SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#5851 2013-07-29 08:18:29

tty-tourist
#! CrunchBangian
From: within the swirl
Registered: 2013-05-26
Posts: 281

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@farinet:

You reversed the p and i there, it's:

${acpiacadapter}

By default it looks for the power state subfolders "AC" and "ADP1" in /sys/class/power_supply. If it doesn't work you can supply the right folder name as an option.  For example I have:

${acpiacadapter ACAD}

Last edited by tty-tourist (2013-07-29 08:19:34)


"You're just a tourist with a typewriter." - Charlie Meadows, Barton Fink

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#5852 2013-07-29 09:07:09

farinet
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 296

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Thanks a lot. That was it!

Offline

#5853 2013-07-29 18:44:33

Alefa
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2013-03-29
Posts: 42

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hi everyone,

I'm using a slightly modified version of the popular Gotham Conky on my Debian desktop (Wheezy with KDE). Until yesterday it was working fine, but then I decided to change some of the colours. Now the bottom part of the time and system info display is missing (see screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/sDcFXz9.png).
Here's my .conkyrc:

use_xft yes
xftfont 123:size=8
xftalpha 0.1
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
own_window_argb_visual yes
double_buffer yes
maximum_width 800
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color white
default_shade_color red
default_outline_color green
alignment top_right
gap_x 40
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 1
override_utf8_locale yes
use_spacer right


TEXT
${voffset 10}${color EAEAEA}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=120}${time %H:%M}${font}${voffset -84}${offset 10}${color A9D0F5}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=42}${time %d} ${voffset -15}${color EAEAEA}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=22}${time  %B} ${time %Y}${font}${voffset 24}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=58}${offset -148}${time %A}${font}
${voffset 1}${offset 12}${font Ubuntu:pixelsize=10}${color A9D0F5}HD ${offset 9}$color${fs_free /} / ${fs_size /}${offset 30}${color A9D0F5}RAM ${offset 9}$color$mem / $memmax${offset 30}${color A9D0F5}CPU ${offset 9}$color${cpu cpu0}%

Unfortunately, I didn't make a backup of the original conkyrc. I have a backup on an external drive at home, but don't have access to it at the moment. Anyway, as far as I know, I didn't change anything except the colour, and I reverted the colour change after noticing the problem. I really don't understand why it isn't working anymore. Would be very grateful for your ideas and suggestions.

Offline

#5854 2013-07-29 19:33:20

Inodoro Pereyra
#! Die Hard
From: Back in Buenos Aires
Registered: 2013-07-01
Posts: 844

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Add this line:

minimum_size xxx yyy

(where "xxx" is the same number as your maximum width, and "yyy" will be your minimum height in pixels), right above your maximum_width line. Play with the minimum height number (yyy) until you get it right.

Offline

#5855 2013-07-29 19:44:13

Alefa
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2013-03-29
Posts: 42

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ Thanks, but I tried that already. It doesn't help, even if I set the yyy to a very large value like 2000. Actually, I read somewhere in the Arch wiki that you shouldn't use the minimum_size setting with KDE, although I don't know what side effects it has. As far as I can tell, it doesn't make a difference.

Offline

#5856 2013-07-29 20:18:53

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I had the same thing happen with that .conkyrc. I don't remember exactly but I think xkill-ing conky (killall didn't work) and changing own_window_type to desktop solved it for me. I'm including my .conkyrc below, but I've modified it a bit to get it to work with the overall desktop.

background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont 123:size=8
xftalpha 0.3
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type desktop
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 250 5
maximum_width 500
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color white
default_shade_color red
default_outline_color green
alignment top_left
gap_x 520
gap_y 430
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 1
override_utf8_locale yes
use_spacer yes


TEXT
${voffset 10}${color D8D8D8}${font Ubuntu Light:pixelsize=120}${time %H:%M}${font}${voffset -84}${offset 10}${color BBBBBB}${font Ubuntu Light:pixelsize=42}${time %d} ${voffset -1}${color D8D8D8}${font Ubuntu Light:pixelsize=22}${time  %B} ${time %Y}${font}${voffset 18}${font Ubuntu Light:pixelsize=58}${offset -148}${time %A}${font}
${voffset 1}${offset 32}${font Ubuntu:pixelsize=10}${color BBBBBB}HD ${offset 9}$color${fs_used /} / ${fs_size /}${offset 20}${color BBBBBB}RAM ${offset 9}$color$mem / $memmax${offset 20}${color BBBBBB}CPU ${offset 9}$color${cpu cpu0}%

Last edited by annoyingbeggar (2013-07-29 20:20:01)


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#5857 2013-07-29 22:33:25

tty-tourist
#! CrunchBangian
From: within the swirl
Registered: 2013-05-26
Posts: 281

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

I'm using xautolock as my only power/screen/safety precaution to suspend and lock my computer after 5 min of inactivity . I have made a script that automatically disables xautolock when output is switched to hdmi and I've made a shortcut to turn it off if I need to for other reasons. I would really like conky to output whether xautolock is enabled or not. Unfortunately there isn't any xautolock option to display current status (whether is it enabled or disabled).

Has anybody found a way to get this information so it can be played in conky?

Thanks!

Last edited by tty-tourist (2013-07-29 22:34:43)


"You're just a tourist with a typewriter." - Charlie Meadows, Barton Fink

Offline

#5858 2013-07-29 23:42:59

PackRat
#! Die Hard
From: USA
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 1,572

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ if you can find it's pid or name from htop (or top) you could probably parse the information with awk and maybe display the result as "active" or "inactive"

Just brain storming here, no practical application - sorry about that.


"It does not require many words to speak the truth." - Chief Joseph, Nez Perce tribe

Offline

#5859 2013-07-30 06:03:44

Alefa
Member
From: Freiburg, Germany
Registered: 2013-03-29
Posts: 42

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ annoyingbeggar:
Thanks for the suggestion. Changing own_window_type to desktop didn't solve the problem, but then I accidently found the solution: Just add a couple of blank lines at the bottom of the .conkyrc, below the TEXT area. I hadn't realized I had deleted these blank lines. So thanks for the help. Also thanks to the moderator who moved my question to the right thread.

Offline

#5860 2013-07-30 10:53:21

pineapple
New Member
Registered: 2013-07-30
Posts: 1

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hi people there...
I have a small conky problem. Everytime I plug an external drive conky automatically creates this new line at the end of conkyrc file

${color slate grey}JetFlash-1-2:${fs_size /media/JetFlash-1-2} ${color orange}U:${fs_used /media/JetFlash-1-2} ${color}F:${fs_free /media/JetFlash-1-2} ${if_empty mnttools_entry}$endif
$color${fs_bar /media/JetFlash-1-2} ${color orange}${diskio sdd1} ${if_empty mnttools_entry}$endif

and it doesnt matter how my config file looks like. I tried even the generic configuration file with no success. Im writing this since I cannot duckduck the answer anywhere on the internet.

thanks in advance

Offline

#5861 2013-07-31 22:30:43

tty-tourist
#! CrunchBangian
From: within the swirl
Registered: 2013-05-26
Posts: 281

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@ PackRat. Thanks for the suggestion. This is the output of "ps aux | grep xautolock":

2569  0.0  0.0  19956   912 ?        S    jul25   0:36 xautolock -time 5 -locker sudo pm-suspend -detectsleep

2569 being the PID of xautolock. The PID doesn't change whether the program is enabled or disabled - I don't mean if the program is running or not but whether its state has been changed by the commands:

xautolock -enable
xautolock -disable

This being the case do you still think I could get the current state of xautolock to conky with awk?

Last edited by tty-tourist (2013-08-01 21:46:17)


"You're just a tourist with a typewriter." - Charlie Meadows, Barton Fink

Offline

#5862 2013-07-31 23:07:02

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^
To know what state xautolock is in you probably need to add a line to the scripts (or make a script) that toggles the state that writes something out to a text file like this.

disable_xautolock

#! /bin/bash
xautolock -disable
echo "disabled" > ~/xautlock_state.txt
exit

enable_xautolock

#! /bin/bash
xautolock -enable
echo "enabled" > ~/xautlock_state.txt
exit

Make sure you make all your changes to the state of xautolock by calling the appropriate script and the file will log the current state of xautolock for you to read into conky.
You also need to initialize the value of the log file when you start xautolock (probably at login) by running

echo "enabled" > ~/xautlock_state.txt

at that time.

You can read the file into conky with
this in .conkyrc

${head ~/xautolock_state.txt 1}

or this in lua

local xautolock_file = io.open("~/xautolock_state.txt","r")
local xautolock_state = xautolock_file:read("*l") --# this holds the line read from the file
xautolock_file:close()

so you can display it in conky.

Offline

#5863 2013-07-31 23:30:52

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

As an addendum to what arclance said you could do this in a single script as well.

Something like:

#! /bin/bash
if [ ! -f $HOME/.xaldisabled ]; then
          xautolock -disable
          touch $HOME/.xaldisabled
          exit
else
         xautolock -enable
         rm $HOME/.xaldisabled
         exit
fi

then in conky:

${if_existing ~/.xaldisabled} xautolock is disabled ${else} xautolock is enabled ${endif}

Last edited by annoyingbeggar (2013-08-04 17:10:16)


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#5864 2013-07-31 23:40:14

arclance
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2012-03-29
Posts: 987

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

^ Your missing a "${endif}" to end your if statement.
It might cause problems without that.

Offline

#5865 2013-07-31 23:42:58

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Fixed. Thanks. That's what I get for typing code directly into the browser without checking it first.


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#5866 2013-08-01 21:39:02

tty-tourist
#! CrunchBangian
From: within the swirl
Registered: 2013-05-26
Posts: 281

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Thanks arclance and annoyingbeggar! Had been thinking about a solution like that but wasn't entirely sure how to implement it.

@ annoyingbeggar: where would I put the script you're suggestions to have it constantly monitor whether the commands "xautlock -enable" or "xautolock -disable" are begging called?


"You're just a tourist with a typewriter." - Charlie Meadows, Barton Fink

Offline

#5867 2013-08-01 23:51:20

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

No. Call it .xaltoggle or something and put it anywhere. chmod +x then when you want to toggle it run ./.xaltoggle. it will check if the .xaldisabled file exists to determine the state. If it doesn't it will disable it and create the file. If it does it will enable it and delete it. Conky will look for that same file to show the xautolock state.


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

#5868 2013-08-02 17:33:51

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Alefa wrote:

Hi everyone,

Unfortunately, I didn't make a backup of the original conkyrc. I have a backup on an external drive at home, but don't have access to it at the moment. Anyway, as far as I know, I didn't change anything except the colour, and I reverted the colour change after noticing the problem. I really don't understand why it isn't working anymore. Would be very grateful for your ideas and suggestions.

After that final % symbol add ${voffset 80}:

${cpu cpu0}%${voffset 80}
killall conky

and restart it!  Adjust the 80 to your needs:

Your code, your font:
2013_08_02_14_29_51_1920x1080_Sector11.jpg


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#5869 2013-08-03 06:55:05

Argumento
Member
From: Ciudad de México
Registered: 2013-07-30
Posts: 18

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Hello all. I've been running crunchbang for about 2 weeks now, and man do I love it.

I tweeked a little with conky, nothing much, just a little copy pasta and some fonts I got from da font.

Here's the pic.
de74eb8e9f093730ff1d9a2adaca9adf1a06da90.jpg

And here the (very messy) conky config:

##############################################
# Settings
##############################################
 
    background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Share-TechMono:size=8
xftalpha 1
update_interval 1.0
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type desktop
#own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 200 200
maximum_width 240
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color CCCCCC
default_shade_color 000000
default_outline_color 828282
alignment top_right
gap_x 36
gap_y 40
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale yes
##############################################
#  Output
##############################################


    TEXT    
    Ahora ${hr 2}
    ${font !Crass Roots OFL:size=64}${time %H:%M}${font}
    ${font !Crass Roots OFL:size=18}${Time %A %m-%d-%Y}${font}
    
    Comuna ${hr 2}
    
    ${font !Crass Roots OFL:size=10}crunchbang! ${font}$sysname $kernel 
    Hostname $alignr $nodename
    Uptime $alignr $uptime
    Procesador  ${hr 2}
    CPU $alignr ${cpu cpu0}%
    ${cpubar cpu0}

    MEM $alignc $mem / $memmax $alignr $memperc%
    $membar
    
    Espacio ${hr 2}

	Home:
	${fs_free /home}/${fs_size /home} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /home}
	Root:
	${fs_free /root}/${fs_size /root} ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 /root}
	Swap:
	$swapfree/$swapmax ${alignr}${fs_bar 8,60 $swapbar}
    
    Procesos ${hr 2}
    $processes processes ($running_processes running)
    ${font liberation Mono:normal:size=6}    
    NAME $alignr PID    CPU  MEM
    ${top name 1} $alignr ${top pid 1} ${top cpu 1} ${top mem 1}
    ${top name 2} $alignr ${top pid 2} ${top cpu 2} ${top mem 2}
    ${top name 3} $alignr ${top pid 3} ${top cpu 3} ${top mem 3}
    ${top name 4} $alignr ${top pid 4} ${top cpu 4} ${top mem 4}
    ${top name 5} $alignr ${top pid 5} ${top cpu 5} ${top mem 5}
    ${top name 6} $alignr ${top pid 6} ${top cpu 6} ${top mem 6}
    ${top name 7} $alignr ${top pid 7} ${top cpu 7} ${top mem 7}
    
    
  ${font !Crass Roots OFL:size:10} Las herramientas del amo 
  nunca desmontaran la casa del amo!!!

Last edited by Argumento (2013-08-03 06:56:42)


Salud y Revolución Social

Offline

#5870 2013-08-03 12:53:18

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Argumento wrote:

Hello all. I've been running crunchbang for about 2 weeks now, and man do I love it.

Here's the pic.

Welcome Argumento, second post and a conky!  Gotta like that.

May I suggest using thumbnails, it pretty much a forum rule and good etiquette everywhere anyway to lower band width.

Nice site: http://postimage.org/index.php - log in and you can choose Español as your language

Miniatura para foros (1) = de74eb8e9f093730ff1d9a2adaca9adf1a06da90.jpg - hot link to the full size.

Interesting text ... I might play with that.  big_smile


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#5871 2013-08-03 23:38:06

Naik
#! Die Hard
From: Leipzig
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 595

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

hey guys!

seems like i have missed something:
how do you show processor-type in conky like jed does here (right side under the 2nd hr)?

Thanks! -naik


*kaum macht man es richtig, funktioniert es sofort*

Offline

#5872 2013-08-04 00:06:35

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Naik wrote:

hey guys!

seems like i have missed something:
how do you show processor-type in conky like jed does here (right side under the 2nd hr)?

Thanks! -naik


Jed used these:

${execi 1000 cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //' | cut -c41-47} ${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //' | cut -c1-5} ${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //' | cut -c10-13}-${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //' | cut -c19-20} ${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | sed -e 's/model name.*: //' | cut -c28-49}

Depending on your CPU you'll need different "cuts"

 03 Aug 13 | 21:04:27 ~
    $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name'
model name	: AMD Athlon(tm) II X3 450 Processor
 
 03 Aug 13 | 21:05:08 ~
    $ 

I can make mine easier:

 03 Aug 13 | 21:17:53 ~
    $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c 14-23
AMD Athlon
 
 03 Aug 13 | 21:18:03 ~
    $ cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c 29-37
II X3 450
 
 03 Aug 13 | 21:18:07 ~
    $ 

And of course:

@ ${freq_g} GHz

or

@ ${freq} MHz

your option

And if I'm right dk75 did it all in one command with awk.

Last edited by Sector11 (2013-08-04 00:25:17)


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

#5873 2013-08-04 09:27:19

Naik
#! Die Hard
From: Leipzig
Registered: 2012-11-16
Posts: 595

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@sector11: Thank You!

Mine wrote:

${color 2B8077}$alignr${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c14-33}-{exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c45-61}

thats easy enough, thanks again!

greetz -naik


*kaum macht man es richtig, funktioniert es sofort*

Offline

#5874 2013-08-04 13:18:28

Sector11
#!'er to BL'er
From: SR11 Cockpit
Registered: 2010-05-05
Posts: 15,667
Website

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

Naik wrote:

@sector11: Thank You!

Mine wrote:

${color 2B8077}$alignr${exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c14-33}-{exec cat /proc/cpuinfo | egrep -m 1 'model name' | cut -c45-61}

thats easy enough, thanks again!

greetz -naik


One more thing ... from grep manpage:

GREP(1)                                       General Commands Manual                                       GREP(1)

NAME
       grep, egrep, fgrep, rgrep - print lines matching a pattern

SYNOPSIS
       grep [OPTIONS] PATTERN [FILE...]
       grep [OPTIONS] [-e PATTERN | -f FILE] [FILE...]

DESCRIPTION
       grep  searches  the  named input FILEs (or standard input if no files are named, or if a single hyphen-minus
       (-) is given as file name) for lines containing a match to the given PATTERN.  By default, grep  prints  the
       matching lines.

       In  addition,  three  variant  programs egrep, fgrep and rgrep are available.  egrep is the same as grep -E.
       fgrep is the same as grep -F.  rgrep is the same as grep -r.  Direct invocation as either egrep or fgrep  is
       deprecated, but is provided to allow historical applications that rely on them to run unmodified.

With mine I can drop the "e"

Thanks to jed though!  Which I forgot to mention in my previous post.


·  ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓   ↓  ·
BunsenLabs Forums now Open for Registration
·  ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑   ↑  · BL ModSquad

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#5875 2013-08-04 17:10:50

annoyingbeggar
#! Junkie
From: Florida
Registered: 2013-05-30
Posts: 430

Re: Conky v1.9 Thread

@Argumento - nice hostname  cool


“I don't believe in charity. I believe in solidarity. Charity is so vertical. It goes from the top to the bottom. Solidarity is horizontal. It respects the other person. I have a lot to learn from other people.” - Eduardo Hughes Galeano

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo