SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-12 19:59:26

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Lightworks - libc6 dependency

I want to install lightworks 11 (lwks-11.1.H-amd64.deb) but i can't satisfy dependency of libc6 package:

dpkg: dependency problems prevent configuration of lightworks:
 lightworks depends on libc6 (>= 2.14); however:
  Version of libc6:amd64 on system is 2.13-38.

How to install libc6 from experimental repos?


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-05-12 21:52:41

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

It doesn't look like wheezy is easily up-gradable to that, so perhaps a kick in the lwks forums will help?

Offline

#3 2013-05-12 22:21:08

Super-Nathan
#! CrunchBanger
From: South Korea
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 158
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

I run Sid/Waldorf/Siduction

I had a libc problem last week, and I tried upgrading just libC and it ended up pulling in a ton of other stuff. So if you cant get it in wheezy, it might not be the easiest to just cherry pick it from a newer release.


#echo "Something useful" > /dev/null

PiBang Linux

Offline

#4 2013-05-12 22:55:33

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11,506

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

Maybe simpler to build libc6 from source in Wheezy?


Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#5 2013-05-13 06:53:45

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,595

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

If you absolutely want it, you can either upgrade to sid or install a sid-based distro like VSIDO or aptosid.

Offline

#6 2013-05-13 17:39:41

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

ou damned, I googling about it and I found back to my post here big_smile
Unfortunately I not found any solution on google and lwks forum. If I maybe upgrade to sid or compile with experimental libc6 package but it requires install many other packages and I not want have unstable system.
So I must look about other video editor.


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#7 2013-05-13 18:55:05

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

ou damned, I googling about it and I found back to my post here big_smile

Thats good, that should mean lwks people are aware of the situation.
p.s. They did actually "promise" an open-source linux version of their app, not "Ubuntu" binary...

Offline

#8 2013-05-13 18:59:09

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

brontosaurusrex wrote:

p.s. They did actually "promise" an open-source linux version of their app, not "Ubuntu" binary...

yes but it still available only deb package for download and only these one latest version


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#9 2013-05-13 19:02:37

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

dimmuboy wrote:
brontosaurusrex wrote:

p.s. They did actually "promise" an open-source linux version of their app, not "Ubuntu" binary...

yes but it still available only deb package for download and only these one latest version

Well, actually my decision was to move on..., shame actually, I did quite some serious projects with their first editor (running on dos), It was my first non-linear love.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2013-05-14 20:16:41)

Offline

#10 2013-05-13 19:05:52

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

which editor using now?


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#11 2013-05-13 19:57:45

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

Not using linux for that.
Combos;
- old final cut 7 for longer projects (rarely)
- adobe CS6 collection for mid/shorter stuff
- autodesk smoke (rarely)

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2013-05-13 20:01:15)

Offline

#12 2013-05-13 20:12:45

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

thanks for good tips.. I using adobe CS6 too and I want to try cinelerra


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#13 2013-05-22 16:54:20

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

update:
Decided to try again, upgrading entire system to "testing" did the trick.

some random observations;
- this machine is not up to the task of editing i guess (just one hdd, no nvidia card..) / HD 1080p25 dvcpro 100
- audio is laggy and lag is random, when playback is stoped audio just goes on for another 10 seconds
- title tool /image import is borken, key is just horrible (eaten letters), I don't expect any motion-graphics capability, but basic "arial titles" should really just-work mkay, this could also be connected with my wrong gpu
- the app/gui (lwks) is just beautiful, kinda #! type of cuteness.

System:    Host: ticho Kernel: 3.2.0-4-amd64 x86_64 (64 bit) Desktop: Openbox 3.5.0 Distro: CrunchBang Linux waldorf
Machine:   System: Hewlett-Packard product: HP Compaq 8200 Elite SFF PC
           Mobo: Hewlett-Packard model: 1495 Bios: Hewlett-Packard version: J01 v02.06 date: 06/09/2011
CPU:       Dual core Intel Core i3-2100 CPU (-HT-MCP-) cache: 3072 KB flags: (lm nx sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx) 
           Clock Speeds: 1: 1600.00 MHz 2: 1600.00 MHz 3: 1600.00 MHz 4: 1600.00 MHz
Graphics:  Card: Intel 2nd Generation Core Processor Family Integrated Graphics Controller 
           X.Org: 1.12.4 drivers: intel (unloaded: fbdev,vesa) Resolution: 1920x1200@60.0hz 
           GLX Renderer: Mesa DRI Intel Sandybridge Desktop GLX Version: 3.0 Mesa 8.0.5
Audio:     Card: Intel 6 Series/C200 Series Chipset Family High Definition Audio Controller driver: snd_hda_intel 
           Sound: Advanced Linux Sound Architecture ver: 1.0.24
Network:   Card: Intel 82579LM Gigabit Network Connection driver: e1000e 
           IF: eth0 state: up speed: 1000 Mbps duplex: full mac: 3c:d9:2b:54:98:d0
Drives:    HDD Total Size: 250.1GB (-) 1: id: /dev/sda model: Hitachi_HDS72102 size: 250.1GB 
Partition: ID: / size: 226G used: 188G (88%) fs: ext4 ID: swap-1 size: 4.06GB used: 0.44GB (11%) fs: swap 
Sensors:   System Temperatures: cpu: 35.0C mobo: N/A 
           Fan Speeds (in rpm): cpu: N/A 
Info:      Processes: 146 Uptime: 2:59 Memory: 558.7/1834.0MB Client: Shell inxi: 1.8.20 

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2013-05-22 21:02:48)

Offline

#14 2013-05-22 20:00:55

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

I working with kdenlive now but I have problems with freezing app. I workingy several minutes and kdenlive stop responding and I must kill it and recover my project after launch again hmm


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#15 2013-05-22 20:06:02

brontosaurusrex
#! Red Menace
Registered: 2012-06-15
Posts: 1,014

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

lwks has "constant save", which seems to actually work.

Last edited by brontosaurusrex (2013-05-22 21:00:20)

Offline

#16 2013-05-24 19:15:30

dimmuboy
Member
From: Slovakia
Registered: 2013-05-12
Posts: 17
Website

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

yes this function have kdenlive too but it is no solution


google knows everything, you just have to know how to ask

Offline

#17 2013-05-25 07:02:26

KrunchTime
#! Die Hard
From: Not Where I Belong
Registered: 2012-03-02
Posts: 1,721

Re: Lightworks - libc6 dependency

You could add the Sid repos to your /etc/apt/sources.list file and explicitly pull the libc6 package from there, but you risk your system going #! by doing that.

You would also need to edit your /etc/apt/preferences file by adding the appropriate entry for Sid and setting the correct PIN priority.  I'm not an expert on PIN priorities though, so I couldn't tell you the correct entry to use.  You could check out the Tips, Tricks & Scripts forum or the Help & Support (Testing/Unstable) forum though.  I remember reading some information on pinning in one of those forums.

Last edited by KrunchTime (2013-05-25 07:12:09)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo