SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-02 12:17:08

mzrk7
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 27

having openbox menu to self update

is there a way to make it act that way? smile Thank you in advance!

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-06-02 13:46:05

mikhou
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2011-06-12
Posts: 148

Re: having openbox menu to self update

This has been asked quite a few times.  In order to get more information try searching the forums. 

Regardless, here's what I have done.  Do a google search for "uxdgmenu."  It's a neat program that creates pipe menus that you can plug into your existing stock #! menu.  I use it to produce an Applications pipe menu and a "Recent files" pipe menu.  I really like uxdgmenu.  It's lightweight and works really well.

mikhou

Offline

#3 2013-06-02 14:36:03

mzrk7
Member
Registered: 2013-05-07
Posts: 27

Re: having openbox menu to self update

I'll have a look at it, thank you!

Offline

#4 2013-06-13 23:39:56

Ponox
New Member
From: /home/Ponox
Registered: 2013-05-05
Posts: 9

Re: having openbox menu to self update

mikhou wrote:

This has been asked quite a few times.  In order to get more information try searching the forums. 

Regardless, here's what I have done.  Do a google search for "uxdgmenu."  It's a neat program that creates pipe menus that you can plug into your existing stock #! menu.  I use it to produce an Applications pipe menu and a "Recent files" pipe menu.  I really like uxdgmenu.  It's lightweight and works really well.

mikhou

If I recall correctly that is what Manjarro uses. There is a caveat in that it makes it difficult to edit the menus manually (at least in my experience).


Who am I? Who I am doesn't matter. All you need to know is that I run GNU+Linux.

Offline

#5 2013-06-14 01:16:19

pidsley
Window Mangler
Registered: 2012-05-23
Posts: 1,752

Re: having openbox menu to self update

Try lxpanel or fbpanel. They give you an automatically updating menu on the panel (but this will not update the openbox menu).

Offline

#6 2013-06-14 06:15:42

uname
#! Junkie
Registered: 2013-03-15
Posts: 462

Re: having openbox menu to self update

Perhaps you can execute

update-menus&

in

~/.config/openbox/autostart.sh

Last edited by uname (2013-06-14 06:15:58)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo