SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-08-20 11:07:59

geekus
Member
From: Cherbourg (France)
Registered: 2013-06-21
Posts: 22
Website

[Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

Afternoon lads.

I'm kind of puzzled here.
Is it okay to install the Waldorf PAE distro on an Intel Atom, or shall I use the "old pc" distro instead.
Seems like the pae is designed for Pentium series only... Plus, it does not agree with a 400Mhz front bus.
Wikipedia says :
"PAE is supported by Intel Pentium Pro and later Pentium-series processors except most 400 MHz-bus versions of the Pentium M."
yikes
 
Thanks for the advice you might have.
Geekus.

Last edited by geekus (2013-08-20 17:09:54)


Compute me gently.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-08-20 11:31:38

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

I use pae or amd64 on my Atom netbook.


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#3 2013-08-20 12:56:48

NNJRob
Member
Registered: 2013-01-14
Posts: 18

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

Posting this from a netbook, using Atom processors, a PAE kernel & 4.7 GiB of RAM  wink

Offline

#4 2013-08-20 14:25:59

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

@geekus:  While not all Atoms are created equal, I can verify that the PAE kernels work great on an N270 - one of the earliest Atoms.  If your Atom is a true dual-core (not hyperthreaded like my N270), I would go for the amd64 kernel.

Offline

#5 2013-08-20 17:22:56

geekus
Member
From: Cherbourg (France)
Registered: 2013-06-21
Posts: 22
Website

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

I am writing this from the nicely first post install reboot (and a still warm cpu :8 )
Went back from work (on my bicycle, a bit more faster that I use to do ) with those advice in my head, tried it out. And it works like a charm.

I tried the old pc version first on my Lenovo S10 but then, it was not quiet like it was with the Statler.
So it is good to know that the Atom can take the pae version of it.

Kudos to the # team who, have made this nice and easy distro.

Thanks for your advice. 
Leaving you here. Bye for now.

Geekus.


Compute me gently.

Offline

#6 2013-08-20 19:10:53

Zill
#! CrunchBanger
From: Lincolnshire, UK
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 201

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

geekus:  Glad you got the PAE kernel installed OK on Waldorf. smile

For the benefit of anyone finding this thread later I can confirm that the PAE kernel also works fine on my Acer Aspire One D260-A using the Atom N450 processor and 1GB RAM.

Offline

#7 2015-01-30 13:23:32

inigopete
New Member
Registered: 2015-01-30
Posts: 1

Re: [Solved] PAE on ATOM processor ?

Sorry for resurrecting a very old thread - just wanted to say thanks for the above advice. I'm about to try installing "32-bit Waldorf for Modern PCs" (i.e. PAE) on my old Dell Inspiron 10v with Atom N270... Will let you know how I get on. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo