SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#101 2015-09-02 16:59:44

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

@ arclance

Actually I was re-thinking this after typing that ... your idea is better.

Have the main function match closer to the file name for better identification:
ie:  In chronograph.lua change

function conky_main()

to:

function conky_chrono()

Another example: 4clocks.lua

function conky_4clocks

EDIT:  interrupted by my wife, ragamatrix popped in ahead of me as my reply sat here un-submitted

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-09-02 17:03:01)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#102 2015-09-03 16:55:05

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

I tried to change the name function in the lua script (ChronoClear.lua) and calling this with the widget.lua but... That did not work...  :8 I probably miss something.

Offline

#103 2015-09-03 17:52:43

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

I don't have ChronoClear.lua but it would only need one change:

find:  function conky_main()
replace: function conky_new-name()

and in the widget you call a second script:

    --call of the two mains functions in the lua files
        conky_draw_bg()
        conky_new-name()

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#104 2015-09-04 08:13:59

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

yes that's what I did but it dœsn't works ... I don't know why, thanks for help.

Offline

#105 2015-09-04 12:27:24

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Did you kill and restart the conky after you did that?

Offline

#106 2015-09-06 14:28:10

iami
Member
Registered: 2013-09-06
Posts: 44

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Are here gedit/medit users?

I've edited the conky.lang file which now works for any file containing "conky" in it's file name (or exension), feedback is appreciated.
Dl: https://www.dropbox.com/s/fbpl52iivvdmp … .lang?dl=0

for medit v1.1.1:
/usr/share/medit/language-specs/conky.lang

for medit - older versions:
/usr/share/medit-1/language-specs/conkyrc.lang

for gedit v2.x
/usr/share/gtksourceview-2.0/language-specs/conkyrc.lang
or (for single user)
~/.local/share/gtksourceview-2.0/language-specs/conkyrc.lang'

for gedit v3.x
/usr/share/gtksourceview-3.0/language-specs/conkyrc.lang
or (for single user)
~/.local/share/gtksourceview-3.0/language-specs/conkyrc.lang'

One of my own configs i have used to test: https://www.dropbox.com/s/auzyb3umr0k5q … conky?dl=0 (you won't be able to run it)

Note:

  • Syntax highlights are more restricted as the actual syntax, eg: color0 = 'DCDCDC' will work, color0='DCDCDC' will not. Same for ${font XXX:size=2} but ${ font XXX:size=2} will not.

  • There are some differences in colors in comparison of the previous version (for Conky 1.9)

  • Will NOT work well with conky 1.9 files

  • Known bug: having -- in your conky.text = [[ ... ]]; will trigger a comment highlight, i don't know how to solve it
    (I need to use a <match> in a <start> and <end> context which is illegal, so maybe i should do it completely with a regex instead)

  • Numbers in the conky.config = { ...}; section are not highlighted, this is currently by choice.

  • The \N arguments in templates should be highlighted in some way

  • Nothing is done with the lua arguments in ${lua ... } or lua_draw_hook_pre = ' ... ' , due to lack of inspiration

  • Regexs are sometimes quick and dirty, if you have an improvement you are welcome to share

(i will push this to the conky github eventually)

Last edited by iami (2015-09-06 14:30:31)

Offline

#107 2015-09-07 16:12:57

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

arclance wrote:

Did you kill and restart the conky after you did that?

yes; sorry I didn't see your question... roll

Offline

#108 2015-09-07 16:41:06

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

^ Okay then post the full text of all three lua scripts and your .conkyrc as they are now so we can see if there is something wrong in the way you changed them.

Offline

#109 2015-09-10 11:46:52

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Hi; well... I have recently broke my debian testing... 8.( I've tested BL which caused big freezing, then I'm on sparky-linux which it seems to work on my old computer... Now conky works but draw_bg.lua not... I think there's a stuff with compton but I don't remember the trick to make back my draw_bg.lua working.  hmm

Offline

#110 2015-09-10 11:48:36

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

arclance wrote:

^ Okay then post the full text of all three lua scripts and your .conkyrc as they are now so we can see if there is something wrong in the way you changed them.

I keep that in mind and try a little bit later wink

Offline

#111 2015-09-10 13:58:44

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

In Sparky do you have "conky all"?

 10 Sep 15 | 10:56:55 ~
    $ ser conky
alias ser = aptitude search
i   bunsen-conky                                    - Conky configuration files and related scripts for BunsenLa
p   conky                                           - highly configurable system monitor (transitional package) 
i   conky-all                                       - highly configurable system monitor (all features enabled) 
p   conky-all-dbg                                   - highly configurable system monitor (all features enabled -
p   conky-cli                                       - highly configurable system monitor (basic version)        
p   conky-cli-dbg                                   - highly configurable system monitor (basic version - debug)
p   conky-std                                       - highly configurable system monitor (default version)      
p   conky-std-dbg                                   - highly configurable system monitor (default version - debu
i   conkyemail                                      - Email inbox count script with ssl capabilities, for use in
i   conkymisc                                       - Misc python scripts for use in Conky                      
 
 10 Sep 15 | 10:57:01 ~
    $ 

·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#112 2015-09-10 14:02:48

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Hi Sector11
Yes conky-all is installed.
Here's the conky conf:

conky.config = {
-- work in background (disabled for testing)
background = false,

-- better fonts
use_xft = true,
--xftalpha = 1,

-- update interval
update_interval = 60.0,
total_run_times = 0,

-- window settings
own_window = true,
own_window_transparent = true,
own_window_type = 'override',
own_window_hints = 'undecorated, below, sticky, skip_taskbar, skip_pager',
--own_window_argb_visual = true,
--own_window_argb_value = 0,

-- anti-flickering
double_buffer = true,

-- size
minimum_width = 260,
minimum_height = 80,
maximum_width = 260,

 -- shadows
draw_shades = true,
default_shade_color = 'black',

--borders
draw_outline = false,
default_outline_color = 'red',
draw_graph_borders = true,

-- frame
draw_borders = false,

-- color
default_color = 'white',

-- position
alignment = 'top_right',
gap_x = 130,
gap_y = 105,

-- misc
no_buffers = true,
uppercase = false,
cpu_avg_samples = 2,
if_up_strictness = 'address',

show_graph_range = false,
show_graph_scale = false,
--default_bar_height = 6,
--default_bar_width = 200,
text_buffer_size = 1000,
override_utf8_locale = true,

font = 'Liberation Sans:bold:size=9', --important for shades
template0 = 'Liberation Sans:bold:size=9',
template1 = 'Liberation Mono:bold:size=7',
lua_load = '/home/raphix/.conky/ConkyChronoClear/draw_bg.lua',
}

conky.text = [[
${lua conky_draw_bg 10 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.50} \
${font NeogreyMedium:size=55}$alignc${color D4D4D4}${time %H:%M}${color}
]]

Last edited by ragamatrix (2015-09-10 14:42:30)

Offline

#113 2015-09-16 14:15:23

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

hi!
Still problem with the draw_bg.lua script.
I got this error:

conky: llua_do_call: function conky_main execution failed:~/.conky/ConkyChronoClear/draw_bg.lua:32: attempt to perform arithmetic on local 'colour' (a nil value)

I don't know what's wrong with the rgba ? around line 32 ?
draw_bg.lua:

--[[Background originally by londonali1010 (2009)
    ability to set any size for background mrpeachy 2011
    ability to set variables for bg in conkyrc dk75

  the change is that if you set width and/or height to 0
  then it assumes the width and/or height of the conky window

so:

lua_load ~/Conky/LUA/draw_bg.lua
TEXT
${lua conky_draw_bg 20 0 0 0 0 0x000000 0.4}


${lua conky_draw_bg corner_radius x_position y_position width height color alpha}

covers the whole window and will change if you change the minimum_size setting

20             corner_radius
 0             x_position
 0             y_position
 0             width
 0             height
 0x000000      color
 0.4           alpha

]]

require 'cairo'
local    cs, cr = nil
function rgb_to_r_g_b(colour,alpha)
return ((colour / 0x10000) % 0x100) / 255., ((colour / 0x100) % 0x100) / 255., (colour % 0x100) / 255., alpha
end
function conky_draw_bg(r,x,y,w,h,color,alpha)
if conky_window == nil then return end
if cs == nil then cairo_surface_destroy(cs) end
if cr == nil then cairo_destroy(cr) end
local cs = cairo_xlib_surface_create(conky_window.display, conky_window.drawable, conky_window.visual, conky_window.width, conky_window.height)
local cr = cairo_create(cs)
w=w
h=h
if w=="0" then w=tonumber(conky_window.width) end
if h=="0" then h=tonumber(conky_window.height) end
cairo_set_source_rgba (cr,rgb_to_r_g_b(color,alpha))
--top left mid circle
local xtl=x+r
local ytl=y+r
--top right mid circle
local xtr=(x+r)+((w)-(2*r))
local ytr=y+r
--bottom right mid circle
local xbr=(x+r)+((w)-(2*r))
local ybr=(y+r)+((h)-(2*r))
--bottom right mid circle
local xbl=(x+r)
local ybl=(y+r)+((h)-(2*r))
-----------------------------
cairo_move_to (cr,xtl,ytl-r)
cairo_line_to (cr,xtr,ytr-r)
cairo_arc(cr,xtr,ytr,r,((2*math.pi/4)*3),((2*math.pi/4)*4))
cairo_line_to (cr,xbr+r,ybr)
cairo_arc(cr,xbr,ybr,r,((2*math.pi/4)*4),((2*math.pi/4)*1))
cairo_line_to (cr,xbl,ybl+r)
cairo_arc(cr,xbl,ybl,r,((2*math.pi/4)*1),((2*math.pi/4)*2))
cairo_line_to (cr,xtl-r,ytl)
cairo_arc(cr,xtl,ytl,r,((2*math.pi/4)*2),((2*math.pi/4)*3))
cairo_close_path(cr)
cairo_fill (cr)
------------------------------------------------------------
cairo_surface_destroy(cs)
cairo_destroy(cr)
return ""
end

Offline

#114 2015-09-17 09:12:15

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

One cannot keep coming here for help whatever the issue and not be infected with the Conky bug on this forum. Not only would it be impossible to not be caught up in the collective enthusiasm but i believe it'd be rude to stay aloof despite it.
I went through both the conky threads here and found both require a degree of familiarity which i prefer not to presume..and it's a fact, i don't remember diddly-squat about how i'd set up my conkys once a long, long time ago.
Apart from narcissism being obviously the primary motive for starting this thread, i am also hoping that with the right nudge now and then from the masters this thread will develop into a starting point for the uninitiated..besides myself foremost ..for learning how to get started with the new Conky
and develop real "conky skills".
To that end I have unlearned all that i knew about plagiarizing conky scripts and intend to build my conky from scratch. Mind you, this will not stop me from copying the best from the best out there but only after i've found my own feet first, learned how the various parameters/variables work, played with them and imbibed some level of discrimination.
Please understand that i am approaching conky with fresh eyes . It is very likely that in my 'eager-beaver'ness i do not realize that i am cluttering this forum needlessly and better approaches for getting started are in abundance elsewhere, please do not hesitate to point that out and delete this. I'd be more than happy and grateful just being helped out on the existing conky threads while pursuing my "cuckoo" project.
Installed conky-all from Debian Sid repository with apt-get. I will not be concerned with compiling conky.

:~$ whereis conky
conky: /usr/bin/conky /usr/lib/conky /etc/conky /usr/share/man/man1/conky.1.gz
:~$ ls /usr/bin/conky
/usr/bin/conky
:~$ ls /usr/lib/conky
libcairo_imlib2_helper.so  libcairo.so  libimlib2.so  librsvg.so
:~$ ls /etc/conky
conky.conf  conky_no_x11.conf

Aha!

:~$ cat /etc/conky/conky.conf
-- vim: ts=4 sw=4 noet ai cindent syntax=lua
--[[
Conky, a system monitor, based on torsmo

Any original torsmo code is licensed under the BSD license

All code written since the fork of torsmo is licensed under the GPL

Please see COPYING for details

Copyright (c) 2004, Hannu Saransaari and Lauri Hakkarainen
Copyright (c) 2005-2012 Brenden Matthews, Philip Kovacs, et. al. (see AUTHORS)
All rights reserved.

This program is free software: you... 

That's a lot of code, so let's run the executable see what we get for it.

:~$ /usr/bin/conky
conky: desktop window (d5) is root window
conky: window type - desktop
conky: drawing to created window (0x1c00001)

http://i.imgur.com/8IuvcGn.png. Izzatall? That's pathetic besides being downright ugly. I will now look at <man conky>, play around with the existing code and see what i can do with it. Until the next post subject to this thread not being advised against if not deleted right away. ]:D

Edit 1: It's still here which means not enough people have read this or nobody cares or minds lol .
Meanwhile i plod on;

:~$ mkdir -p ~/.config/conky
:~$ cp /etc/conky/conky.conf ~/.config/conky/conky.conf #so we can play
:~$ sudo leafpad ~/.config/conky/conky.conf 

Looked at <conky --help>, -b --double-buffer was given as an option to stop flickering, "no_buffers" was an argument in the conf, underneath no_buffers in the conf. file i put "double_buffer = true,", worked.
From <man conky> added parameter "top_cpu_separate = false," (corrected from "true" before), then edited the conky text section to add,
#Corrected the cpu count below, thanks to @PackRat.
${color grey}CPU Core0:$color ${cpu cpu0}% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}CPU Core1:$color ${cpu cpu1}% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}CPU Core2:$color ${cpu cpu2}% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}CPU Core3:$color ${cpu cpu3}% ${cpubar 4}
${color grey}CPU Core4:$color ${cpu cpu4}% ${cpubar 4}, worked.
Added "own_window_transparent = true,". It's not a thing of beauty yet by any account but i'm getting there. The priority is to make it useful in terms of data, fonts, backgrounds, colors are trivial at this point. http://i.imgur.com/oDQfGRV.png
This must be excruciating for the experts to watch. Please be kind enough to step in whenever you cannot stand it anymore. 8o

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-18 06:39:36)

Offline

#115 2015-09-17 22:41:43

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Merged the above post that was it's own thread into this thread ...

This must be excruciating for the experts to watch. Please be kind enough to step in whenever you cannot stand it anymore.

Not even close - I've been helping people with conkys forever (2008) but this new conky is over my head ... for the moment.

There is some expert help here.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#116 2015-09-18 06:29:35

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Sector11 wrote:

Merged the above post that was it's own thread into this thread ...

Thanks.

Not even close - I've been helping people with conkys forever (2008) but this new conky is over my head ... for the moment.
There is some expert help here.

Some expert? I meant everyone's a pro's pro here to me and the lua and cairo they discuss, wonder when i'll ever get around to that, im still trying to figure out how to display the cpu temperatures without signing off everything to lm-sensors (gkrellm doesn't need lm-sensors), and what this adt746xcpu/therm_adt746x is and how to use it. lol

Offline

#117 2015-09-18 10:16:02

ragamatrix
#! Junkie
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-12-05
Posts: 286

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Only my personnal opinion; I used to play with conky since a long time and had a sort of "conky collection" became un-usable...(with moc;the draw_bg.lua...)
I find a solution to re-use my conkys normally:
1442571146.png
lock the v1.9
v1.10 was a "unbearable nightmare"  lol

Offline

#118 2015-09-18 12:45:13

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

ragamatrix wrote:

lock the v1.9
v1.10 was a "unbearable nightmare"  lol

Nooo, not another long drawn systemd like debate! tongue

Edit: Got conky to display cpu temperature by adding this line:

${color green}CPU Temperature: ${color red} ${acpitemp}

Would have liked to know how to display individual core temp values but i guess the difference wouldn't be significant enough to warrant adding 4 new lines in my already cramped conky output.
Btw, it's showing 64 (Celsius by default) against the core temp. values of 53, 53, 56 and 56 C shown by gkrellm. Opinions, anyone..?

Edit: Started playing streaming video and the {acpitemp} value in conky rose to 69 then dropped back to 64 after i paused the video. Compare this to the gkrellm values which jumped to between 69 and 71 and then dropped to between 54 and 56 immediately. Clearly whatever gkrellm is using is more sensitive, is it also more reliable?
Edit: Seems the value of 64 is some sort of baseline for {acpitemp}, it never goes below that.
Much as i admire and respect you guys, and am beholden for the all the help and guidance i've received here, and without which i would be nowhere near as cocky as i am now about strutting about as a "Linux user of some experience", i've to say this; when it comes to Conky, you guys are all about preening it and doing clever things with it. Nobody seems to give a rat's a*s about the accuracy of the system information that is displayed in it, in fact i don't recall seeing a single post talking about any of that, and that is what conky was primarily meant for, wasn't it?

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-18 15:15:43)

Offline

#119 2015-09-18 15:27:52

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

^ Try installing lm-sensors. That is for conky v1.9 but probably still applied for v1.10 in some respect.

Then install "inxi" and check temps:

 18 Sep 15 | 12:25:28 ~
    $ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +30.0°C  (crit = +110.0°C)

f71862fg-isa-0a00
Adapter: ISA adapter
+3.3V:        +3.50 V  
in1:          +1.35 V  
in2:          +1.50 V  
in3:          +0.86 V  
in4:          +0.00 V  
in5:          +0.00 V  
in6:          +0.00 V  
3VSB:         +3.39 V  
Vbat:         +2.99 V  
fan1:        2235 RPM
fan2:           0 RPM  ALARM
fan3:           0 RPM  ALARM
temp1:        +40.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
                       (crit = +255.0°C, hyst = +251.0°C)  sensor = transistor
temp2:        +40.0°C  (high = +85.0°C, hyst = +81.0°C)
                       (crit = +100.0°C, hyst = +96.0°C)  sensor = thermistor
temp3:       +127.0°C  (high = +70.0°C, hyst = +68.0°C)  ALARM (CRIT)
                       (crit = +85.0°C, hyst = +83.0°C)  sensor = transistor

k10temp-pci-00c3
Adapter: PCI adapter
temp1:        +30.5°C  (high = +70.0°C)
 18 Sep 15 | 12:25:30 ~
    $ inxi -s
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: 30.6C gpu: 47C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2215 fan-2: 0 fan-3: 0

sensors tells you what to use in conky, inxi matches the temp/value to a piece of hardware.

I tend to agree with ragamatrix - conky "text files" are easy to build - only formatting text files ... but LUA is a coding language and not the same.  I have problems with bash scripts ... now I have to learn lua to use conky.  "Does not compute!"

I'll stay with 1.9 for my {cough cough} few conkys.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#120 2015-09-18 17:20:22

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Thank you so much, both for your advice and your patience. I installed inxi and ran sensors.

:~$ sensors
acpitz-virtual-0
Adapter: Virtual device
temp1:        +60.0°C  (crit = +104.0°C) # This is the value the variable {acpitemp} shows in conky

asus-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
cpu_fan:     2600 RPM
temp1:       +6280.0°C  

coretemp-isa-0000
Adapter: ISA adapter
Core 0:       +52.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Core 1:       +52.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Core 2:       +55.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)
Core 3:       +55.0°C  (high = +105.0°C, crit = +105.0°C)

I am not happy with the thought of running sensors-detect and letting lm-sensors create directories and stuff in my system for every aspect of my H/W. So how is it that gkrellm is able to accurately display to a degree the same core temp. values i got after running "sensors" without my having to do any of that? And isn't it possible to make conky do that similarly? Needless to say, prudent counsel will prevail in the end but i am just hoping..

Offline

#121 2015-09-18 17:31:46

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

From the link I gave you do it the old way: METHOD 1 - grep, awk, sed, etc. (old way, some new info)

Be sure to check out "2 Additional awk only methods" one by stinkeye and one by dk75

I don't have Intel but this would be my best guess:

Core 0 ${execpi 5 sensors -f | awk '/Core0/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'}
Core 1 ${execpi 5 sensors -f | awk '/Core1/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'}
Core 2 ${execpi 5 sensors -f | awk '/Core2/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'}
Core 3 ${execpi 5 sensors -f | awk '/Core3/ {gsub(/\+/,"",$3); gsub(/\..+/,"",$3); print $3}'}

Mine is an AMD:

 18 Sep 15 | 14:29:04 ~
    $ sensors | grep -n 'temp1' | sed -n 2p | awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F' ' '{print $1}'
40.0°C
 
 18 Sep 15 | 14:29:21 ~
    $ inxi -s
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 40.0C mobo: 31.2C gpu: 48C
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: 2242 fan-2: 0 fan-3: 0
 
 18 Sep 15 | 14:29:24 ~
    $ 

so:

${execpi 2 sensors | grep -n 'temp1' | sed -n 2p | awk -F'+' '{print $2}' | awk -F' ' '{print $1}'}

works here but I use the platform method: 2015_09_18_14_52_48_Scrot11.png

TEXT
${alignc}${color7}Sensors
${color7}CPU${color} ${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 1}°
 ${color7}MB${color} ${platform f71882fg.2560 temp 2}°
${color7}SDA${color} ${hddtemp /dev/sda}°
${color7}GPU${color} ${nvidia temp}°
${color7}CPU Fan${color}
  ${platform f71882fg.2560 fan 1}
${membar 0}

I have no clue how gkrellm works so  - no comment.  EDIT:  However checking the depends gives a hint:

    $ dep gkrellm
alias dep=apt-cache depends filename
gkrellm
  Depends: libatk1.0-0
  Depends: libc6
  Depends: libcairo2
  Depends: libfontconfig1
  Depends: libfreetype6
  Depends: libgdk-pixbuf2.0-0
  Depends: libglib2.0-0
  Depends: libgnutls-deb0-28
  Depends: libgnutls-openssl27
  Depends: libgtk2.0-0
  Depends: libice6
  Depends: libntlm0
  Depends: libpango-1.0-0
  Depends: libpangocairo-1.0-0
  Depends: libpangoft2-1.0-0
  Depends: libsensors4 <<<------------- right here
  Depends: libsm6
  Depends: libx11-6
  Breaks: <gkrellm-common>
  Breaks: gkrellmd
  Replaces: <gkrellm-common>


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#122 2015-09-18 19:47:23

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Chose method 3, ran sudo sensors-detect and bent over, all it did after that was write "#Chip Driver coretemp" in /etc/modules. Ran '/etc/init.d/kmod start' and added

${color white}CPU Temperature: ${color red} ${platform coretemp temp 1}

And this is what i get in return; sad

:~$ conky
...
conky: can't open '/sys/bus/platform/devices/coretemp/temp1_input': No such file or directory
please check your device or remove this var from conky
conky: forked to background, pid is 1757

.
But thanks anyway, those links were very informative, never had reason to look up sed, awk or aur before.
Still hoping i've missed something that'd be obvious to others;

ls /sys/devices/platform
80860F41:00  efivars.0         INTL9C60:01  PNP0C0E:00            snd-soc-dummy
alarmtimer   Fixed MDIO bus.0  microcode    PNP0C14:00            uevent
asus-nb-wmi  i8042             pcspkr       power
ATK4001:00   INT3396:00        PNP0103:00   regulatory.0
clk-lpt      INT33BD:00        PNP0C0C:00   serial8250
coretemp.0   INT33FC:00        PNP0C0D:00   simple-framebuffer.0
:~$ ls /sys/bus/platform/devices
80860F41:00  Fixed MDIO bus.0  microcode   PNP0C14:00
ACPI0003:00  i8042             pcspkr      regulatory.0
alarmtimer   INT0800:00        PNP0103:00  rtsx_pci_ms.0
asus-nb-wmi  INT3396:00        PNP0C09:00  rtsx_pci_sdmmc.0
ATK4001:00   INT33BD:00        PNP0C0A:00  serial8250
clk-lpt      INT33FC:00        PNP0C0C:00  simple-framebuffer.0
coretemp.0   INTL9C60:01       PNP0C0D:00  snd-soc-dummy
efivars.0    iTCO_wdt.0.auto   PNP0C0E:00
:~$ ls /sys/bus/platform/devices/coretemp.0
driver  driver_override  hwmon  modalias  power  subsystem  uevent
i:~$ ls /sys/bus/platform/devices/coretemp.0/hwmon
hwmon1
:~$ ls /sys/bus/platform/devices/coretemp.0/hwmon/hwmon1
device            temp2_label       temp4_crit        temp5_input
name              temp2_max         temp4_crit_alarm  temp5_label
power             temp3_crit        temp4_input       temp5_max
subsystem         temp3_crit_alarm  temp4_label       uevent
temp2_crit        temp3_input       temp4_max
temp2_crit_alarm  temp3_label       temp5_crit
temp2_input       temp3_max         temp5_crit_alarm

Tried ${platform coretemp.0 temp2_input}

onky: get_sysfs_info(): read from '  failed
conky: can't open '': No such file or directory

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-18 20:55:13)

Offline

#123 2015-09-19 06:36:02

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

hwmon0 contains temp1_input, that's the one which gives the acpi/adaptor temperature, hwmon1 is the one i need which contains temp2_input, temp3_input, etc., but ${hwmon temp2}/${hwmon temp 2} does not work because conky seeks hwmon0 by default. Do you advise renaming hwmon1 to hwmon0 and flushing the &*@* hwmon0 in the process?  mad

Edit: Once again, i am reminded that i am a klutz;  lol
See reply #4 here;
Finally!

${hwmon 1 temp 2}
${hwmon 1 temp 3}
${hwmon 1 temp 4}
${hwmon 1 temp 5}

Note: No lm-sensors required, i uninstalled it before this. big_smile Next stop, ConkyForecast, you'd do well to tell me where to begin before i take a wrong turn right from the start, fumble around and irritate the heck out of everybody. tongue

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-19 09:36:16)

Offline

#124 2015-09-19 11:43:48

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

conkyForcast is dead ... there is a rebuild naee the end of the conkyForcast thread over at Ubuntu no idea if it is still supported.  I no mark isn't supporting cForecast anymore and weather.com has changed their format.

Check out Teo's bash scripts for weather right here:  Conky weather+moon scripts (Accuw/WUndergr/NWS/MoonGiant)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#125 2015-09-19 14:37:20

mzsade
#! Junkie
Registered: 2009-09-27
Posts: 276

Re: Conky v1.10 Thread

Thank you, that's a considerable body of work and it'll take me an age to just assimilate a tiny fraction of it. I had no idea you were such a huge deal! I kid you not, i am more than a little starstruck now.

Last edited by mzsade (2015-09-19 14:37:37)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo