SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-27 18:03:07

dura
Bloated Gimp

Ban Conky

It has come to my attention that Conky- a system monitor that pins itself to users' desktop- has highly addictive properties and that users of such Conky find themselves sitting alone for hours editing and developing long scripts. Often, these users may not eat for days, nor clean themselves, because their addiction to Conky is so strong. I have some experience of this, and have seen my musculature dwindle as only my arms have been used. It also seems that #! is a central meeting place for users of Conky, supporting a forum of poor Conky users who produce many threads of considerable length devoted to their addiction, and that the organization itself ships an operating system that automatically introduces Conky into the lives of unexpecting computer enthusiasts.

I think it is time a serious discussion was had about the merits and downfalls of Conky, and whether its use should be banned under the Addictive Substances Act.

Yours Sincerely,

d!

Last edited by dura (2012-09-27 18:05:43)

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-09-27 18:27:19

mariannemarlow
#! Die Hard
Website

Re: Ban Conky

It'd be addictive to me too if I was any good at this stuff smile

Between two evils, I always pick the one I never tried before ~ Mae West

#3 2012-09-27 18:42:22

snowpine
#!-a-roo

Hate conky. It was the first thing I disabled in my #! days. (actually, tablaunch was worse, if any of the old-timers remember that!)

/hugged

#4 2012-09-27 18:50:10

mariannemarlow
#! Die Hard
Website

NOOOOO you can't hate conky!
It checks my gmail from mon amour pour moi!

#5 2012-09-27 18:55:31

snowpine
#!-a-roo

mariannemarlow wrote:

NOOOOO you can't hate conky!
It checks my gmail from mon amour pour moi!

He never sends me anything, therefore.... no need for conky.

/hugged

#6 2012-09-27 19:06:38

mariannemarlow
#! Die Hard
Website