SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-09 17:14:36

Texus
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 151

Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

I just installed the 32-bit version on an old Thinkpad T61. Intially the right-click-anywhere was working fine. After installing my usual applications such as dropbox and then updating/upgrading, openbox is acting funny. Right-click is not working anywhere on the desktop except when the mouse is in the narrow strip on the top. How can I get back the default behavior?

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-08-09 18:46:44

tkbz
Member
Registered: 2013-08-08
Posts: 19

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Texus wrote:

I just installed the 32-bit version on an old Thinkpad T61. Intially the right-click-anywhere was working fine. After installing my usual applications such as dropbox and then updating/upgrading, openbox is acting funny. Right-click is not working anywhere on the desktop except when the mouse is in the narrow strip on the top. How can I get back the default behavior?

Right-clicking doesn't work on top of Conky. Did you make the conky panel any bigger than it was to begin with?

Offline

#3 2013-08-10 04:39:42

Texus
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 151

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Nope. And it doesn't work not just on conky, but everywhere else on the desktop except for the narrow strip at the top.

Offline

#4 2013-08-10 13:52:11

pidsley
Window Mangler
Registered: 2012-05-23
Posts: 1,752

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Texus wrote:

After installing my usual applications such as dropbox and then updating/upgrading, openbox is acting funny.

What exactly are your "usual applications"? Please tell us everything you installed, and any other changes you made to the default install. Did you edit any of the Openbox config files in any way? Did you change the desktop background? Did you install nautilus?

Last edited by pidsley (2013-08-10 13:54:23)

Offline

#5 2013-08-10 14:34:51

Texus
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 151

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Yes, I did install nautilus. (I have been installing nautilus since #! used to be based on ubuntu. I have never faced this problem with openbox. I have two other machines running 64bit installs with nautilus - again, no problem whatsoever). Other than nautilus, I have installed okular, k3b, dropbox, inxi, guake, kupfer,  rawtherapee and darktable. Again, these are installed on my other machines without any problem.

The only change I made is upping the number of desktops to 4, and altering the keybinding to F1, F2... instead of W-F1, W-F2 etc.

Offline

#6 2013-08-10 14:36:27

pidsley
Window Mangler
Registered: 2012-05-23
Posts: 1,752

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Texus wrote:

Yes, I did install nautilus. (I have been installing nautilus since #! used to be based on ubuntu. I have never faced this problem with openbox. I have two other machines running 64bit installs with nautilus - again, no problem whatsoever). Other than nautilus, I have installed okular, k3b, dropbox, inxi, guake, kupfer,  rawtherapee and darktable. Again, these are installed on my other machines without any problem.

Well OK then. Nautilus can't possibly be the problem, even though it's been known to take over a desktop and cause exactly this kind of problem. Good luck.

Last edited by pidsley (2013-08-10 14:38:09)

Offline

#7 2013-08-10 14:40:17

Texus
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 151

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Not that it's ground my life to a halt - right-click still works in the top panel. Still, it would be nice to get the functionality back on the entire desktop.

Offline

#8 2013-09-13 18:41:29

arimo
Member
Registered: 2013-06-15
Posts: 11

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Hi! Follow this steps:

1.- Open your .conkyrc file
2.- Look for the line "own_window_type"
3.- add to that line "override"

Make shure that the line own_window is set as "yes"

Offline

#9 2013-10-18 14:59:51

Texus
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 151

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Nope, didn't work. sad

Offline

#10 2013-10-18 17:41:10

caltelt
Member
From: Arrakeen, Arrakis
Registered: 2013-10-12
Posts: 17

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Texus wrote:

Nope. And it doesn't work not just on conky, but everywhere else on the desktop except for the narrow strip at the top.

If you kill conky does it work?

Offline

#11 2013-10-18 17:54:14

mbemboom
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2013-03-30
Posts: 104

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

I would backtrack one step at a time from the things you have done and see what fixes the problem. For example I would start by getting rid of Nautilus and see if that changes anything. If that fixes the problem then you know what it is. If not continue undoing the changes you have made to see if you can figure it out. If it was working before it pretty much has to be from one of the changes that you have made. Good luck.


"Yeah, well, you know, that’s just, like, your opinion, man. "  - The Dude

Offline

#12 2013-10-18 18:12:55

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,108

Re: Right-click not working everywhere on desktop

Look at what Pidsley wrote. Nautilus is the likely candidate.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo