SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-05-12 19:45:57

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

The built-in screen on my old Elonex Extentia "all in one" (#! Statler & XP dual boot)
don't work no more & there is no alternative output for an external monitor.

For awhile I was running the old machine via VNC off my laptop, up to date Wheezy.
( to use it's DVD writer & firewire input from an old Sony camcorder )
I've not ran it for about 3 months and now there is no access on VNC,
it asks for a password which I enter but then nothing.

Terminal output;

Connected to RFB server, using protocol version 3.7
Performing standard VNC authentication

...and then after password entry....

 Authentication failure

I think I remember the set up before and there was no password required.

When I sshfs to the Elonex machine I have to use sudo & enter the Elonex password
& then to access  the Elonex File system I have to open Thunar as root,
but it works so the password I'm using for the Elonex is valid.
So I'm thinking the Elonex on VNC is maybe asking for a root password.

I don't know what has changed,
I can only think I  did an update last time I had the Elonex running on VNC,
but I don't remember.

So I've got access to the Elonex file system.
But..no graphical output
can't get to change Bios  so no rescue live system
can't update grub to maybe run XP and have remote access from there,
so is this the end of the Elonex...any ideas?

Last edited by benhee (2014-05-13 09:58:00)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2014-05-12 21:51:21

WuFu
#! Member
Registered: 2013-05-20
Posts: 96

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

Hi! I don't have one of those, but I may be able to help. Let's try smile
There's someone on the Internet who disassembled an eXentia, even though he says it is hard to do. It seems to have some pretty standard graphics card inside it with a DVI port, so you could try opening it and connecting a (working) display.

But, without going that far, you can do some neat things too. You have root access through SSH (if you could use SSHFS you can use SSH), so you can start by checking to see if X is running. Also, tell us what software do you use as a server for VNC and take a look at the config. It may have been changed by an update (even though it shouldn't) and you may be able to reconfigure it correctly.

PS: It's been a long time since I had my home server, so I don't use VNC or SSH that often, but this should be easy to fix... As long as you don't screw up the boot process. So, if you don't want to open it, be careful about what you do.

Last edited by WuFu (2014-05-12 22:40:17)

Offline

#3 2014-05-12 22:10:06

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

Thanks for the reply WuFu

Great  link had not seen these pics though I have searched disassembly,
mine does not look that bad, I am running it from an external power supply
so it is partially in bits.
You've given me some hope with your hints, I will delve into configs etc.

Offline

#4 2014-05-12 22:45:03

WuFu
#! Member
Registered: 2013-05-20
Posts: 96

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

The graphics card seems to be an ATI Radeon 9600, AGP with DVI and S-Video output. About this, if you are going to plug a monitor you can use DVI, S-Video or a VGA to DVI adapter, lots of choices. If you do this and the graphics card is only held in place by the AGP port, be careful about the weight that the connector and cable can put on the card, as it may get disconnected or partially disconnected and fry itself or the port.

Again, if you can post the name of the software that you use as a VNC server someone might be using it or know anything about it.

And, glad I gave you hope. I'm sure we can work it out (eventually).

EDIT: This computer is also known as the Gateway 610 (or 610X)

Last edited by WuFu (2014-05-12 22:53:01)

Offline

#5 2014-05-13 09:54:29

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

Thanks again WuFu

That's not the card in my Elonex it was  a media centre thingy lots of S vid & other in/out
but no DVI.

Regarding the remote access your nudge that if sshfs works then so will ssh,
got me thinking that I don't really need VNC to  get the functionality
I need from the Elonex eg I was using mplayer on cli to get the dvd stream.

I  will mark this topic as "solved" and study more in depth ssh, all great fun.
ssh and cli the way to go, I'll begin thinking I am a grownup #!er!

I'll probably be back, for more help, thanks for your ideas.

BillyB

Last edited by benhee (2014-05-13 11:31:07)

Offline

#6 2014-05-13 10:29:47

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

Found time to access by ssh all seems OK
ran moc & played through the Elonex built in speakers
(its got a quite good sound with a little sub woofer)
Now the hard part as I have to start thinking cli for all things.

Offline

#7 2014-05-14 00:14:43

WuFu
#! Member
Registered: 2013-05-20
Posts: 96

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

Great! I'm glad that I could help! But, oh, how I hate it when they change the hardware on some model and keep the same model number/name...

Something extra to close it off, if I were you (since I have too much free time) I would still try to fix VNC. Even if you're going to use CLI only, you may want to use it sometime, and it's better to have the option to use it than not. But, hey, that's just me, and you have a great chance to improve your terminal-fu smile

Offline

#8 2014-05-14 08:12:57

benhee
Member
From: North West UK.
Registered: 2009-10-28
Posts: 41

Re: VNC problem (...is this the end of my Extentia...?) [resolved]

I agree and I will have a try at fixing VNC, it would be a shame to leave it as it is
when it was working fine. For me it's a case of back to basic understanding,
as I tend to just run things without a thought about what is going on.

& me too, plenty of time in between walking my dogs, watching the  swifts in the sky
around my house and following the English football teams inevitable decline in the forthcomming
Soccer world cup. lol

Last edited by benhee (2014-05-14 08:14:41)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo