SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-27 09:07:40

skbierm
#! Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-17
Posts: 89

[upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

I had occasional lockups with extreme hard disk activity in my Waldorf setup. At the end, after setting up some new conky-files yesterday, tomorrow morning I found the reason, it is byobu. Under circumstances, that I now could find out, you're systems load could grow far beyond 100 ... I got 161 today, had to photograph it via my mobiles cam ^.^

Well ... see for yourself (last screenshot ... and showing apt-cache byobu bug ...) http://666kb.com/i/c5v62rs2kjouz7uqe.png

The bug is easy reproduceable ... open a terminal, su as another user, start byobu ... and after a short while, you're load raises and raises, while byobu fire's up one apt-cache after the next (in the screenshot there are suddenly 30+ apt-cache's running in parallel).

Thanks to conky, I got for the  first time a clue, what happened.

If I do the same with with tmux - instead of byobu - all is safe. On my wife's Ubuntu Precise and Quantal - this bug doesn't exist, so on newer versions (5.17 Precise, 5.21 Quantal) it doesn't happen.

Last edited by skbierm (2012-07-27 11:16:13)


Running #! on
* Lenovo ThinkPad Edge e420s, Intel Core i5-2430M, 8 GB Ram, 320 GB HD, 1366x768, Intel GMA HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6630M 2GB
* ASUS F55A-091D, Intel Pentium B980, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel HD Graphics, 1366x768
* Panasonic ToughBook CF-19, Intel Core Duo U7500, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel GMA 950, 1024x768 Touchdisplay

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-07-27 11:15:09

skbierm
#! Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-17
Posts: 89

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

I reported the bug upstream to Debian: Bug#682958: Acknowledgement (byobu spawns apt-cache without end ... and freezes that way the system by high load)


Running #! on
* Lenovo ThinkPad Edge e420s, Intel Core i5-2430M, 8 GB Ram, 320 GB HD, 1366x768, Intel GMA HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6630M 2GB
* ASUS F55A-091D, Intel Pentium B980, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel HD Graphics, 1366x768
* Panasonic ToughBook CF-19, Intel Core Duo U7500, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel GMA 950, 1024x768 Touchdisplay

Offline

#3 2012-07-27 12:40:39

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,131
Website

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

Nice work smile


Ex-developer of #! CrunchBang. Follow me on Twitter smile

Offline

#4 2012-07-27 12:57:51

SabreWolfy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-03-09
Posts: 1,285

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

Why does byobu spawn apt-cache at all?


Support #!Waldorf • Debian sid • Xubuntu • siduction • Peppermint • OpenBox • Xfce • LXDE •

Offline

#5 2012-07-27 13:04:17

skbierm
#! Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-17
Posts: 89

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

Thank you, Corenominal! That bug really got me yesterday ... (thought before - it was Compton ... but nothing in the logs).

@SabreWolfy ... byobu normally shows automatically - how many updates are available on the machine you stumble upon, ... a handy feature for administrating (also all my machines are setup to automatically update themself) ...


Running #! on
* Lenovo ThinkPad Edge e420s, Intel Core i5-2430M, 8 GB Ram, 320 GB HD, 1366x768, Intel GMA HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6630M 2GB
* ASUS F55A-091D, Intel Pentium B980, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel HD Graphics, 1366x768
* Panasonic ToughBook CF-19, Intel Core Duo U7500, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel GMA 950, 1024x768 Touchdisplay

Offline

#6 2012-07-28 10:17:58

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

skbierm wrote:

(also all my machines are setup to automatically update themself) ...

And you do this on Waldorf? At least Testing is frozen now.

Offline

#7 2012-07-28 10:37:04

skbierm
#! Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-17
Posts: 89

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

I don't get what is the point of your question, ivanovnegro, for me it looks like something got lost in translation. So, do I .. what?


Running #! on
* Lenovo ThinkPad Edge e420s, Intel Core i5-2430M, 8 GB Ram, 320 GB HD, 1366x768, Intel GMA HD 3000 + AMD Radeon HD 6630M 2GB
* ASUS F55A-091D, Intel Pentium B980, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel HD Graphics, 1366x768
* Panasonic ToughBook CF-19, Intel Core Duo U7500, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Intel GMA 950, 1024x768 Touchdisplay

Offline

#8 2012-07-28 11:25:16

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

I meant the automatic updates on your system, in this case rather upgrades. I find that risky on Testing/Unstable. But I do not know how you set up this on your machine.

Offline

#9 2012-08-28 16:18:34

ThomasAdam
#! Member
Registered: 2009-10-30
Posts: 74

Re: [upstream reported] Bug in byobu could bring up the 100 to load!

I've sent patches to the tmux mailing list to address this problem by giving each job a persistent and per-process timeout, leaving the default status-interval as a catch-all.

-- Thomas Adam

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo