SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-05-21 18:27:27

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

[Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Disclaimer:
I thought to post this thread @ Testing/Unstable as it is about a Sid install (Siduction) but then again it is not a CrunchBang#! install...
However My CrunchBang#! install does have GDM3 and a solution here may be of help now and in the future for others and myself..
Hopefully, someone here will have an idea as how to proceed.. thanks in advance.................................

Here is my post in full from Siduction where it has been viewed over 70 times without Comment.

Siduction upgraded..
Xfce4.8
gdm3
towo 3.3-6

With the event of version 12.1 seems I had a lot of updates when I checked into synaptics.
So, I updated all that was available... maybe not a good idea   
and I believe that there were about 179

Anyway, I did a pcgrub update and so I could Add towo's 3.3-6 kernel and booted in.. the boot went withour errors.
However, I was dropped into a black screen after boot..So, to log into my Xfce4 desktop I had to Ctrl-Alt-F1 to a new Terminal then login as user and finally
      Code:

startxfce4

Anyway, No gdm3/lightdm as before..
So, reinstall of gdm3/lightdm didn't work and I had to
      Code:

apt-get remove lightdm

      Code:

 dpkg-reconfigure gdm3

(and I choose gdm3 this time)

apt-get install lightdm

...
Maybe I should have also removed gdm3..don't know..??

Bottome line I got back the GUI logon manager working BUT....
Without a Background Wallpaper..JUST BLACK..
I have been Googling and searching for a solution but can't seem to get the GUI logon to display a Wallpaper..

How can I get the logon Wallpaper (siducton-Beyond is OK) to appear??
Thanks for any ideas..

Last edited by sqlpython (2012-05-24 17:24:13)


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-05-21 20:20:04

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Ok, first I do not use GDM3 and I would also like to ask why do you want to use GDM instead of LightDM, just curious?

Offline

#3 2012-05-21 21:58:32

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

^ and I may Go Back to lightdm..
the original Siduction came with lightdm but then changed to gdm3..so just putting back the pieces from whence they fell.
..I also changed my Statler to gdm3 seems to be OK..


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#4 2012-05-22 13:46:35

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Well, this thread is on it's way to 45 looks and no ideas......not a good sign but the interest is appreciated..

Apparently, and my Googling supports this, gdm3 backgrounds are a difficult issue for most people.
I have noted many many offered solutions which should have worked for thread authors but just don't work.

...I attempted to remove gdm3 and reinstall lightdm many many times but it just refuses to take up residence.
Leads me to wonder, what else is broke on this Siduction install?
May lead to a reinstall if I want all working perectly...
As is many times the way of it, I could have had it reinstalled in the time I have spent posting multiple threads, searching and attempting solutions...
..Ahh, well.. smile


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#5 2012-05-22 15:38:42

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

No idea and I guess no one uses GDM3 here. big_smile

But maybe we can solve the problem to not being possible to revert to LightDM? Is that also your problem?
AFAIK, when you install LightDM and you have GDM installed, it will automatically ask you what DM to use by default after install.

Offline

#6 2012-05-22 15:44:15

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Hello,

try, as root, from tty:

service gdm3 start
or
service lightdm start

Depending on which you have installed. I am running siduction 2012.1 with gdm3, so it does work smile

Edit: ah, I see. You need the gdm background?

apt-get install siduction-art-gdm-onestepbeyond

Last edited by machinebacon (2012-05-22 15:45:31)


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#7 2012-05-22 16:44:46

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

THanks for the Replies......

@ivanovnegro
... Yes Already tried that tact numerous times with...

dpkg-reconfigure gdm3

which will reconfigure gdm3 and ask to choose gdm3 or lightdm... didn't have any effect.

@machinebacon

 apt-get install siduction-art-gdm-onestepbeyond

Thanks but that is already installed... maybe a reinstall of the package will help...


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#8 2012-05-22 17:20:29

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Anyway, the portion you want to edit/change/add in /etc/gdm3/greeter.gconf-defaults

[org.gnome.desktop.background]
picture-uri='file:///your/path/to/the.jpg'
picture-options='zoom'

after this, dpkg-reconfigure gdm3

I just wonder why that gdm-theme is already installed, actually it should be 'out' because it's gdm and not gdm3, and it would break. Nevermind big_smile


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#9 2012-05-23 20:17:36

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

^ Really don't know why..
Anyway here is my plan
I am probably going for a reinstall of Siduction at this point as nothing I do will regain a BackGround nor a theme for gdm3 or lightdm..What a pain..
This is probably somehow my fault not the Update nor the Upgrade.
As my wife has convinced me over the years that "Everything is My Fault"
...I am considering an install of Siduction 12.1 over my existing data in an attempt to preserve some of it..but that may fail..
To help me, I will rename the Download from Desperado to Desperation ...
If I had not loaded up this partition with so many development tools..including SDKs I really would not have cared.(but that is on me)..
I never have done an install of that type. I always clean the partition.

I can live with the install by starting the Xfce4 from the commandline but.. you have to wonder if anything else is broke..

So far from a CLI I have ...and nothing has helped the DM situation.

apt-get update

apt-get -f update

apt-get -f install

dpkg --configure -a

apt-get update

apt-get purge lightdm

apt-get purge gdm3

apt-get clean && apt-get update

apt-get upgrade
reboot

apt-get update

apt-get install gdm3

dpkg-reconfigure gdm3

reboot

OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#10 2012-05-23 20:26:17

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

There's nothing broken, really.

You should do this, in my opinion:

Log out from an X session, and drop to tty. there you shut down the services for gdm3 or lightdm, depending on which is actually running:

su
service gdm3 stop
service lightdm stop

as next, we remove both and purge them.

apt-get purge gdm3
apt-get purge lightdm

As next you can decide if/which login manager you want to use.

apt-get install xdm

is an ugly one, but works. It was designed for xfce4 those days.

dpkg-reconfigure xdm

will make it the first choice. You can then (I think)

service xdm start

and you will be greeted with a default, but clean and working xdm in which you enter username and password

Don't worry, the login manager probably has not broken anything under the hood.


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#11 2012-05-24 02:11:39

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

@machinebacon
  Thanks for all the input...
I didn't want to mention in earlier posts but in frustration yesterday I installed XDM and it does work.
However, Xdm has the same issues in this particular Siduction install as gdm3 and lightdm..
Also I had Purged gdm3 and lightdm before the XDM install...

1.. No Background color nor image Just a Terminal tty BLACK..
2.. When you click the Xfce4 logout panel button NO Logout/Shutdown/Restart Widget..
......Bang you are thrown immediately into the Logon Widget of the Particular DM you logged in with.

PLus with XDM doesn't seem to be a way to choose other D environments I have LXDE
PLus this XDM Widget is HUGE.. covers half the Screen..Ponderously Ugly...gdm3 looks better.
.......I read the XDM docs and attempted to adjust the size and Background but No Response..

I came to Xfce and lightDM and gdm about 1 yr ago.. Prior to that my Xfce installs were a run also on my KDE desktops.. I had run KDE since version beta 0.99..which I downloaded onto floppy disks and then installed over my FVWM Desktop.. just always was a KDE user..seemed more like OS/2 for whence I came.
I never have had a problem altering KDM always obedient and Compliant..Backgrounds, Themes and such..

  Any other ideas.. I am open.. smile

Edit: BTW..I don't believe that any of the  Logon Managers have broken anything either.
............What I am starting to think is that the broken install is effecting the Logon Managers.

Last edited by sqlpython (2012-05-24 02:14:45)


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#12 2012-05-24 17:26:14

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 931

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Well, solved if you want a gdm/lightdm/xdm work around..
but for some this is the Only way to Fly...
KDM

I really didn't want to add 50 to 70mb of kde libs but....
this did the job Wallpaper Radio buttons and All..
  All Hail KDE..
....... big_smile   that ought to start a riot here

My moves to OpenBox and Xfce4 during the past year were my attempts to return to a Lighter, faster less fluff DE.. and I did/Have..
I am going to continue using Xfce and/or OpenBox on all my installs but this Siduction will remain as is until reinstall,  as my Sole KMD logon Manager..w/ Xfce4
Looks good and Works!
Plus in my years of using kde 1999 to 2011 I was always able to easily configure any part of it, including KDM..

Last edited by sqlpython (2012-05-24 17:30:21)


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1Slackware 14Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#13 2012-05-24 18:04:34

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: [Solved] GDM3 no background Image!

Well at least something!

siduction is a very KDE/XFCE distro, so the order is restored again smile

Have a good day smile


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo