SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#2251 2015-01-11 03:42:24

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Ideas for Janice

I actually broke cb-compositor. tried to replace the one instance of terminator mentioned in it off the version on Corenominal's Git but that didn't work. I think it has to do with this: cb-include.cfg
Chances are we could get the current scripts working that way with some refactoring. I haven't traced it all back, but the depends for terminator in the repos are cb-pipemenus and cb-welcome. Most likely  all mentions of terminator in all Crunchbang scripts simply need to be replaced with x-terminal-emulator.

Edit: My workaround was to replace cb-compositor mentioned in autostart.sh with compton.
Edit again: That's the listed depends in apt-get. Actually it seems Terminator is hard-coded into all scripts that require terminal action.

Last edited by tknomanzr (2015-01-11 03:46:58)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2252 2015-01-11 04:45:16

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

pvsage wrote:

^ Huh.  I didn't replace all instances in menu.xml, but the top-level one I just replaced with x-terminal-emulator and reconfigured, set xterm as x-terminal-emulator in update-alternatives, et voila.

The top level one works because it does not send the same options (like --execute or --command, with quotes) to a process, and 'man' closes before it can actually be read.

the syntax of terminator:

terminator --command="man conky"

compare with x-terminal-emulator
x-terminal-emulator -e "man conky" (this does not work, at least with rxvt)
x-terminal-emulator -e man conky (works, but closes at once)

It would only work like this:
x-terminal-emulator -e info conky

which means you have to replace man with info and the quotes with nothing smile


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#2253 2015-01-11 10:18:09

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Ideas for Janice

^ Ah, so it's the ones where an executable is passed to the terminal session.  Perhaps it's a default shell thing?

Haven't tested it yet (just got caught up on some sleep, first time I felt rested in a couple weeks), but maybe pass to a shell script (placed in ~/bin from /etc/skel/)?

#!/bin/bash
x-terminal-emulator -e "$1"

Offline

#2254 2015-01-11 11:22:46

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

^ Yes, exactly. Or a bit more radically (for the example of man only):

x-terminal-emulator -e man -P less man

Strange but true smile Usually less is the pager anyway (you can set it to more, most, less or even certain text browsers), but some systems show nothing when asked for echo $PAGER, so setting it explicitly to PAGER=/usr/bin/less should already be okay. If the environment variable is not read (because of whatever reasons), it shall be passed to man using the -P option.

However, -e in x-terminal-emulator does not use the double quotes ("), so replacing the terminator entries in menu.xml require really a little bit more than just replacing terminator with x-terminal-emulator.

There are, IIRC, no other terminal applications opened from within the Openbox menu, only manpages. Been a while when I last used a default #!

Last edited by machinebacon (2015-01-11 11:25:15)


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#2255 2015-01-11 14:08:06

samdraz
#! CrunchBanger
From: Earth
Registered: 2013-03-10
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

switch to conman from network-manager

Offline

#2256 2015-01-11 15:43:55

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Ideas for Janice

machinebacon wrote:

^ Yes, exactly. Or a bit more radically (for the example of man only):

x-terminal-emulator -e man -P less man

Strange but true smile Usually less is the pager anyway (you can set it to more, most, less or even certain text browsers), but some systems show nothing when asked for echo $PAGER, so setting it explicitly to PAGER=/usr/bin/less should already be okay. If the environment variable is not read (because of whatever reasons), it shall be passed to man using the -P option.

However, -e in x-terminal-emulator does not use the double quotes ("), so replacing the terminator entries in menu.xml require really a little bit more than just replacing terminator with x-terminal-emulator.

There are, IIRC, no other terminal applications opened from within the Openbox menu, only manpages. Been a while when I last used a default #!

htop is also in there

Offline

#2257 2015-01-11 15:45:20

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

^ Oh yes, right. Should work with "x-terminal-emulator -e htop" anyway smile Thanks.


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#2258 2015-01-11 16:13:21

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Ideas for Janice

Curiouser and curiouser.  I just tried both `x-terminal-emulator -e "man conky"` and `xterm -e "man conky"` in gmrun (on a fresh install with Terminator as x-terminal-emulator); both work.  So again, I'm thinking default shell executed by Openbox.

Offline

#2259 2015-01-11 16:28:16

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

samdraz wrote:

switch to conman from network-manager

Interesting ...  but double "n" connman - I couldn't find 'conman' - well as a Linux app anyway ... my neighbour I found. lol

v1.0-1 is in the Wheezy repos, not sure about Jessie Repos

... v1.27 is out - are you using it?

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-01-11 16:30:02)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#2260 2015-01-12 02:24:41

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

pvsage wrote:

Curiouser and curiouser.  I just tried both `x-terminal-emulator -e "man conky"` and `xterm -e "man conky"` in gmrun (on a fresh install with Terminator as x-terminal-emulator); both work.  So again, I'm thinking default shell executed by Openbox.

Seems the xterm handles the options "correctly" (or the same way as terminator), rxvt-unicode doesn't. How about "xterm -e man conky"?


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#2261 2015-01-12 02:55:30

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Ideas for Janice

Try this:

#!/bin/sh
"$@"
exec "$SHELL"
exit 0

Save in ~/bin, then in menu.xml this:

~/bin/conky_help

then finally the conky_help script goes like this:

#! /bin/bash
	#cmd = "man conky"
	x-terminal-emulator -e /home/orion/bin/shell_hack man conky
exit 0

where shell_hack is the name of the file produced at the top.
Here it is in action:
Screenshot_01112015_08_48_26_PM.jpg
Admittedly, it is hackish but it does work. Would love to see a better implementation of it. However, this does allow all commands in my menu to work using whatever x-terminal-emulator is set too, in this case, uxterm. It seems xterm names the window to be the name of the first script it passed through, in my case, shell_hack. uxterm seemed to get the naming right. So far, I have tested it on most of the xterm alternatives as well as lxterminal and sakura.

Offline

#2262 2015-01-12 05:07:50

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Ideas for Janice

machinebacon wrote:

Seems the xterm handles the options "correctly" (or the same way as terminator), rxvt-unicode doesn't. How about "xterm -e man conky"?

That works too.

Offline

#2263 2015-01-13 01:00:00

tknomanzr
#! Die Hard
From: Heavener, OK
Registered: 2014-12-09
Posts: 777

Re: Ideas for Janice

x-terminal-emulator -e man conky "$@" <---- the greatly shortened version. This lets me ditch all the excess scripts.

Offline

#2264 2015-01-16 18:19:56

HELPME
#! Junkie
From: the holley land
Registered: 2013-11-15
Posts: 256
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

drop true and false because theyre just a waste of space

Last edited by HELPME (2015-01-16 18:25:09)

Offline

#2265 2015-01-19 15:58:28

machinebacon
#! unstable
From: China
Registered: 2009-07-02
Posts: 6,826
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

^ hmmm, great idea, would make the installed system 56K smaller.... but, they are part of gnu's coreutils package, you could experiment and remove the package from your installed system (if APT allows you) and gain even more space wink


Sweaty lads picking up the soap | I love the new "Ignore user" button

Offline

#2266 2015-01-19 23:06:16

berkough
#! Member
From: Las Vegas
Registered: 2011-05-31
Posts: 90
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

Any chance of Nginx being the default webserver (as part of the cb-welcome script) instead of Apache2?  Seems like it would be the best alternative, nice and lightweight, but still full featured.


--
["In wine there is wisdom, in beer there is freedom, in water there is bacteria."] ~ Ben Franklin

Offline

#2267 2015-01-20 22:53:00

hunterjack
New Member
Registered: 2015-01-20
Posts: 1

Re: Ideas for Janice

-Tool for adjusting power consumption
_Keep Thunar
-Soport for HPLIP

Offline

#2268 2015-01-26 06:22:52

neal
Member
Registered: 2012-10-21
Posts: 17

Re: Ideas for Janice

The jessie version of terminator properly supports -e when used as x-terminal-emulator, but it never got fixed in wheezy. I think this gets brought up every 6 months or so for the last two years.

tknomanzr wrote:

I actually broke cb-compositor. tried to replace the one instance of terminator mentioned in it off the version on Corenominal's Git but that didn't work. I think it has to do with this: cb-include.cfg
Chances are we could get the current scripts working that way with some refactoring. I haven't traced it all back, but the depends for terminator in the repos are cb-pipemenus and cb-welcome. Most likely  all mentions of terminator in all Crunchbang scripts simply need to be replaced with x-terminal-emulator.

Edit: My workaround was to replace cb-compositor mentioned in autostart.sh with compton.
Edit again: That's the listed depends in apt-get. Actually it seems Terminator is hard-coded into all scripts that require terminal action.

Offline

#2269 2015-01-31 15:30:47

samdraz
#! CrunchBanger
From: Earth
Registered: 2013-03-10
Posts: 233
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

true color support in terminator! lol

Offline

#2270 2015-01-31 23:27:45

ex0
Member
Registered: 2012-05-11
Posts: 15

Re: Ideas for Janice

Looking forward to a new release  8)

Offline

#2271 2015-02-02 10:04:11

caieng
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-12-31
Posts: 103

Re: Ideas for Janice

ex0 wrote:

Looking forward to a new release

I am certain everyone here shares that sentiment.

I am hoping that the new version will correct one "defect" (it is simply idiosyncratic, not a defect, per se).

I listen to music.  The stations are listed on a great website, "Mike's classical music"
http://www.listenlive.eu/classical.html
With that web site, it is very easy to switch from BBC-3 in UK, for example, to a station in France, Germany, Italy, Czech, Latvia, etc, etc.

With Crunchbang Waldorf (current version), one must FIRST close VLC, else, clicking on the new station invokes a second instance, and now one has two radio stations playing simultaneously.  Clicking again, leads to three stations playing concurrently........

Other Linux versions, including some based also on Debian, do not impose this unnecessary step on the user.  When one is dissatisfied with the music playing on one station, one simply clicks on another, and that action automatically closes the current instance of VLC, and starts up the new broadcast. 

It would be helpful, and diminish aggravation, if the default setting for the new release included termination of the current instance of VLC, prior to switching to the new choice.

Offline

#2272 2015-02-02 10:18:06

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Ideas for Janice

^ This is a good point.  In VLC this can be set via preferences (there's a checkbox for "allow only one instance"); I'm guessing other distros have a modified .config/vlc/vlcrc in /etc/skel with this set to true.

Last edited by pvsage (2015-02-02 10:18:24)

Offline

#2273 2015-02-02 13:28:01

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: not where I belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 3,264

Re: Ideas for Janice

hunterjack wrote:

_Keep Thunar

Dump Thunar; replace with PCManFM.  PCManFM rocks!  Two other good candidates would be SpaceFM (unfortunately development has ceased) or Double Commander.

In the end it doesn't really matter.  You can purge and install to your heart's content.

Last edited by KrunchTime (2015-02-02 13:28:48)


Linux User #586672
Come and Die -- Kyle Idleman

Offline

#2274 2015-02-02 16:08:53

caieng
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-12-31
Posts: 103

Re: Ideas for Janice

pvsage wrote:

^ This is a good point.  In VLC this can be set via preferences (there's a checkbox for "allow only one instance"); I'm guessing other distros have a modified .config/vlc/vlcrc in /etc/skel with this set to true.

Thanks for that suggestion pvsage.

I did check another distro, Mint/Cinnamon, which operates VLC "correctly", that is, a single instance only, by default, and in /etc I did locate /skel, however, when I changed directory to skel, I found it empty.  So, it looks like there may be some other method employed to assign single instance by default.

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2275 2015-02-02 17:23:43

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Ideas for Janice

caieng wrote:

So, it looks like there may be some other method employed to assign single instance by default.

Edit ~/.config/vlc/vlcrc

3960 |
3961 | # Allow only one running instance (boolean)
3962 | one-instance=1
3963 |
3964 | # One instance when started from file (boolean)
3965 | one-instance-when-started-from-file=1
3966 |

Uncomment lines 3962 & 3965 and make sure both end "=1"
Don't touch the [Preferences] in VLC - simply edit the config file the old way - by hand.

And there you have it.   wink

Just did a test - opened ~/.config/vlc/vlcrc and then VLC and » Preferences ... it "commented" the line and replaced 1 for 0

Last edited by Sector11 (2015-02-02 19:40:08)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo