

# conky configuration
#
# The list of variables has been removed from this file.
# Check http://conky.sf.net for an up-to-date-list.
# For ideas about how to modify conky, please see:
# http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic/59/my-conky-config/
# For help with conky, please see:
# http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic/2047/conky-help/
##############################################
# Settings
##############################################

# Use Xft?
use_xft yes
xftfont Monospace:size=8
xftalpha 0.8
text_buffer_size 3082

# Update interval in seconds
update_interval 1

# This is the number of times Conky will update before quitting.
# Set to zero to run forever.
total_run_times 0

# Create own window instead of using desktop (required in nautilus)
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type conky
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager

# Use double buffering (reduces flicker, may not work for everyone)
double_buffer yes

# Minimum size of text area
minimum_size 280 1600

# Maximum Width
maximum_width 1060


# Draw shades?
draw_shades no

# Draw outlines?
draw_outline no

# Draw borders around text
draw_borders yes

# Stippled borders?
stippled_borders 6

# border margins
border_margin 10

# border width
border_width 1

# Default colors and also border colors
default_color white
own_window_colour white

# Text alignment, other possible values are commented
alignment top_right

# Gap between borders of screen and text
gap_x 20
# same thing as passing -x at command line
gap_y 40

# Subtract file system buffers from used memory?
no_buffers yes

# set to yes if you want all text to be in uppercase
uppercase no

# number of cpu samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
cpu_avg_samples 2

# number of net samples to average
# set to 1 to disable averaging
net_avg_samples 2

# Force UTF8? note that UTF8 support required XFT
override_utf8_locale yes

# Add spaces to keep things from moving about?  This only affects certain objects.
use_spacer none

#######################
####### SYSTEM #######
#######################
TEXT
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  SISTEMA ${hr 2}

Host: ${alignr}${nodename}
Kernel:  ${alignr}${kernel}
CPU: ${cpu cpu}% ${alignr}${cpubar 8,60 cpu}
RAM: $memperc% ${alignr}${membar 8,60}
Uptime: ${alignr}${uptime}
#######################
##### DATE & TIME #####
#######################
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  DATA e HORA ${hr 2}
${alignc 35}${font :size=26}${time %H:%M}${font}
${alignc}${time %d de %B de %Y}
${alignc}Hoje é ${time %A}

#######################
#### HD #####
#######################
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  DISCO RÍGIDO ${hr 2}

Home: ${fs_free /home}/${fs_size /home} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /home}
Root: ${fs_free /root}/${fs_size /root} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /root}

#######################
#### NETWORK #####
#######################
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  REDE ${hr 2}
${if_existing /proc/net/route wlan1}
Up: ${upspeed wlan1} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph wlan1 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Down: ${downspeed wlan1} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph wlan1 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Upload: ${alignr}${totalup wlan1}
Download: ${alignr}${totaldown wlan1}
Signal: ${wireless_link_qual wlan1}% ${alignr}${wireless_link_bar 8,60 wlan1}${else}${if_existing /proc/net/route eth0}
Up: ${upspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth0 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Down: ${downspeed eth0} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph eth0 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Upload: ${alignr}${totalup eth0}
Download: ${alignr}${totaldown eth0}${endif}${else}${if_existing /proc/net/route eth1}
Up: ${upspeed eth1} kb/s ${alignr}${upspeedgraph eth1 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Down: ${downspeed eth1} kb/s ${alignr}${downspeedgraph eth1 8,60 789E2D A7CC5C}
Upload: ${alignr}${totalup eth1}
Download: ${alignr}${totaldown eth1}${endif}${else}${font PizzaDude Bullets:size=14}4${font}   Network Unavailable${endif}

#######################
#### KEYBINDINGS #####
#######################
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  TECLAS  DE  ATALHO ${hr 2}

${color green}Alt+F2$alignr${color} Menu Executar
${color green}Alt+F3$alignr${color} Alt Menu
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + Space$alignr Menu principal
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + Tab$alignr Client Menu
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + t$alignr Terminal
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + h$alignr Monitoramento do sistema
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + f$alignr Gerenciador de arquivos
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + e$alignr Bloco de notas
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + m$alignr Reprodutor de mídias
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + w$alignr Navegador Web
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + h$alignr Gerenciador de tarefas
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + p$alignr Paint
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + l$alignr Bloquear a tela
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + v$alignr Controle de volume
Tecla ${color yellow}${font FontAwesome :size=10}${font}${color} + x$alignr Logout
${color green}PrtSc$alignr${color} Screenshot 
################################################
#### FORTUNES ##################################
# Mostra aleatória de citações (neste caso, ####
# de uma coletânea de citações sobre poesia ####
# que eu mesmo selecionei e formatei).      ####
################################################

${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  MAS  E  A  POESIA? ${hr 2}
${color yellow}${execi 120 fortune sobrepoesia -e -s | fold -w40}${color}

####################### 
${color grey}${font FontAwesome :size=20}${font}${color}  MÚSICA ${hr 2}
${if_running audacious}
${alignc}${color green}${font Liberation Sans Narrow :size=9:style=bold}${exec audtool --current-song}${font}${color}
${color orange}${execbar expr 100 \* $(audtool --current-song-output-length-seconds) \/ $(audtool --current-song-length-seconds)}$endif${color}
${exec audtool --current-song-bitrate-kbps} kbps / ${exec audtool --current-song-length} 
#

+ / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / -
I have more distros than friends.
+ / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / - / + / -

Offline

#6867 2014-01-07 14:39:12

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ brincher

Feliz Aniversário!

Actually there is something special about it: it is exactly how you wanted it to be, that makes it special.

brincher wrote:

The only thing not working [I tried EVERYTHING] is a weather forecast, but it's ok.

What exactly did you try?  Teo's scripts? (see my sig) mrpeachy's v9000 has migrated to WUN just yesterday a new thread opened up.  Capable of Portuguese output as well.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6868 2014-01-07 16:29:54

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Howdy S11, Mr. Peachy, and all you other Conky geniuses!  I have a question.  Problem:  I am trying to parse Pandora using Pianobar and get the info into my conky.  Here is the script I found online that I'm using (http://gistflow.com/posts/485-fun-with- … ng-in-bash):

#!/bin/bash
services=(pianobar mpd)

what_is_running() {
  for service in ${services[@]}; do
    if [ -n "$(pgrep $service)" ]; then
      echo $service
      return
    fi
  done
  echo none
}

trim() {
  cat /dev/stdin | sed 's/^ *//g' | sed 's/ *$//g'
}

none_fn() {
  echo "Nothing playing."
}

pianobar_fn() {
  title=$(cat ~/.config/pianobar/nowplaying | cut -f1 -d:)
  artist=$(cat ~/.config/pianobar/nowplaying | cut -f2 -d:)
  echo "Now Playing: $title by $artist"
}

mpd_fn() {
  if [ -n "$(mpc current)" ]; then
    artist=$(mpc current | cut -f1 -d- | trim)
    title=$(mpc current | cut -f2 -d- | trim)
    echo "Now Playing: $title by $artist"
  else
    none_fn
  fi
}

running=$(what_is_running)
${running}_fn
exit 0

I am getting this output:  Now Playing    by

I'm also getting this error:  cat: /home/evl/.config/pianobar/nowplaying: No such file or directory

I created the directory pianobar (./.config/pianobar) and placed a file in it named nowplaying.  What have I missed?  Is this supposed to be a special file or something?  Sorry if this is silly but I'm kinda clueless with this stuff.   tongue

[edit]  Ok, restarted Conky and now there is no error, but also no output other than:  Now Playing    by

Last edited by ElderV.LaCoste (2014-01-07 16:35:46)


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#6869 2014-01-07 16:36:48

dk75
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 250

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

If you had installed "pianobar" then "~/.config/pianobar" should be made by "pianobar" itself.
That means you have no "pianobar" installed.
Then how do you want to use it if not installed?
Same with MPC and MPD - did you installed any of them?


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

#6870 2014-01-07 16:45:01

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

It must be installed because I installed it from Synaptic and it shows that it is installed.  Also when I type "pianobar" in the terminal, it starts and asks for my Pandora login information.  After I login and select whatever channel I want to listen to, then the music starts playing.

2014_01_07_1389112779_1366x768_scrot.jpg

Last edited by ElderV.LaCoste (2014-01-07 16:49:04)


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#6871 2014-01-07 16:56:49

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ ElderV.LaCoste

So good to see you.

Unfortunately I can help even it I could pianobar ... is not for use outside of the US ... which means my lack of know how doesn't even enter the equation. sad

Description: console based player for Pandora radio

pianobar is a cross-platform console client for the personalized web radio Pandora, supporting all important features the official Flash™ client has:

* Create, delete, rename stations and add more music
* Rate and temporary ban tracks as well as move them to another station
* “Shared stations”
   
and some that it does not have (yet):

* last.fm scrobbling
* Proxy support for use in areas not supported by Pandora (outside the USA)

dk75 knows more than I'll ever get between my ears though.  big_smile


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#6872 2014-01-07 17:10:32

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Thanks S11, it's great to be back.  Remember all of that work we did creating transparent backgrounds for Conky?  Now you can do it with Lua ha, ha.  I appreciate you taking a look and responding even if you can't help.  It must be something in the script.  I'm gonna try re-installing Pianobar per Dk75's comment (thanks Dk75).


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

#6873 2014-01-07 17:16:53

tmq
#! Member
Registered: 2012-05-30
Posts: 84

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@Sector 11 - it works nicely, thanks much.

Offline

#6874 2014-01-07 17:16:59

dk75
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-06-14
Posts: 250

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

OK.
It seems that it have no default configuration.

Run pianobar and play some music with it - check ~/.config/pianobar directory for files when it plays.


Debian Sid (Minted) x86_64/3.12-10, Conky 2.0_pre, Xorg 7.7/1.15.0, KDE 4.11.5, Intel X3100
Lenovo T61, HITACHI HTS722010K9SA00 100GB, WDC_WD5000BEVT 500GB
Linux user No.: 483055 | Conky Pitstop

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#6875 2014-01-07 17:25:44

ElderV.LaCoste
#! Die Hard
From: Equarico
Registered: 2010-07-15
Posts: 817

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@Dk75 - Yes, I think that's it.  I made a config file but I didn't put enough stuff in it.  Testing now...


Things are not as they seem, nor are they otherwise.
- Lankavatara Sutra

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo