SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-05 18:06:35

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

[SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

When I access Thunar for the first time on a fresh boot on Waldorf It takes
about 35 seconds to open and then opens a second window automatically about 15 seconds later.
Thunar opens just fine after the initial attempt.

Any suggestions on what could be causing this?

Last edited by falldown (2012-05-05 19:09:06)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-05-05 18:19:37

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

That's interesting, as it should have been fixed since Statler. Must be the bug in gvfs-backends

sudo apt-get remove gvfs-backends

Try this, reboot, start thunar. If it still happens, reinstall gvfs-backends. In this case the reason is something else.


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#3 2012-05-05 18:26:03

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

Thank you MB
I found another fix a few seconds ago..

geany /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount

and change AutoMount=true to AutoMount=false.

Which would you suggest?

Offline

#4 2012-05-05 18:26:57

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

I have noticed this too, but I have not been unable to replicate it with any type of accuracy, which makes debugging difficult. It would be good to know what is happening.


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#5 2012-05-05 18:31:00

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

corenominal wrote:

I have noticed this too, but I have not been unable to replicate it with any type of accuracy, which makes debugging difficult. It would be good to know what is happening.

Oddly enough opening Thunar in terminal works fine.. I was hoping it would throw an error out.

Offline

#6 2012-05-05 18:36:35

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

Just for future troubleshooting, the reference:
http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=6878


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#7 2012-05-05 18:39:07

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

machinebacon wrote:
sudo apt-get remove gvfs-backends

After 2 fresh boots Thunar loaded all snappy.. minus the second window.
Cool Beans!!
Thanks MB!

EDIT Thanks for the link.. Am I right in saying that gvfs is used for file sharing over a network?

Last edited by falldown (2012-05-05 18:47:30)

Offline

#8 2012-05-05 18:43:41

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

machinebacon wrote:

Just for future troubleshooting, the reference:
http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?id=6878

Thanks for sharing! smile


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#9 2012-05-10 02:55:34

King_of_spirals
Member
Registered: 2011-05-13
Posts: 42

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

I had the same issue and changing the "network.mount" file fixed the issue for me.

But there is still a hang when clicking and mounting networks. Sounds like thats the problem. So recreating the issue might be dependant on having other computers on a network?

Offline

#10 2012-09-11 01:45:37

s33ker
Member
From: Misourri, USA
Registered: 2012-08-21
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

I had the same issue.

Removing the gvfs-backends and a reboot, problem solved.

Once again, thanks guys. smile Its a nice community.


It's hard to remember your main objective was to drain the swamp, when you are up to you ass in alligators.

Offline

#11 2013-03-11 19:21:04

ZJR
New Member
From: Flint, MI, USA
Registered: 2012-11-12
Posts: 7

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

Yessssssss thank you this has been terribly annoying...


Ignis pepercit, unda mergit, aeris
Vis pestilentis æquori ereptum necat,
Bello superstes, tabidus morbo perit

Offline

#12 2013-04-04 23:56:28

ghicksrn
New Member
Registered: 2011-09-25
Posts: 9

Re: [SOLVED] A Thunar issue..

I know the OP solved his problem, but I also know others like me will read this for a solution as well.
I lost too much for my taste when I took out gvfs-backends. My /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount was aleady set with Automount=false. I was seeing 35 second times to open Thunar the first time after a fresh boot. I also had a second window open about 15 seconds later.
My solution was to edit /usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount.distrib and set Automount from =true to =false.
Now I get 3 to 4 second open times for Thunar. If I need network shares mounted, I can. However, when mounting the network shares, I get 35 to 40 seconds delay. That's a good trade-off for me.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo