SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-30 08:57:00

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi Folks

I have been trying to install DropBox from the dropdown menue but it does not appear to work. Is there something wrong or do I have to use another method ?. smile

I also think that I have been posting in the wrong section for which I do appoligise. sad
I have been posting in testint/unstable but as I am using waldorf testing I think I should be posting here. Hope I have it right now smile

Last edited by Gordon (2012-08-07 06:47:18)


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-07-30 09:18:20

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Gordon wrote:

Hi Folks

I have been trying to install DropBox from the dropdown menue but it does not appear to work. Is there something wrong or do I have to use another method ?. smile

Please could you provide more information. What happens when you attempt the install?


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#3 2012-07-30 22:03:01

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi corenominal

All that happens when I use the dropdown menu is tha a box appears with a progress bar in it and a cancel button, after that it just sits there and nothing happens


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#4 2012-07-30 22:14:10

swftech
#! CrunchBanger
From: SW Florida
Registered: 2012-06-08
Posts: 106
Website

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

You can install Dropbox using terminal...

32-bit:
cd ~ && wget -O - "https://www.dropbox.com/download?plat=lnx.x86" | tar xzf -

64-bit:
cd ~ && wget -O - "https://www.dropbox.com/download?plat=lnx.x86_64" | tar xzf -

Now run Dropbox from the newly created .dropbox-dist folder.
~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd

You should now be greeted by the Dropbox dialogue.

Or go to www.dropbox.com/install and download the latest package and install that.

Last edited by swftech (2012-07-30 22:21:51)

Offline

#5 2012-07-31 06:37:13

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi swftech

I tried the 32 bit command you said use and get the following

--2012-07-31 07:29:58--  (try: 3)  https://www.dropbox.com/download?plat=lnx.x86
Connecting to www.dropbox.com (www.dropbox.com)|199.47.217.171|:443... connected.
HTTP request sent, awaiting response... Read error (The request is invalid.) in headers.
Retrying.

and then finishes with ( after a while )

gzip: stdin: unexpected end of file
tar: Child returned status 1
tar: Error is not recoverable: exiting now

so I will now try the .deb file from dropbox smile


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#6 2012-07-31 07:05:33

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi

Well I tried the debian .deb file from dropbox and that will not run allthough I can find dropbox in the bin folder.

When it was installing it mentioned something to do with nautilus but I have no idea if I have that on my system. I certainly have not installed it myself


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#7 2012-07-31 07:51:46

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi Folks,

Well I did a search on DropBox and found corenominals how to and tried that but with no luck so I tried Z-obsolete Dropbox (English) and have had no luck there either on the latter I get the following when using

touch ~/bin/nautilus && chmod +x ~/bin/nautilus && gedit ~/bin/nautilus &

it replies with

touch: cannot touch `/root/bin/nautilus': No such file or directory

even though I have installed nautilus. any ideas why ? sad


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#8 2012-08-05 06:51:19

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi Folks,

Well I am still having trouble installing dropbox. so far I have tried corenominals how to and Z-obsolete Dropbox (English) how to . I have purged them several times and repeated them several times with no luck. the only bit of Z-obsolete Dropbox (English) how to that I haven't tried is the thunar bit because I cant find the Settings - Sessions and Startup - Application Autostart: in thunar. Can anyone think of anything else I can try as the two howto's that I have tried don't seem to work for me, ofcourse I can well be doing something wrong. smile


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#9 2012-08-06 00:27:30

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

The autostart in Thunar is ahodden file, Ctr + h will show them.

Then look for autostart. Maybe this folder is in ~/.config.

Offline

#10 2012-08-06 08:19:09

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi ivanovnegro

Thanks for that bit I am sorry to say that I still can't find it.

In the

file system  .config I can find 

accels.sch
thunarrc
uca.xml

In the

root .config I can find

accels.scm
thunarrc

and in

 usr/bin I can find

Thunar
thunar
thunar-settings
thunar-volman
thunar-volman-settings

but I can't find any mention of

Settings - Sessions and Startup - Application Autostart

anywhere sad

Is there somewhere that I have missed ? smile


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#11 2012-08-06 10:48:02

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 727

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

at least in statler the autostart is

 ~/.config/openbox/autostart 

grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

#12 2012-08-06 17:42:21

safetycopy
urban legend
From: The Chatsubo
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1,311

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

I always install Dropbox by following the "Install Dropbox via command line" instructions from https://www.dropbox.com/install?os=lnx.

To get the daemon to autostart, you just add

~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd &

to your ~/.config/openbox/autostart file.


i wonder if i missed the warning
Skinny Puppy, Love in Vein

Offline

#13 2012-08-06 19:17:49

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi Folks

dkeg, I found the openbox autostart menu but thought I was looking for something else.

safetycopy  That has been in my autostart for ages, here is a copy of what I have in it

#Just in case some random app calls on Nautilus, lets set some safeguards to minimise the impact:
# Disable Nautilus desktop, because we really really do not want it!
gconftool-2 -s -t bool /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_desktop false &
# Do not let Nautilus set the background, because we really really do not want this either.
gconftool-2 -s -t bool /desktop/gnome/background/draw_background false &
# Make Nautilus use spatial mode, should start-up quicker.
gconftool-2 -s -t bool /apps/nautilus/preferences/always_use_browser false &
# Make Nautilus show the advanced permissions dialog -- if it has to start, lets at least make it usable :) 
gconftool-2 -s -t bool /apps/nautilus/preferences/show_advanced_permissions true &
# And finally...
# ...start dropbox daemon, but give it a minute so we can establish a net connection.
(sleep 60s && ~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd) &

copied from Z-obsolete Dropbox (English) how to, still does not work smile


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#14 2012-08-06 19:30:56

safetycopy
urban legend
From: The Chatsubo
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 1,311

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

What happens if you try to start dropboxd from a terminal?

~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd

i wonder if i missed the warning
Skinny Puppy, Love in Vein

Offline

#15 2012-08-07 06:46:34

Gordon
#! CrunchBanger
From: Blackpool, Lancashire, UK
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 238

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

Hi Folks

For some reason or other, I no not what, Dropbox started up when I logged on just now so hopefully it will no keep working. So for the time being I will mark it as solved.

Thanks to one and all for your assistance it is very much appreciated indeed smile


Cheers smile smile
Gordon
Using Janice Testing at present also sid and systemd and  VSIDO
A7N8X delux motherboard, 1 GB ram, AMD ATHLON XP 2800+ ( 2255 Mhz ), Nvidia Geforce PNY 62000 graphics card

Offline

#16 2013-02-13 23:56:09

CoolRabbit
New Member
Registered: 2013-02-12
Posts: 4

Re: DropBox [ SOLVED ]

safetycopy wrote:

I always install Dropbox by following the "Install Dropbox via command line" instructions from https://www.dropbox.com/install?os=lnx.

To get the daemon to autostart, you just add

~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd &

to your ~/.config/openbox/autostart file.


--- THIS is what worked ... and THEN the ~/bin/nautilus mockup in the other post.

.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo