SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-31 13:59:08

incogn1to
#! CrunchBanger
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 125
Website

Remove Pulseaudio

Today is my lucky day. I finally found out how to completely remove pulseaudio from system.

sudo killall pulseaudio
sudo apt-get purge pulseaudio pulseaudio-utils gstreamer0.10-pulseaudio libpulse-browse0 paman pavumeter pavucontrol
sudo mv /etc/asound.conf /etc/asound.conf-bak
rm ~/.pulse-cookie
rm -r ~/.pulse

Reboot. Then install:

sudo apt-get install alsa-base alsa-tools alsa-tools-gui alsa-utils alsa-oss alsamixergui libalsaplayer0

After next reboot you will get normal sound without distortion, cracking noises and wasted CPU.

PS Happy New Year everybody! smile
PSS Even skype started working properly. The only problem - xfce4-volumed doesn't like the absence of pulseaudio very much, but I think I will find a way around it.

Last edited by incogn1to (2012-12-31 14:14:34)


Don't let anyone ever make you feel like you don't deserve what you want
Samsung 535U3C

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-12-31 14:21:30

incogn1to
#! CrunchBanger
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Additionally - replace Volume Control Command in PNMixer with:

xfce4-mixer

or any other mixer you like.

Last edited by incogn1to (2012-12-31 14:22:17)


Don't let anyone ever make you feel like you don't deserve what you want
Samsung 535U3C

Offline

#3 2012-12-31 14:42:48

incogn1to
#! CrunchBanger
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

To get xfce4-volumed working, you should start xfce4-mixer and add all audio channels you wish to manipulate.
Then you should run

xfconf-query -c xfce4-mixer -p /active-track --create -t string -s "Master"

You may replace "Master" with any other auido channel. Command shows xfce4-volumed which channel you are interested in.
After restart volume control works as expected.

PS #! is a best Linux distribution again smile

Last edited by incogn1to (2012-12-31 14:43:52)


Don't let anyone ever make you feel like you don't deserve what you want
Samsung 535U3C

Offline

#4 2012-12-31 20:18:15

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 370

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Nice write up! I often wonder why professor nominal uses pulse. Seems lately like it causes more grief than glad.

Offline

#5 2013-01-12 08:05:13

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#6 2013-01-12 08:32:42

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 370

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

pcm.!default {
    type plug
    slave.pcm "dmixer"
}

pcm.dmixer  {
     type dmix
     ipc_key 1024
     slave {
        pcm "hw:1,0"
        period_time 0
        period_size 1024
        buffer_size 4096
        rate 44100
    }
    bindings {
        0 0
        1 1
    }
}

ctl.dmixer {
    type hw
     card 1
}

Last edited by junkie (2013-01-12 08:41:42)

Offline

#7 2013-01-12 15:28:30

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

thanks junkie (is that your username? i don't want to insult you).
i didn't quite get if your tips are for a setup with or without pulseaudio?
oh well i will take a look at my asound.conf now anyway.
what's dmixer?

Offline

#8 2013-01-12 18:42:54

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 370

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Last edited by junkie (2013-01-12 18:47:38)

Offline

#9 2013-01-13 17:26:05

antiv0rtex
#! Die Hard
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 574

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#10 2013-01-13 17:38:30

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

I had the same problem.

sudo apt-get install gstreamer0.10-alsa

Offline

#11 2013-01-21 05:43:48

incogn1to
#! CrunchBanger
From: Riga, Latvia
Registered: 2010-07-20
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

By the way - PA is not so ugly on newest kernels. I updated to 3.7.2 and now PA works fine.


Don't let anyone ever make you feel like you don't deserve what you want
Samsung 535U3C

Offline

#12 2013-01-22 08:42:40

ohnonot
...again
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 2,205

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

hello junkie! parallel conversations!

so i removed pa, alsa works nicely on its own.
however if i use the asound conf you suggest (i replaced hw:1,0 with 0,0 and card 1 with 0) pcm don't work anymore, everything runs through master.
obviously i have to set up dmix somehow... is there an easy way to do it?

Offline

#13 2013-01-22 11:58:14

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 13,970

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

@R3nCi:  Did installing gstreamer0.10-alsa fix xfce4-mixer for you?  I just tried it on the latest Waldorf release after following incogn1to's guide, and it worked (and was necessary) here.

Offline

#14 2013-01-22 21:28:31

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 370

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#15 2013-01-23 17:36:29

antiv0rtex
#! Die Hard
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 574

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#16 2013-01-23 17:49:12

swensken
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 10

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

@R3nCi: You mean from pnmixer icon in the systray? If so, did you right click on the pnmixer's icon, and then left click on the "Behaviror" tab? And did you then change the value under "Volume Control Command" to "xfce4-mixer" and then clicked "OK"?

Last edited by swensken (2013-01-23 19:41:43)


Asus P8Z68-V, Intel Core i7 2600K, 8GB DDR 1600, Intel 520 SSD, 120gb , Seagate Barracuda 500gb, SyncMaster SA300B

Offline

#17 2013-01-23 18:26:48

ManofJELLO
Member
Registered: 2013-01-05
Posts: 47

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

removed pulse and followed the above method.  master volume setting seems not to be linear anymore?  not that I care and it all works, but just a peculiarity I noticed.

Offline

#18 2013-01-24 03:45:11

antiv0rtex
#! Die Hard
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 574

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#19 2013-01-24 06:54:03

swensken
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 10

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

@R3nCi: Good to hear it's working.  smile


Asus P8Z68-V, Intel Core i7 2600K, 8GB DDR 1600, Intel 520 SSD, 120gb , Seagate Barracuda 500gb, SyncMaster SA300B

Offline

#20 2013-04-07 05:46:11

antiv0rtex
#! Die Hard
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 574

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

OK, so I ran into some kind of problem - I don't remember what - and reverted to Pulseaudio a few months ago. I'd like to give ALSA another shot now, so I followed the steps presented in this guide. Now my system is without audio altogether. Neither xfce4mixer nor alsamixergui are picking up any audio while a YouTube video or locally-stored FLAC audio file is playing.

Once again: thoughts? smile

Offline

#21 2013-05-05 23:58:00

dgz
#! Junkie
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 380

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Last edited by dgz (2013-05-06 00:22:27)

Offline

#22 2013-05-08 02:42:38

antiv0rtex
#! Die Hard
From: Earth
Registered: 2012-10-05
Posts: 574

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

#23 2013-05-12 16:09:33

kbmonkey
#! Die Hard
From: South Africa
Registered: 2011-01-14
Posts: 879
Website

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Nice guide, thanks man big_smile and all it too was 912 kB of archives.

Youtube videos have badly stuttered audio though sad

Time to Google some solutions...

Solved: I disabled the cruddy adobe flash plugin (it could not purge via apt so I disabled it in the chrome:plugins URL), then installed gnash:

sudo apt-get install gnash browser-plugin-gnash

Beautiful!

Last edited by kbmonkey (2013-05-12 16:48:57)

Offline

#24 2013-05-12 20:19:07

dgz
#! Junkie
Registered: 2011-11-22
Posts: 380

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

sudo mv /etc/asound.conf /etc/asound.conf-bak
rm ~/.pulse-cookie
rm -r ~/.pulse

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#25 2013-05-17 10:04:26

shazeal
New Member
Registered: 2013-05-08
Posts: 7

Re: Remove Pulseaudio

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo