SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-03-23 12:28:45

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Router question/issue

Afternoon All,
While fiddling about with our Virgin Superhub router this morning. I noticed in Home > Advanced Settings > Security > IP filtering >  "Attached devices" an odd IP address. All home IP addresses start with: 192.168.0.XXX, this IP address is 108.40.95.64. I've googled IP lookup this number but can't seem to make head nor tail. It seems to be based in Baltimore, Maryland and would appear to use Verizon as its' ISP.

I changed the password on the router, but it still connects. I can't find anything exceptional in the house that connects to the router and am at a loss.

My main concern is that I'm not being used for nefarious purposes.

Can someone put my mind at rest please? :-)
Many thanks
donkeyotay

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-03-23 12:40:27

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Router question/issue

Offline

#3 2014-03-23 12:41:14

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: Router question/issue

It would appear to have gone now! Very strange. hmm

Offline

#4 2014-03-23 12:43:33

donkeyotay
#! CrunchBanger
From: Everywhere
Registered: 2011-01-28
Posts: 192

Re: Router question/issue

Thanks for the quick reply. No our external ip address is different to this.

BTW, there are several "attached devices" sections: IP filtering, mac filtering plus a list of wireless devices under Device Connection Status, but this erroneous IP only appeared under IP filtering.

Offline

#5 2014-03-23 12:53:45

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: Router question/issue

^You're welcome.

It is a bit strange, I agree. I don't know what it could be ...

Unless, your ISP has 'back door' to your router for router software upgrade ... but I'm probably talking nonsense, as I have zero experience of this stuff.

Perhaps, you call your ISP and ask them about it?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo