SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2014-02-03 16:15:21

schwim
#! Die Hard
From: Interweb's #1 Devotee
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,031
Website

mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

Hi there guys,

My brother was told that the drive in his office computer was dead as a doornail and it seems backups are corrupted.  I was going to pick up the drive and see if I could mount it and get some data off of it, but I'm wondering how I would go about that without actually hooking it up in a desktop computer.  There's external drives, so I know there's a way to go from SATA or IDE to USB, but what exactly would I be looking for?  I see SATA ~> USB cables on Amazon, but it doesn't seem to handle power.

What would be the easiest way to handle both the data and power connections?

Thanks for your time!

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2014-02-03 17:42:24

VDP76
#! Bean Roaster
Registered: 2012-04-12
Posts: 840

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

Hi,

as far as I know, there are hard disk enclosures which can turn an hard disk previously used as internal drive to a portable external USB one.
I think that power is taken care of by the USB connection itself...

I hope this help
Cheers

Last edited by VDP76 (2014-02-03 17:43:05)


#!#!#! Forum etiquette #!#!#!
Are you a new member!? Have you introduced yourself?!
CLI basics | LVM | smxi | chrooting | multiarch

Offline

#3 2014-02-03 18:01:09

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

schwim, you probably want HDD external case for 3.5 inch HDDs ... they usually come with power supply.

(I assume, the HDDs you want to test are 3.5" ...)

EDIT: something like this. The external power supply is essential for 3.5" HDD, as USB is usually not enough.

Last edited by iMBeCil (2014-02-03 18:04:54)


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#4 2014-02-03 18:09:10

iMBeCil
WAAAT?
From: Edrychwch o'ch cwmpas
Registered: 2012-03-22
Posts: 1,026
Website

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

Also these two are even more sexy (no case):

first

second


Postpone all your duties; if you die, you won't have to do them ..
--> The very new BL forum! <--

Offline

#5 2014-02-03 19:11:03

wmdiem
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2008-12-26
Posts: 187

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

I know that you can get kits with just the two cables (one for power one for the data itself, some have multiple data connections for different fittings).
Not sure what to search for, but I know they exist because I've used them.
I don't know how the price of them would stack up against getting a full external enclosure.

On edit: I see that imbecil already linked to them, so +1 for those suggestions.

Last edited by wmdiem (2014-02-03 21:03:08)

Offline

#6 2014-02-03 21:01:01

Naik
#! Die Hard
From: Leipzig
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 595

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

I would say: Use one of the two kits iMBeCil pointed to!
I have the first one in use for my every day work on other peoples crashed laptops/hdds/etcs and i never experienced any problems...

greetz -naik


*kaum macht man es richtig, funktioniert es sofort*

Offline

#7 2014-02-03 21:46:04

chillicampari
Pinball Wizard
Registered: 2009-10-09
Posts: 2,728

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

Yep, what iMBeCil linked to (I have the Vantec adapter) is probably your best bet. If the drive is dead-dead it won't work but it's handy to have anyway.

Offline

#8 2014-02-04 09:08:53

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,643

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

or a docking station, i have one of this (someplace) and it works fine;
https://www.google.si/search?q=sata+to+ … =isch&sa=X
cons; I haven't seen one that is not b*t-ugly.

edit;  well, this one is cute
http://www.raidsonic.de/en/products.php … ectID=7671
(And all my icybox enclosures are still working, one must be more than 10 years old)

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2014-02-04 09:26:23)

Offline

#9 2014-02-04 12:56:32

schwim
#! Die Hard
From: Interweb's #1 Devotee
Registered: 2012-10-11
Posts: 1,031
Website

Re: mounting a drive: What cable would I need?

Thanks a bunch to all of you for your help.  I ended up grabbing a cable/non-enclosure setup linked above.  I'll give it a shot when the man in brown drops it off.

Thanks for everything!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo