SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#476 2013-08-22 06:43:54

shem
#! Member
From: Universe 6.62606957(29)×10−34
Registered: 2012-05-16
Posts: 78

Re: Tint2 Help

Where does tint2 get icons for it's systemtray from and how do I refresh/update it?

I got at least 2 showing what I assume is tint2's icon for "missing" icon:
wrong_icon_tint2_1.png
Both worked fine until about a week ago, but my search-skills aren't useful for this problem (been searching for a week now). One is virt-manager and the other is bumblebee-indicator.

Things I have tried that didn't work:
Reboots
sudo xdg-icon-resource forceupdate
sudo gtk-update-icon-cache /usr/share/icons/CrunchBang-Dark/

~/.xsession-errors (after restarting tint2):

$ tail .xsession-errors
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig
Error: couldn't find RGB GLX visual or fbconfig
** Message: applet now removed from the notification area

(process:31778): GLib-CRITICAL **: g_hash_table_foreach: assertion `version == hash_table->version' failed
real transparency on... depth: 32
xRandr: Found crtc's: 2
xRandr: Linking output LVDS1 with crtc 0
tint2 : nb monitor 1, nb monitor used 1, nb desktop 2
** Message: applet now embedded in the notification area

Last edited by shem (2013-08-22 06:48:32)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#477 2013-08-22 09:23:37

mips
Member
Registered: 2011-07-19
Posts: 45

Re: Tint2 Help

Probably in the applications associated .desktop file. If it doesn't have a .desktop file you could always create one.

Offline

#478 2013-08-22 12:34:14

shem
#! Member
From: Universe 6.62606957(29)×10−34
Registered: 2012-05-16
Posts: 78

Re: Tint2 Help

mips wrote:

Probably in the applications associated .desktop file. If it doesn't have a .desktop file you could always create one.

I checked. The .desktop-files are present, the icon-lines in them seems correct and the icons themselves are located in /usr/share/icons/hicolor/scalable/apps/ (and several other /usr/share/icon/-folders). Additionally virt-manager has a file in /etc/menu/ which I'm sure I made myself and shows up in debian-menu.

virt-manager is installed from debian repositories. Did a reinstall earlier today, but problem still present.
bumblebee-ui / bumblebee-indicator I downloaded from github: https://github.com/Bumblebee-Project/bumblebee-ui and compiled and installed myself.
Also I'm using Sid-repositories with Liquorix-kernel. I tried just now to reboot into Debians "stock" Sid-kernel (Linux 3.10-2-amd64), but same problem there.

I find it weird, cause both did work and now they don't, while other programs shows up correctly even one I installed after the problem started with the other 2. Have no idea what to look for and where...

[edit]Clarifying that the programs themselves and right/left-clicking on the systray-icons works as expected. It's just the icons that doesn't show the correct image.

Last edited by shem (2013-08-22 12:38:34)

Offline

#479 2013-08-24 12:37:03

ohyran
#! Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2013-05-31
Posts: 80
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

Ok I have what I can only guess is a rather weird question - I've googled and checked wikis but have yet to find anything what so ever about it BUT I know it must be out there somewhere.

How do you create a tint2 that has more than one row? Do you have to have 2 tint2's or is there some simple method of doing this. Not just more size for the individual indicators but two or more rows of indicators.

Ok so my plan is to create a Tint2 which will be like a launcher. Thats easily done, there are simply ways to add a launcher. But I have an idea for like a sliding feature which would act as both the brilliant multi_desktop workspace indicator AND as a launcher but on another row.
Essentialy you push your pointer up to one edge and it pops out (auto_hide and follow_(is it "shape"?)) with the lower row showing a bar with say three desktops, like normal in #! and a top bar with launchers and system tray.

By using follow_size/shape it feels as if your desktop slides upwards/downwards to expose this machination beneath it (maybe, I hope, I don't know since I cant test it)

AND if you can't have two rows in one tint2 how much strain would it be on the system with two tint2's and is there some clever way of making both appear at the same time but one being pushed "downward" by the topmost one?

My plan is to sit down and experiment with the tint2 config file when I have the chance but I'm just swamped so I thought I should ask first if someone knows whether it will work or not before taking a day off doing it smile


>>>I draw pretty pictures for a living!<<<
>>>>>>>>>>>>#! Animal<<<<<<<<<<<<

Offline

#480 2013-08-24 12:52:25

rkwurth
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-09-04
Posts: 365

Re: Tint2 Help

Hey, to answer some of that,

I think you would need two tint 2s. It should not place any real strain on your system (I had a config where I was using 4 or 5 tint2s once). Good luck and post a screenshot or gif if you get it going!

Offline

#481 2013-08-24 22:00:38

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: Tint2 Help

I suppose this is the correct sub forum for this topic & post.
If not please move.
  After my recent  Sid

apt-get  update && apt-get dist-upgrade

  I began to have problems not before experienced with my tint2 panel.
I had done nothing to change the panel and tint2 did not Upgrade in version either.
Symptoms
1. tint2 &   very...v-e-r-y slow to appear on desktop
2. Once I switched to Desktop 2 or 3 or 4 then tint2 crashed
3. tint2 ..Even reloaded manually the issues persisted

I slowly began eliminating extra tray processes ..parcellite....voliti (VOLUME) ..battery (xfce4 PowerManager)
Nothing seemed to help
I then added tint2 to my Fluxbox DE on the same Sid install on which it ran perfectly.
This pointed away from tint2 and directly at OpenBox..
Solution: Although tint2 had been loaded at the same point by ~/.config/openbox/autostart for many months something had changed after the Update/Upgrade. The Solution was when loading an OpenBox DE to load tint2 high up in the autostart process.
Below are the top half (that is pertinent ) of the OpenBox autostart scripts Before and After.. After being the operative Solution..
Strange Days are These.. .The Doors

As you can see from the BEFORE shell that tint2 was experimented with by loading at the End, Middle and Beginning of the shell. The load at the very beginning in AFTER proved to work Best.

BEFORE

## Openbox autostart.sh
## ====================
## ====================
## Start session manager
lxsession &

## Enable power management
xfce4-power-manager &

## Start Thunar Daemon
thunar --daemon &

## Set desktop wallpaper
nitrogen --restore &

## Start idesk
#idesk &

## Launch panel
##fbpanel &
tint2 &
##xfce4-panel &

## Enable Eyecandy - off by default, uncomment one of the commands below.
## Note: cairo-compmgr prefers a sleep delay, else it tends to produce
## odd shadows/quirks around tint2 & Conky.
##(sleep 10s && cb-compmgr --cairo-compmgr) &
##cb-compmgr --xcompmgr -c & 
xcompmgr -CcfF &

## Launch network manager applet
##(sleep 4s && wicd-gtk -t) &
(sleep 3s && nm-applet) &

## Launch panel
##tint2 &
##fbpanel &
## Detect and configure touchpad. See 'man synclient' for more info.
if egrep -iq 'touchpad' /proc/bus/input/devices; then
    synclient VertEdgeScroll=1 &
    synclient TapButton1=1 &
fi

## Start xscreensaver
xscreensaver -no-splash &

## Start Conky after a slight delay
#(sleep 3s && conky -q) &

## Start volumeicon after a slight delay
(sleep 2s && volti) &

## Start Clipboard manager
(sleep 3s && parcellite) &

AFTER

## Openbox autostart.sh
## ====================
## ====================
## Start session manager
lxsession &

## Start Panel Taskbar Tray
(sleep 3 && tint2) &

## Enable power management
xfce4-power-manager &

## Start Thunar Daemon
thunar --daemon &

## Set desktop wallpaper
nitrogen --restore &

## Start idesk
#idesk &

## Launch panel
##fbpanel &
##tint2 &
##xfce4-panel &

## Enable Eyecandy - off by default, uncomment one of the commands below.
## Note: cairo-compmgr prefers a sleep delay, else it tends to produce
## odd shadows/quirks around tint2 & Conky.
##(sleep 10s && cb-compmgr --cairo-compmgr) &
##cb-compmgr --xcompmgr -c & 
xcompmgr -CcfF &

## Launch network manager applet
##(sleep 4s && wicd-gtk -t) &
(sleep 3s && nm-applet) &
## Launch panel
##tint2 &
##fbpanel &
## Detect and configure touchpad. See 'man synclient' for more info.
if egrep -iq 'touchpad' /proc/bus/input/devices; then
    synclient VertEdgeScroll=1 &
    synclient TapButton1=1 &
fi

## Start xscreensaver
xscreensaver -no-splash &

## Start Conky after a slight delay
#(sleep 3s && conky -q) &

## Start volumeicon after a slight delay
(sleep 2s && volti) &

## Start Clipboard manager
(sleep 3s && parcellite) &

Last edited by sqlpython (2013-08-24 23:48:24)


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#482 2013-08-24 23:47:33

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: Tint2 Help

Augghh
Still having problems on Fresh Boot but not logout and login.
So I added a delay in the script as tint2 is to load allowing other processes to settle.
3 Seconds and seems to have worked.
Changed line

tint2 &

to

(sleep 3 && tint2) &

I have adjusted the after Script in the first post to reflect this............


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#483 2013-08-26 11:33:05

observingly
#! Member
From: Manila, Philippines
Registered: 2013-01-13
Posts: 98
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

smile

Last edited by observingly (2013-08-26 13:08:49)


"You see, but you do not observe." -Sherlock Holmes

Offline

#484 2013-09-02 05:27:49

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Tint2 Help

Got a question for you smart guys:

I have a new laptop, and, as it seems to be the tendency lately, it doesn't have LED indicators for NUMLOCK and CAPS LOCK.

Is there a way to show the status of those keys on the systray?

Thanks in advance. smile

Offline

#485 2013-09-04 00:06:27

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Tint2 Help

Nevermind. Figured it out.  big_smile

Screenshot_09032013_08_49_37_PM.jpg

Like the old desktops: green for numlock, red for caps lock.

Thanks anyway.  big_smile

Offline

#486 2013-09-04 05:51:21

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: Tint2 Help

@Inodoro Pereyra
Like the SROT ... heh heh looks like you just about Conkied yourself to death... Impressive  cool


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#487 2013-09-04 09:11:19

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Tint2 Help

sqlpython wrote:

@Inodoro Pereyra
Like the SROT ... heh heh looks like you just about Conkied yourself to death... Impressive  cool

Well, thank you Sir!
Only 9 conkys, you know... Didn't want anybody to think I'm addicted, or sumthin'... tongue

Offline

#488 2013-09-14 12:35:43

mustlearnuse
Member
Registered: 2013-09-12
Posts: 23

Re: Tint2 Help

hey guys, i was wondering how i could remove the default volume icon that pops up from my tint2 as it's quite useless. it doesn't actually control any volume. i use the pulseaudio controls for volume. the system tray icon for it is just useless and i don't see it anywhere in my tint2 code

# BACKGROUND DEFINITIONS
	# ID 1 - PANEL
		rounded = 0
		border_width = 1
		background_color = #000000 85
		border_color = #000000 85

	# ID 2 - TASK (TRANSPARENT)
		rounded = 1
		border_width = 0
		background_color = #FEFFFF 0
		border_color = #000000 0

	# ID 3 - TASK ACTIVE
		rounded = 5
		border_width = 1
		background_color = #FFFFFF 20
		border_color = #FFFFFF 10

	# ID 4 - TASK URGENT
		rounded = 0
		border_width = 1
		background_color = #FF0000 20
		border_color = #FF0000 60

	# ID 5 - TASKBAR (TRANSPARENT)
		rounded = 0
		border_width = 0
		background_color = #FFFFFF 0
		border_color = #FFFFFF 0

	# ID 6 - TOOLTIP
		rounded = 0
		border_width = 0
		background_color = #000000 85
		border_color = #000000 0

# PANEL
	panel_monitor = all
	panel_position = top center horizontal
	panel_items = T
	panel_size = 100% 32
	panel_margin = 0 0
	panel_padding = 3 3
	panel_dock = 0
	wm_menu = 1
	panel_layer = bottom
	panel_background_id = 1

# PANEL AUTOHIDE
	autohide = 0
	autohide_show_timeout = 0.3
	autohide_hide_timeout = 1.5
	autohide_height = 6
	strut_policy = follow_size

# TASKBAR
	taskbar_mode = single_desktop
	taskbar_padding = 2 0
	taskbar_background_id = 5
	taskbar_active_background_id = 5

# TASKS
	urgent_nb_of_blink = 500
	task_icon = 0
	task_text = 1
	task_centered = 1
	task_maximum_size = 175 0
	task_padding = 20 3
	task_background_id = 5
	task_active_background_id = 3
	task_urgent_background_id = 4
	task_iconified_background_id = 2

# TASK ICONS
	task_icon_asb = 100 -100 -50
	task_active_icon_asb = 100 0 0
	task_urgent_icon_asb = 100 -100 -50
	task_iconified_icon_asb = 100 -100 -50

# FONTS & COLOUR
	task_font = Terminus 9
	task_font_color = #FFFFFF 75
	task_active_font_color = #B2D235 100
	task_urgent_font_color = #000000 80
	task_iconified_font_color = #FFFFFF 30
	font_shadow = 0

# TOOLTIPS
	tooltip = 1
	tooltip_padding = 2 2
	tooltip_show_timeout = 0.0
	tooltip_hide_timeout = 0.0
	tooltip_background_id = 6
	tooltip_font_color = #FFFFFF 100
	#tooltip_font = Silkscreen 6

# MOUSE
	mouse_middle = none
	mouse_right = toggle
	mouse_scroll_up = toggle
	mouse_scroll_down = iconify
# CLOCK
	time1_format = %a %b %d  / %I:%M %p
	time1_font = Terminus 9
	clock_font_color = #FFFFFF 100
	clock_padding = 10 0
	clock_background_id = 2
	clock_lclick_command = gsimplecal

# SYSTEM TRAY
	systray = 1
	systray_padding = 2
	systray_sort = right2left
	systray_background_id = 2
	systray_icon_size = 20
	systray_icon_asb = 100 0 0

Offline

#489 2013-09-16 13:05:38

Rutz
#! Member
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 87

Re: Tint2 Help

Hey Guys.

If I start #! on my Laptop and I'm clicking on the tint2 menu, the systraybar disappears. If I click again, it's appearing again.
But if I restart tint2 it works fine and nothing disappears.

systray_padding = 4 2 3
systray_background_id = 1


while :; do eject -T; sleep 5; done
Unreliable Cup Holder

Offline

#490 2013-09-16 13:27:18

ONEr
Member
From: Turkey/Bursa
Registered: 2013-04-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

waldorf  tnt2, for GTK2... İnstall GTK2


textil-industrial designer-economy

Offline

#491 2013-09-17 11:28:49

Rutz
#! Member
Registered: 2012-12-26
Posts: 87

Re: Tint2 Help

GTK2 is installed


while :; do eject -T; sleep 5; done
Unreliable Cup Holder

Offline

#492 2013-09-17 12:50:06

ONEr
Member
From: Turkey/Bursa
Registered: 2013-04-28
Posts: 10
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

Tint2-dbg | remove, this old


textil-industrial designer-economy

Offline

#493 2013-09-20 18:59:27

joshuar9476
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 35

Re: Tint2 Help

Is it possible to add a second clock? I'd like the clock to be on the left and the date to be on the right. I know you can add a second "C" to the panel_items, and it puts a blank space there, but adding another # Clock does nothing. any advice?


Individuality: Always remember that you are unique. Just like everybody else.

Offline

#494 2013-09-20 23:55:24

mustlearnuse
Member
Registered: 2013-09-12
Posts: 23

Re: Tint2 Help

joshuar9476 wrote:

Is it possible to add a second clock? I'd like the clock to be on the left and the date to be on the right. I know you can add a second "C" to the panel_items, and it puts a blank space there, but adding another # Clock does nothing. any advice?


I am not conky wiz, but i am pretty sure you can only have one clock and the clock will always be on the right side, just like the system tray will always be on the right side.


also does anybody know how to get rid of the volume icon in tint2?

Offline

#495 2013-09-21 02:03:29

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Tint2 Help

^ you can change the order of panel_items in the tint2rc to put the clock and/or system tray on the left if you want

for example -

panel_items = TSC

or

panel_items = CTS

running two instances of tint2 is the only way I know of to have two clocks.

Last edited by PackRat (2013-09-21 02:07:29)


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#496 2013-09-21 05:41:34

joshuar9476
Member
Registered: 2013-06-23
Posts: 35

Re: Tint2 Help

PackRat wrote:

running two instances of tint2 is the only way I know of to have two clocks.

That's what I thought ... just wanted to see if anyone knew of a way. Thanks.


Individuality: Always remember that you are unique. Just like everybody else.

Offline

#497 2013-09-21 17:54:33

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Tint2 Help

^ Unless there is an undocumented way to add an additional clock section in the tint2rc. I've never heard of one.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#498 2013-09-23 02:02:30

mustlearnuse
Member
Registered: 2013-09-12
Posts: 23

Re: Tint2 Help

Anybody know how to remove the volume icon from tint2 IF it's possible?

i still can't seem to figure it out

Offline

#499 2013-09-23 02:12:13

lurka
Member
Registered: 2012-04-20
Posts: 47

Re: Tint2 Help

One way would be to edit ~/.config/openbox/autostart and comment out " (sleep 2s && pnmixer) & "
That'll prevent the application from starting.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#500 2013-09-25 06:35:42

pautomagi
New Member
Registered: 2013-09-23
Posts: 3

Re: Tint2 Help

My tint2 wont appear at all. Removed and purged it several times. The process is running but nothing appears.

pypanel and lxpanel works fine. Running 3 monitors but i have tried configuring for one and no change.

Any ideas were to start ?

Thanks


edit: I think it is there. I can change windows if click around down there. So, now i only need it to show.

Last edited by pautomagi (2013-09-25 07:50:36)


Lurker...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo