SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#901 2012-04-11 17:01:46

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Nice setup S11!!
Took me a second to discover what trash you took out!! lol

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#902 2012-04-11 18:34:35

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown wrote:

Nice setup S11!!
Took me a second to discover what trash you took out!! lol

I told my wife I took the garbage out!
She got this really weird look on her face and said: "When?"  lol


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#903 2012-04-12 18:42:46

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Peachy's cool conky panel
1ff73d184620269.jpg
With a slight redesign.

Offline

#904 2012-04-12 19:14:26

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Here is my deadbeef conky setup which I just added control buttons to thanks to mrpeachy's interactive conky scripts.
a0081d184620094.jpg
There are alot of files that make it work so you can download them here.
The download includes instructions on setting everything up if you want to use it.

Offline

#905 2012-04-12 19:48:40

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown wrote:

Peachy's cool conky panel
1ff73d184620269.jpg
With a slight redesign.

do you know why you have 2 blank open window indicators?
very nice by the way smile

Last edited by mrpeachy (2012-04-12 19:49:21)

Offline

#906 2012-04-12 19:53:33

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

do you know why you have 2 blank open window indicators?
very nice by the way smile

lol I have no clue why I have 2 "untitled" windows open at all times.
(didn't ask cause I assumed it was a "hidden function that I had yet discovered") lol

..and thank you. smile

Offline

#907 2012-04-12 20:07:29

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown wrote:
mrpeachy wrote:

do you know why you have 2 blank open window indicators?
very nice by the way smile

lol I have no clue why I have 2 "untitled" windows open at all times.
(didn't ask cause I assumed it was a "hidden function that I had yet discovered") lol

..and thank you. smile

what do you get from

wmctrl -lp

in the terminal?

Offline

#908 2012-04-12 20:09:57

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown@vaio:~$ wmctrl -lp
0x00e00004 -1 0       N/A tint2
0x01e00003  0 1756   vaio falldown@vaio: ~
0x01000003  0 1542   vaio v9000 - File Manager
0x02400094  0 2798   vaio The New Monster Conky Thread (Page 37) - Tips, Tricks & Scripts - CrunchBang Linux Forums - Iceweasel

and here is nothing open, but terminal.

falldown@vaio:~$ wmctrl -lp
0x00e00004 -1 0       N/A tint2
0x01a00001 -1 0      vaio system
0x02400003  0 6853   vaio falldown@vaio: ~

Last edited by falldown (2012-04-12 20:16:14)

Offline

#909 2012-04-12 20:17:41

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

try commenting out a couple of lines starting at 491
so it looks like this:

local title=string.sub(line,23+(string.len(system_name)),string.len(line))
--local s,f=string.find(title,"-%s")
--if s~=nil then title=string.sub(title,1,s-1) else title=title end
table.insert(open_title,title)
--end

and see what comes up in those windows

then you can add the ones you dont want to always see to the exclude table

Last edited by mrpeachy (2012-04-12 20:19:59)

Offline

#910 2012-04-12 20:24:36

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Commenting lines out gives me

Conky: llua_load: /home/falldown/v9000/launchertext.lua:884: 'end' expected (to close 'function' at line 27) near '<eof>'
Conky: desktop window (15a) is root window
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x1a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_main execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
xdotool: no process found

Offline

#911 2012-04-12 20:29:31

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown wrote:

Commenting lines out gives me

Conky: llua_load: /home/falldown/v9000/launchertext.lua:884: 'end' expected (to close 'function' at line 27) near '<eof>'
Conky: desktop window (15a) is root window
Conky: window type - normal
Conky: drawing to created window (0x1a00001)
Conky: drawing to double buffer
Conky: llua_do_call: function conky_main execution failed: attempt to call a nil value
xdotool: no process found

ah, i shouldnt have commented out that last end in the above post

local title=string.sub(line,23+(string.len(system_name)),string.len(line))
--local s,f=string.find(title,"-%s")
--if s~=nil then title=string.sub(title,1,s-1) else title=title end
table.insert(open_title,title)
end--dont comment out!

Last edited by mrpeachy (2012-04-12 20:30:22)

Offline

#912 2012-04-12 20:35:57

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Yea I still have 2 blank windows open..
Tint2 is one of them.. and hopefully I won't be using it soon.

Offline

#913 2012-04-12 21:25:41

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

around line 484 ive made this addition that should remove the proc 0 error

for line in f:lines() do
    local id=tonumber(string.sub(line,1,10))
    table.insert(open_id,id)
    local pid=tonumber(string.sub(line,15,20))
    table.insert(open_pid,pid)
    --local state=conky_parse("${pid_state "..pid.."}")
    --table.insert(open_state,state)
    --local rss=conky_parse("${pid_vmrss "..pid.."}")
    --table.insert(open_rss,rss)
--addition to remove proc 0 error #####################
    if pid==0 then 
    exe=""
    else
    exe=conky_parse("${pid_exe "..pid.."}")
    end
--end addition to remove proc 0 error ##################
    local f,s,c=string.find(exe,".*/(.*)")
    if f~=nil then
    table.insert(open_exe,c)
    else
    table.insert(open_exe,exe)
    end
    local title=string.sub(line,22+(string.len(system_name)),string.len(line))
    --local s,f=string.find(title,"-%s")
    --if s~=nil then title=string.sub(title,1,s-1) else title=title end
    table.insert(open_title,title)
end--for loop

or maybe it would be better just to have windows with pid=0 to be ignored automatically

Last edited by mrpeachy (2012-04-12 21:49:54)

Offline

#914 2012-04-12 22:09:40

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

OK, while you two are playing "panel magic" I'd like to interrupt the regular programming and ask a question of mrpeachy - again.

I have a 10day v9000 weather conky
9a3b9e178900245.jpg
Notice the crisp images and the LUA background.
I have my side conky (seen below) - notice the same thing.
Everything working as advertised.  Now ... the problem.

The super background LUA script. - a conky with no images and it works great.

With images ... they get washed out, dark AND the background blinks off-on when a window is moved over it. ---> blink1.ogv <--> has this setup:

###  LUA Settings  ###########################################################
## Above and After TEXT - requires a composite manager or blinks.
##
# lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua
#TEXT
#${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.6}
#
## ${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}
##
## OR Both above TEXT (No composite manager required - no blinking!)
#
lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua
#lua_draw_hook_post draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4
#lua_draw_hook_pre draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4
#
## Calling the weather script
#
# lua_load ~/v9000/v9000.lua
# lua_draw_hook_post weather
# lua_load ~/Conky/templates/S11_V9_R-template.lua
#
#starts the lua weather data gathering function, call once at top of conkyrc
##
#######################################################  End LUA Settings  ###


# The all important - How often conky refreshes.
# If you have a "Crey" try: 0.2 - smokin' - but watch the CPU useage go UP!
update_interval 1

default_bar_size 80 6

TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}${hr}

The images are crisp, clear, but the blinking on and off of the background is driving me nuts.

Now lets look at the same type of setup for the 10day weather, and my side conky that runs v9000 weather & the background where images are nice - not perfect but very acceptable.  Everything happens above TEXT:

###  LUA Settings  ###########################################################
## Above and After TEXT - requires a composite manager or blinks.
##
# lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua
#TEXT
#${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.6}
#
## ${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}
##
## OR Both above TEXT (No composite manager required - no blinking!)
#
lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua
lua_draw_hook_pre draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.5
#
## Calling the weather script
#
 lua_load ~/v9000/v9000.lua
 lua_draw_hook_post weather
 lua_load ~/Conky/templates/S11_V9_R-template.lua

#
#starts the lua weather data gathering function, call once at top of conkyrc
##
#######################################################  End LUA Settings  ###
### Yes I still use it!
### ARBA0009  Buenos Aires, Argentina
### ARDF0127  Aeroparque Buenos Aires, Argentina

# The all important - How often conky refreshes.
# If you have a "Crey" try: 0.2 - smokin' - but watch the CPU useage go UP!
update_interval 1

TEXT

aam256q0.jpg<->aaoQGuru.jpg<->aacwFvII.jpg<->aamOSeRR.jpg

So my point is, if putting:

${image ~/path/to/image.png -p 0,0 -s 50x50}

in a conky and using the background code totally above TEXT washes it out but is "solid"

and

#
lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw-bg.lua

TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}${hr}

... has crips clear images BUT BLINKS

So the question is ... can the v9000 script be reduced down to a "v9" script that simply calls images template?

I have tried, looking at the images function in the v9000 script starting at:

function image(im) --##############################################

--- I think counting mosquitoes in the Amazon would be easier.

I checked out various forms of:

conky_parse(${image ~/path/to/image.png -p 0,0 -s 50x50})

with no luck.

I'm certain a "v9" + template combo will work because I already use:

-- 1st hour
out({c=0xA4FFA4,x=220,y=50,txt=now["fc_hour1_time_24"]..":00"})
image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=55,file=now["fc_hour1_wicon"]}) -- image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=55,file="/home/sector11/Conky/images/red-1.png"})
out({x=228,y=100,txt=now["fc_hour1_temp"] .."°"})
-- 2nd hour
out({c=0xA4FFA4,x=220,y=datay+(datayy*1),txt=now["fc_hour2_time_24"]..":00"})
image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=130,file=now["fc_hour2_wicon"]}) -- image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=130,file="/home/sector11/Conky/images/red-1.png"})
out({x=228,y=180,txt=now["fc_hour2_temp"] .."°"})
-- 3rd hour
out({c=0xA4FFA4,x=220,y=210,txt=now["fc_hour3_time_24"]..":00"})
image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=215,file=now["fc_hour3_wicon"]}) -- image({w=30,h=30,x=223,y=215,file="/home/sector11/Conky/images/red-1.png"})

--- my own images for testing.

Last edited by Sector11 (2012-04-12 22:10:55)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#915 2012-04-12 22:31:54

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

around line 484 ive made this addition that should remove the proc 0 error
or maybe it would be better just to have windows with pid=0 to be ignored automatically

Ok Peachy that removed the /proc/0 message.
Now for the pid=0

Offline

#916 2012-04-12 22:36:54

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

im sure you have had other conkies using the lua background called below text and conkyrc images... has anything changed to cause the blinking?

Offline

#917 2012-04-12 22:50:08

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

S11
You could load the image within the v9000.lua

image({x=number,y=number,w=38,h=37,file="/path/to/backgroundimage.png"})

Just put it  above your first out function.

Last edited by falldown (2012-04-12 22:52:46)

Offline

#918 2012-04-12 22:53:59

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

im sure you have had other conkies using the lua background called below text and conkyrc images... has anything changed to cause the blinking?

I checked with my deadbeef conky and it is blinks as well.
All the lua objects (background shading image and buttons) blink on and off when a window is dragged over the conky window.

using conky -D i get this and conky goes from about 0.4% cpu used to 6.5%.

findclient: 12584413
findclient: 25165980
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
starting deadbeef devel
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [conky.c:2401]: evaluated '${updates}' to '7'
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [conky.c:2401]: evaluated '${if_running deadbeef-main}1${else}0${endif}' to '1'
findclient: 13145645
findclient: 25603069
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
starting deadbeef devel
starting deadbeef devel
starting deadbeef devel
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [conky.c:2401]: evaluated '${updates}' to '8'
DEBUG(1) [core.c:1225]: no templates to replace
DEBUG(1) [conky.c:2401]: evaluated '${if_running deadbeef-main}1${else}0${endif}' to '1'
findclient: 13145645
findclient: 25603069
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)
starting deadbeef devel

The large block of

DEBUG(0) [imlib2.c:190]: Drawing image '/tmp/deadbeef-coverart.png' at (514,0) scaled to 106x106, caching interval set to 0 (with -n opt 1)

happens when a window is draged over the conky window.
Conky seems to be redrawing anything in an ${image } like mad as that block is from at most a 2 second period and the image should only be redrawn every second with my settings.

Offline

#919 2012-04-12 23:05:08

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@arclance

I believe the image blinking has to do with

own_window_type

in conky.

Offline

#920 2012-04-12 23:19:20

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

falldown wrote:

@arclance
I believe the image blinking has to do with

own_window_type

in conky.

None of the ones I could use for this conky fixed it.
Desktop has the blinking problem and the buttons do not work.
Normal has the blinking problem and the buttons work.
Override does not work, nothing is displayed .
And I don't want to use dock or panel with this conky.

Changing the ${image } to be drawn with lua makes it blink with all the other lua objects.

@mrpeachy
Do you think this could be caused by the

if updates>5 then

preventing the lua scripts from being run when conky redraws the conky window at a time different than the regular update interval so it can only draw the non-obscured parts of the window?

Last edited by arclance (2012-04-12 23:33:37)

Offline

#921 2012-04-12 23:42:22

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

that line

if updates>5 then

is there to prevent a segmentation fault if you were to try and use conky_parse("${cpu}") or variants of

this is a hard one for me to investigate as i just dont experience the blinking behaviour on my system

there are many variables... compositing may have something to do with it

and it seems that sector11 only gets it when running the lua scripts below TEXT using the ${lua} object
and since this is how i have the interactive buttons set up, then that could explain the similar behaviour

i can think of a possible way to integrate the button scripts and have them run in a similar way, but keeping the lua stuff above TEXT... ill see what i can do, but that might not be till later

Offline

#922 2012-04-12 23:49:01

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

this is a hard one for me to investigate as i just dont experience the blinking behaviour on my system

there are many variables... compositing may have something to do with it

Yea Peachy if I disable my composite manager then my conky window blinks when a window is moved over it, but I had forgotten that I had that issue before. smile

Last edited by falldown (2012-04-12 23:51:31)

Offline

#923 2012-04-12 23:49:45

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

mrpeachy wrote:

that line

if updates>5 then

is there to prevent a segmentation fault if you were to try and use conky_parse("${cpu}") or variants of

this is a hard one for me to investigate as i just dont experience the blinking behaviour on my system

there are many variables... compositing may have something to do with it

and it seems that sector11 only gets it when running the lua scripts below TEXT using the ${lua} object
and since this is how i have the interactive buttons set up, then that could explain the similar behaviour

i can think of a possible way to integrate the button scripts and have them run in a similar way, but keeping the lua stuff above TEXT... ill see what i can do, but that might not be till later

I am using Fluxbox, no compositing set up (it is possible).
I also tried having one of the images draw before the "if updates > 5 then" and it did not change anything.

If I understand your code correctly I think I see a quick and dirty way to put the button stuff before TEXT.
I will try it and let you know what happens.

Last edited by arclance (2012-04-12 23:52:09)

Offline

#924 2012-04-12 23:58:40

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

you could try this
in the conkyrc

lua_load ~/test_button/click_test.lua
lua_load ~/test_button/click_record.lua
lua_load ~/test_button/click_run_last.lua

lua_draw_hook_pre main

TEXT
${lua record}${lua run_last}
${cpu cpu0}

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#925 2012-04-13 00:12:35

falldown
#! Samurai
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 1,727

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

peachy wrote:
lua_draw_hook_pre main

This actually stops the blinking and turns it more into a dimming of the window.. (closer)

Last edited by falldown (2012-04-13 00:13:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo