SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#51 2015-09-03 10:17:02

damo
#! gimpbanger
From: N51.5 W002.8 (mostly)
Registered: 2011-11-24
Posts: 5,434

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

ostrolk wrote:
hhh wrote:

Right, so ostrolk is using the version from GitHub. As I explained earlier in this thread, we won't be installing 3rd-party binaries in the ISO by default. This can go in a "Things to do after installing BunsenLabs Hydrogen" HowTo, though, which we'll draw up after the "official" ISO gets released.

Well, BunsenLabs also started in GitHub, and the 'bunsen-updates' come through GitHub, so why not take other people's updates from GitHub?

Asked and answered.

we won't be installing 3rd-party binaries in the ISO by default.

There is nothing stopping you from risking your system with other sources of applications, but don't expect BunsenLabs to do it.


BunsenLabs Group on deviantArt
damo's gallery on deviantArt
Openbox themes
Forum Moderator smile

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#52 2015-09-03 11:14:33

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

@ostrolk
BunsenLabs started as a pure Debian 8 Netinstall then running a "scripts" to make BunsenLabs from GitHub, not binaries.
And the Bunsen updates are: "scripts", not binaries.

As hhh said:

hhh wrote:

As I explained earlier in this thread, we won't be installing 3rd-party binaries in the ISO by default.

this is a decision agreed on by the dev's.  It is the way BunsenLabs will be built.

Official will happen when it is ready.

EDIT:  I didn't see damo's reply.  sad

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-09-03 11:19:55)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#53 2015-09-03 15:11:15

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

damo wrote:

we won't be installing 3rd-party binaries in the ISO by default.

There is nothing stopping you from risking your system with other sources of applications, but don't expect BunsenLabs to do it.

Risking?
Since, I am using Linux distros, risking is the way of life. I have Jessie, Stretch, Ubuntu and Arch Openbox installs with different type of scripts--eye-candy tweaks--working in them. Arch is the bleeding edge OS. If volumeicon 0.5.1 is there, why can't it be in my Debian install? So, I installed it, and it works.  Actually, if you ask any question concerning Linux stuff, usually an Arch forum or wiki page is in the first place in Uncle Google. Earlier, I mostly used Ubuntu, then Debian & Ubuntu, and now Arch. My Arch install pretty much look like the old Crunchbang. I like the simplicity of the menu, but I changed the themes. (http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=40106&p=4 #81 that was at that time.)

By the way, is it a binary that you see here; https://github.com/Maato/volumeicon ?

Offline

#54 2015-09-03 16:03:40

Narmo
Member
Registered: 2015-06-18
Posts: 45

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Um, I don't think that is my role, but what they say is perfectly clear and right - they want to make most safe and good working distro possible with control over all of its elements and without mixing elements from elsewhere. Also they don't want to give us any time of distro releasing info because they want to work when they can, without stress and without irritating explaining why they have time issues, if something will be wrong. Why pushing and asking unwanted questions? I don't think it is the right thing to do if decisions are already made and they are good ones.

Offline

#55 2015-09-03 18:52:17

Unia
#! Octo-portal-pussy
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-07-17
Posts: 4,634
Website

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

ostrolk wrote:

By the way, is it a binary that you see here; https://github.com/Maato/volumeicon ?

Confirmed: you do not know what you are talking about. Also, please read up on the differences between Debian and Arch Linux, or differences between Linux distro's in general. Here's what your top results in Uncle Google have to say about it: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … NU.2FLinux


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

I am a #! forum moderator. Feel free to send me a PM with any question you have!

Offline

#56 2015-09-03 21:58:21

ostrołęk
CB Member
Registered: 2015-08-13
Posts: 110

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

Unia wrote:
ostrolk wrote:

By the way, is it a binary that you see here; https://github.com/Maato/volumeicon ?

Also, please read up on the differences between Debian and Arch Linux, or differences between Linux distro's in general. Here's what your top results in Uncle Google have to say about it: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … NU.2FLinux

Well?
Does it prove that volumeicon version 0.4.6-2.1. or 0.4.6-2.2 is better than version 0.5.1, just because it is not available in jessie or sid? Isn't all of them done by the same guy? It is in Arch, Fedora, Gentoo, OpenSuse, Slackware. You might also look here about Volumeicon. https://packages.qa.debian.org/v/volumeicon.html Debian maintainers know about the version 0.5.1

My screenshot http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 047&p=2#26 is Debian jessie.

I didn't ask you to drop volti. That was OP.
My question was if alsa, pulseauido,  pavucontrol and volumeicon enough or not.

Unia wrote:

Confirmed: you do not know what you are talking about.

Sure, no problem with that. Just have a look here; http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic.php?id=39656&p=6 post#134. That was made from Ubuntu.

Last edited by ostrołęk (2015-09-03 22:11:17)

Offline

#57 2015-09-04 07:47:09

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Volti mixer has a severe bug, please drop it

ostrolk wrote:

Risking?
Since, I am using Linux distros, risking is the way of life. I have Jessie, Stretch, Ubuntu and Arch Openbox installs with different type of scripts--eye-candy tweaks--working in them. Arch is the bleeding edge OS. If volumeicon 0.5.1 is there, why can't it be in my Debian install?

nobody said you can't compile it yourself and use it.
and probably it is really better than the version in the debian stable repos.
but bunsen will rely on the debian stable repos - it will not use other binaries. only scripts.
that said, you could write a pipemenu for compiling and installing various github repos, then ask for it to be included in bl(*)?

Actually, if you ask any question concerning Linux stuff, usually an Arch forum or wiki page is in the first place in Uncle Google.
...
By the way, is it a binary that you see here; https://github.com/Maato/volumeicon ?

since you brought up uncle google, let me bring up uncle duck instead.

(*) correction:
this will most probably not happen, because dependency hell is predictable.

Last edited by ohnonot (2015-09-04 07:54:37)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo