SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#51 2009-09-23 12:13:49

thil77
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 193

Re: Tint2 Help

I suppose you want http://code.google.com/p/tint2/issues/d … d=64&can=1
it's done in svn version.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#52 2009-09-23 22:01:58

ElbertF
Member
From: VIC Australia
Registered: 2009-09-15
Posts: 33
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

[ removed by author ]

Last edited by ElbertF (2012-07-21 02:08:48)

Offline

#53 2009-10-03 20:01:00

twodogs
#! CrunchBanger
From: Saint Cloud, Florida
Registered: 2009-06-08
Posts: 129

Re: Tint2 Help

does anyone know how to stop the balloon notifications in tint2?

i searched but didn't find anything.
thanks,
dave.


Lenovo B575 Laptop, 8G Memory 750G Hard Drive and #! CrunchBang Linux!

Offline

#54 2009-10-09 19:09:14

paulsenior
#! CrunchBanger
From: Muenster, Germany
Registered: 2009-02-12
Posts: 100

Re: Tint2 Help

@twodogs
which did you mean?
I didnt have any notifications there.

@topic
how can i enable a rightclickmeu for the tasks?

Thanks


From Germany --> Bad English smile

Offline

#55 2009-10-09 20:35:19

mspn
Member
From: York, North Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 49

Re: Tint2 Help

@twodogs

do you mean, for example, the 'connection established...' balloon that comes up when you first connect to a network, or have I misunderstood?

If this is so, I'm after the same information. I mean, I know I'm connected to the network the icon has changed, I don't need to be told the same with a dirty great splash across my screen as well! (I'm on an Acer Aspire One A150 8.9" netbook - Screen real estate is at a minimum already, without this)

EDIT:
Ok so it's taken me 40mins of google'ing all different terms, but I think I've found the solution to the answer that I was looking for, if it may of any help to anybody.

The balloon tips that come from the system tray, suck as the 'Connection Established' balloon etc seem to be controlled by libnotify. Removing this package is a pretty big no-no as will have an effect on more than just the balloons. However, if you wish to remove the balloons (and it will remove ALL balloons) just open a terminal and type the following:

sudo chmod -x /usr/lib/notification-daemon/notification-daemon
pkill notification-daemon

and to re-enable:

sudo chmod +x /usr/lib/notification-daemon/notification-daemon
pkill notification-daemon

Last edited by mspn (2009-10-09 21:18:10)

Offline

#56 2009-10-12 21:07:46

thil77
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 193

Re: Tint2 Help

@paulsenior

how can i enable a rightclickmeu for the tasks?

you can't with tint2.
- if you NEED right click, use another panel (lxpanel, xfce4-panel, ...)
- otherwise, in tint2 config you can customize mouse action to feet your need
  none, close, toggle, iconify, shade, toggle_iconify

mouse_middle = none
mouse_right = close
mouse_scroll_up = toggle
mouse_scroll_down = iconify

and with latest unstable SVN version, you will have more action

maximize_restore
desktop_left
desktop_right

Offline

#57 2009-10-23 14:34:14

Mufasa
Member
Registered: 2009-10-04
Posts: 20

Re: Tint2 Help

mspn wrote:

However, if you wish to remove the balloons (and it will remove ALL balloons) just open a terminal and type the following:

sudo chmod -x /usr/lib/notification-daemon/notification-daemon
pkill notification-daemon

and to re-enable:

sudo chmod +x /usr/lib/notification-daemon/notification-daemon
pkill notification-daemon

Yeah this 'connection established...' balloon is really annoying! But otherwise I think the balloon after a succesfull print job is not so bad.....  so since you can't just disable the connection-balloon.... is there a way to set transparency for all of them? A transparency about 60% would be good... so there wouldn't be too much messing around with the system and the balloons would be undisturbing...

Offline

#58 2009-10-27 01:02:44

gregoryischeap
New Member
Registered: 2009-10-27
Posts: 2

Re: Tint2 Help

Jellmoo wrote:

Hey, thanks guys!

Most icons are now greyscale, which looks pretty nice (at least in my opinion).

The only coloured icons are the master volume (this one I haven't been able to figure out), and whichever window is active.

Still, I am enjoying the black and white aesthetic a great deal.

This is a bit old, but I just greyscaled the volwheel myself and figured I might as well share it if you're still interested.  You can change the available volwheel icons by adapting one of the themes already in the directory /usr/share/volwheel/icons.  I just changed them all to greyscale in GIMP then told volwheel which to use by right-clinking the icon>>Preferences>>Icon Theme.  Here's the colorless version of 'tango' that I'm using:

http://www.mediafire.com/?sharekey=3434 … f6e8ebb871

Offline

#59 2009-11-01 12:42:25

blueled
Member
From: bham
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 34

Re: Tint2 Help

maybe my question is posted somewhere else, but I couldn't find anything by searching

I am auto-starting a couple of applications successfully by having the autostart.sh edited, but they all open in the first virtual desktop (tint2). is it possible to specify them to open in the second one ?

thanks!

Offline

#60 2009-11-01 16:44:05

thil77
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 193

Re: Tint2 Help

it's done by openbox. follow the link.

http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … -desktops/

Offline

#61 2009-11-01 18:01:49

blueled
Member
From: bham
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 34

Re: Tint2 Help

thil77 wrote:

it's done by openbox. follow the link.

Thanks a lot! It works,indeed! I love #! and its community!

Offline

#62 2009-11-07 19:49:59

mspn
Member
From: York, North Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 49

Re: Tint2 Help

Hi all,

Just a quick question, not sure whether it's possible.

In the screenshot below you can see that I have aborder around my tint2 on the upper right of my desktop, with conky running top left horizontally.

Is there a way to extend the border around conky as well without affecting the panel and task placements?

Screenshot: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2849922/2009-11 … _scrot.png
conky: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2849922/conkyrc.txt
tint2rc: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/2849922/tint2rc.txt

Offline

#63 2009-11-07 22:21:53

brummbaer
Member
From: portland, or
Registered: 2009-10-16
Posts: 47
Website

Re: Tint2 Help

@mspn, i'm not a conky/tint2 guru, so i won't be able to tell you HOW to do this w/o some research, but it seems the effect you're looking for might best be achieved by adding a conky border that resembles the tint2 border?

EDIT: after re-reading your post, it seems maybe you're looking to NOT have the taskbar be split down the middle? if so, sorry i've got no idea. i know that stretching tint2 over the top of conky won't really work because as i understand it doesn't use "True" transparency.... interesting question...

Last edited by brummbaer (2009-11-07 22:23:54)


Hell, there are no rules here - we're trying to accomplish something.  - T. A. Edison
http://www.grendelchen.com/  | brummbaer456 at gmail dot com

Offline

#64 2009-11-08 01:03:57

jobester
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 151

Re: Tint2 Help

I tried changing panel size and taskbar padding, but it didn't look good, don't know how to pad only the left of the taskbar instead of both sides.

Recommend drawing a border onto your background image.

Offline

#65 2009-11-14 01:06:36

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

Hi

I have a question about tint2 icons.

Where does tint2 get it's icons from?
I'm using the buuf-deuce icon scheme but tint2 is still displaying the original firefox icon.
Everything else is using the buuf isons... i even went to usr/lib/firefox-3.0.15/icons and replaced the original mozicon128.png
and when i go to usr/share/pixmaps firefox-3.0 is the buuf firefox (its a link to the above png, so it should)

tint2 also uses the original icons for other applications, but system icons like folders are changed.

how do i get tint2 to behave?

Last edited by mrpeachy (2009-11-14 01:28:23)

Offline

#66 2009-11-14 01:46:13

anonymous
The Mystery Member
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,419

Re: Tint2 Help

Look in /usr/share/applications and edit (open in a text editor) the Firefox launcher to use the icon you want.

Offline

#67 2009-11-14 02:07:37

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

anonymous wrote:

Look in /usr/share/applications and edit (open in a text editor) the Firefox launcher to use the icon you want.

Thanks for the reply.

I went to the file you indicated and the only thing in there that mentions icons is this:

"Icon=firefox-3.0"

so im not sure to what exactly this references...
in /usr/share/pixmaps firefox-3.0.png is the buuf firefox.  I tried to give a direct link to the icon i want and that didn't work either

i cant find anything that has the name firefox-3.0 that looks like the original firefox icon...  where else could i look?

Last edited by mrpeachy (2009-11-14 02:12:32)

Offline

#68 2009-11-14 02:13:50

anonymous
The Mystery Member
Registered: 2008-11-29
Posts: 9,419

Re: Tint2 Help

What if you explicitly put /usr/share/pixmaps/firefox-3.0.png instead of just firefox-3.0?

Offline

#69 2009-11-14 02:18:26

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

anonymous wrote:

What if you explicitly put /usr/share/pixmaps/firefox-3.0.png instead of just firefox-3.0?

i did as you suggest, logged out and back in, but tint2 still shows the original firefox icon when i start the program.

edit - the buuf icon set is being used by thunar...if i go to a file and right click, open with... all the optional application icons are correct.
So it looks just to be a tint2 problem rather than the icons or having installed them incorrectly --does tint2 get it's icons differently from other applications?

Last edited by mrpeachy (2009-11-14 03:08:26)

Offline

#70 2009-11-14 03:16:36

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

I found it... sheesh!  how many firefox icons does firefox need??

the icon used by tint2 is : /usr/lib/firefox-3.0.15/chrome/icons/default/default48.png

Last edited by mrpeachy (2009-11-14 04:15:33)

Offline

#71 2009-11-17 19:47:26

thil77
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 193

Re: Tint2 Help

in fact tint2 use icons given by the Window manager (openbox).

I don't know why icon theme are not updated for some application.
Here a post on this subject (perhaps it's your post?)
http://code.google.com/p/tint2/issues/detail?id=168

Offline

#72 2009-11-18 03:59:23

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

thil77 wrote:

in fact tint2 use icons given by the Window manager (openbox).

I don't know why icon theme are not updated for some application.
Here a post on this subject (perhaps it's your post?)
http://code.google.com/p/tint2/issues/detail?id=168

it is mine!
I also posted a bugzilla report for openbox (the last entry in the above link) and was quite firmly told that it wasn't openbox's problem.
But the people at openbox couldn't tell me exactly which application was responsible for assigning theme icons if not openbox.

I also posted a bug report on launchpad...

I do think that desktop customization with themes and custom icons is an important part of many users experience.  I hope that someone can come up with a solution.

Offline

#73 2009-11-18 08:42:49

thil77
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-01-12
Posts: 193

Re: Tint2 Help

ok, here the answer of Alexander Larsson of freedesktop.

> Hi,
> > Have read Icon and EWMH specification, but can't found an answer to the
> > question
> > "When you change an icon theme, how to force an application to reload
> > current icon theme ?
> > and who is responsible for this task ?".

Each app is responsible for this themselves. The icon theme is changed
by changing an Xsetting, which gtk+ will pick up. It will then emit the
"changed" signal on the default GtkIconTheme and the "style_set" signal
on all related widgets.

Its up to applications to catch these signals and change the icon they
set for the window. This is easiest done with gtk_window_set_icon_name()
which handles all this for you.

Offline

#74 2009-11-18 15:32:49

mrpeachy
20% cooler
From: The Everfree Forest
Registered: 2009-11-08
Posts: 3,460

Re: Tint2 Help

thil77 wrote:

ok, here the answer of Alexander Larsson of freedesktop.

> Hi,
> > Have read Icon and EWMH specification, but can't found an answer to the
> > question
> > "When you change an icon theme, how to force an application to reload
> > current icon theme ?
> > and who is responsible for this task ?".

Each app is responsible for this themselves. The icon theme is changed
by changing an Xsetting, which gtk+ will pick up. It will then emit the
"changed" signal on the default GtkIconTheme and the "style_set" signal
on all related widgets.

Its up to applications to catch these signals and change the icon they
set for the window. This is easiest done with gtk_window_set_icon_name()
which handles all this for you.

I have filed a bug report for firefox... 1 down, X to go!
I added the info here : http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … n-trouble/   many thanks thill77

Last edited by mrpeachy (2009-11-18 16:29:33)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#75 2009-11-23 15:24:22

slapfish
#! Die Hard
From: Athens, Greece
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 601

Re: Tint2 Help

Yesterday my #! had a huge crash; for about half an hour everything was dead, the hdd led was blinking for time to time and only for a few seconds per 3-4 minutes I could only move the mouse pointer before it get stacked again. I turn the laptop off by pressing the shutdown button and when it restarted the time was 2 hours back (00:01 while it was 02:01). Today I noticed that the time showing on conky and tint clock was not the same, there was a delay to the one on tint. My tint clock is formated as %H:%M and that on conky is %I:%M:%S and the %S part is really crucial.

I noticed that:
If I restart tint2 at lets say 16:52:30 (on conky and on time settings), tint would have a delay of 30 seconds meaning that it will go from 16:55 to 16:56 when the time is 16:56:30.
If I set the time format %H:%M:%S on tint there is only one second delay

On system start up, the delay depends on when the tint2 will start relatively to universal time.

Is there something I can do to fix that? I don't know if it is something that happened due to the crash or it's something typical even though I remembered that the time change was perfect when I first set up conky... Also I don't know what was the case about the crash...

p.s. On conky I fixed the ~0.5sec delay  from settings time by setting the update_interval to 0.5 sec

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo