SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-15 15:55:03

The_Doctor
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 2

SSH and Thunar

sudo apt-get install sshfs

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2009-02-15 16:24:22

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Your english is fine, and your implementation is superb.

I've just apt-got sshfs, and I plan on using it frequently.

Now to find a windows implementation for those times I'm stuck using Microsoft: BSOD.

Offline

#3 2009-02-15 17:35:08

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Hello The_Doctor smile

Thank you for providing this tip. I use sshfs everyday and I swear by it; however, I never thought to post about it, doh! Thank you again and welcome to the forums.

Offline

#4 2009-02-15 17:40:17

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Philip:

how big is it? (I never really looked when installing...) if it's not too bad, I'd say it's something to consider by default in .03

i certainly use it mroe often than fontypython, which is fragging HUGE

Offline

#5 2009-02-15 17:45:33

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Offline

#6 2009-02-15 17:50:50

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

it's useful. Ever so useful.

Find me a regular Linux user who doesn't use ssh.

And find me the number who get annoyed with sftp, etc.

when I found out about this, I thought it was a godsend.

As I said: more useful than fontypython wink

Offline

#7 2009-02-15 18:04:45

The_Doctor
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-15
Posts: 2

Re: SSH and Thunar

Offline

#8 2009-02-16 14:35:27

Nik_Doof
#! Junkie
Registered: 2008-12-13
Posts: 361
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

I do this on my machines, but my user is a member of the fuse group and then in the autostart.sh mount it under ~/ssh/

Offline

#9 2009-02-16 14:48:32

Mehall
#! Die Hard
From: Scotland, Cold
Registered: 2009-01-17
Posts: 850
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

Offline

#10 2009-02-16 20:56:08

8mihi
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-16
Posts: 1

Re: SSH and Thunar

Hi - new to #! CL for just a few weeks and am greatly impressed. Great work !

Many thanks to The_Doctor ! Great tip, concisely written and worked first time. Had an ssh mount going within a couple minutes.

With some others, I wanted to add my vote for moving sshfs up the list to be considered part of the 'default' install. It's nearly an indispensable tool at this point, imho, but I also understand the need fight distro 'bloat creep'.

Offline

#11 2009-02-18 19:54:17

djakku
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2008-12-09
Posts: 27

Re: SSH and Thunar

Last edited by djakku (2009-02-18 20:00:03)


eeepc-901 crunchbang with eeepc-kernel 2.6.27-8-eeepc

Offline

#12 2009-03-03 00:30:00

sirwilliamthenice
New Member
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 9

Re: SSH and Thunar

Just agreeing with most of these posts.. I found that command also, and it has made my life a dream.. I have used sshfs and have made a little bash script that mounts the directory and subsequently open up my file manager. After I put that in my menu in open box, file instantly became easier.

Especially now that I have set up password free ssh login from my laptop.

Offline

#13 2009-03-03 07:52:47

pitje
#! Junkie
From: me to you
Registered: 2009-02-10
Posts: 438
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar


oh yeah? well, your momma dresses you funny and you need a mouse to delete files

Offline

#14 2009-04-17 02:12:14

fhsm
#! Junkie
From: New Hampshire, USA
Registered: 2009-01-05
Posts: 445

Re: SSH and Thunar

for old fashion ftp

curlftpfs ftp://username:password@example.com ~/someplace/local/remote

Offline

#15 2009-11-15 21:25:30

achristoffersen
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-03-23
Posts: 354

Re: SSH and Thunar

Offline

#16 2010-01-06 20:47:53

monkeybritt
#! Junkie
From: Nowhere, Indiana
Registered: 2009-10-17
Posts: 288
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

f-ing just what i've been hunting works with pcmanfm too of course


failure is only a negative way to describe a learning experience.
i am constantly learning. smile

Offline

#17 2010-01-06 21:03:15

monkeybritt
#! Junkie
From: Nowhere, Indiana
Registered: 2009-10-17
Posts: 288
Website

Re: SSH and Thunar

i use ssh to access media with vlc does anyone know if that is the best protocol for simple at home sharing, smb sucks and lags. sshfs works fantastic i just didnt know if streaming would in any way be detrimental to sshfs.

also for copying over files through sh i use midnight commander it works great as long as there are no spaces in dir and ' in file names

Last edited by monkeybritt (2010-01-06 21:05:12)


failure is only a negative way to describe a learning experience.
i am constantly learning. smile

Offline

#18 2013-11-27 13:54:32

adRn
New Member
Registered: 2013-01-22
Posts: 9

Re: SSH and Thunar

Offline

#19 2013-11-27 14:02:08

iann
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2010-09-10
Posts: 720

Re: SSH and Thunar

sshfs uses a fair bit of CPU, but with multiple cores that shouldn't be a problem for streaming.  Otherwise it is brilliant for this sort of small-scale network device access.

Offline

#20 2014-03-05 16:06:00

pandroidanaroid
Member
Registered: 2014-02-22
Posts: 19

Re: SSH and Thunar

Thank you so much for posting this. I was breaking my head trying to mount OpenShift so that I may edit my wordpress site that's on it easily. Very simple. Thanks a ton!

And I always preferred this even for regular servers as it's much easier to live edit files using a GUI text editor than on CLI remotely.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo