SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-20 14:43:31

saneks
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 1,020

ram usage chrome - why so much?

I havent used my old eee pc for a while, it has february 2011 statler on, I apt-get upgraded everything a few days ago.

I find it very strange that when I use the chrome browser as only open program and open about 5 or 6 tabs (all mainly news-sites with text, some pic-thumbnails, no video or flashy flash and ofcourse adblock enabled) - my ram usage skyrockets to about 500mb (which maxes out this tiny computer), sometimes chrome hangs for minutes or even crashes.. I remember I could have tons of more tabs open - have  the websites of today become so packed full with data? and what is it? i mean, I read only news.

I mean: idle crunchbang takes 80-90mb, with browser on and this forum tab I am on 168mb now. how can a few extra tabs with simple content take up 300mb ram?

Last edited by saneks (2012-01-20 14:52:15)


eee701 user & other lap/desktops

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-01-20 14:50:25

rhowaldt
#!*$%:)
Registered: 2011-03-09
Posts: 4,396

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

^ not 100% sure, but i do know Chrome crashed my parents' (Windows) PC completely. maybe something similar going on here as well? i have no idea about the details, i thought it had something to do with multi-threading or something but i'm now more throwing cool terms around instead of actually knowing what i'm talking about smile

Offline

#3 2012-01-20 15:03:51

saneks
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 1,020

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

I am just trying to open stuff and watch conky what happens.. 1 single tab of news takes up 50 mb ram when opening, goes down to 30mb after a while. facebook eats 60mb ram when opening, goes down to 40mb after a while. so 3 tabs in chrome = now roughly 170-190 mb ram used only for that .. will try that with other browsers now.

sometimes chrome freezes when opening a few tabs (seemingly that extra-startup ram for opening a tab is responsible or that, so not too many at a time) - and when it crashes, it usally also kills tint2. conky then shows me cruchbang uses only 38 mb of ram and is still working.

Last edited by saneks (2012-01-20 15:10:35)


eee701 user & other lap/desktops

Offline

#4 2012-01-20 15:06:28

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,749

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

Chrome is by far the hungriest browser.

Offline

#5 2012-01-20 15:09:01

snowpine
#!-a-roo
Registered: 2008-11-24
Posts: 2,984

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

I recommend ad block, flash block, and/or script block add-ons for web surfing on old computers. Pages load sooo much faster (and use less RAM) without all the junk. smile


/hugged

Offline

#6 2012-01-20 15:16:51

saneks
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 1,020

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

When I first used chrome, I kinda liked its speed on this old box.  this was the reason I did not install firefox like I usually do. maybe they changed something in the chrome RAM policy?

I think try another browser and will also invest 20 bucks in a new RAM bar with 2 gigs.

edit: iceweasel with no adblock, same 3 tabs: 50mb ram usage vs 170mb on chrome. no ram-skyrocketing for opening tabs.

goodbye chrome smile

Last edited by saneks (2012-01-20 15:27:31)


eee701 user & other lap/desktops

Offline

#7 2012-01-20 18:37:41

ivanovnegro
Ivan #000000
From: unstable madness
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 5,432

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

el_koraco wrote:

Chrome is by far the hungriest browser.

+1

Also @sankes, it could be Flash that uses so much especially on Facebook.

Offline

#8 2012-01-20 18:53:42

CBizgreat!
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-07-27
Posts: 1,865

Re: ram usage chrome - why so much?

Guess there's nothing wrong w it per se, but jmo .... Chrome bytes.

Don't quote cuz not 100% sure about, think every tab someone opens is almost like a new instance of Chrome running, some security deal like sandboxing the folks behind Chrome came up with. Had the same experiences with it you're talking about. One of a buncha reasons chrome(ium) would never be default on any PC of mine. Chrome is not faster than mozilla's stuff, IF you know a bit about using it. For me think almost everything mozilla runs circles around Chrome, not only faster ... but only use a drop in the bucket of RAM compared to Chrome/others.

By way of comparison, a completely unscientific test. Popped open a bookmark folder in Aurora, 23 tabs open atm = Started under 200, quickly dropped to 161mbs, now at 158mbs. Wouldn't even try that with Chrome, it'd crash this old PC. If anyone felt like digging through my post history there are some good tips on mozilla browsers to be found. Well actually a big step in the right direction is one plugin = Noscript.

Last edited by CBizgreat! (2012-01-20 19:02:38)


Some common cbiz abbreviations. This will save me time and yet @ same time tell folks what the babble is supposed to mean.

Vll ! = ( Viva la gnu/Linux !)    Vl#!! = ( Viva la #! !)    Last but not least, UD ... OD ! = ( Use Debian ... or die !) tongue

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo