SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-02-23 12:59:09

phl
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 15

volume icon does not appear

hey guys

i just reinstalled my crunchbang, copied the configs of tint, and menus and all stuff.
the problem is i have no volume icon in my sis tray. i tried to type "alsamixer" in terminal and i can change the volume there, but i miss my volume icon.

can anybody help?
thnaks in advance

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-02-23 13:27:11

dkeg
#! Die Hard
From: Mid-Atlantic Grill
Registered: 2011-12-05
Posts: 716

Re: volume icon does not appear

place this

(sleep 3s && volumeicon) &

in

~/.config/openbox/autostart

grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

Offline

#3 2013-02-23 14:17:15

phl
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 15

Re: volume icon does not appear

dkeg wrote:

place this

(sleep 3s && volumeicon) &

in

~/.config/openbox/autostart

thanks, but i already have it in the autostart.

Offline

#4 2013-02-23 14:18:46

Philippe1
Member
Registered: 2012-12-19
Posts: 37

Re: volume icon does not appear

Hi, it might not be related, but just in case...
I had the same problem once: the volume icon disapeared after I tested a USB headphone on my computer and modified some sound parameters.
I just renamed (not deleted, in case I needed it back) the file config to something else in ~/.config/pnmixer
The icon came back after a restart.

Offline

#5 2013-02-24 13:56:36

phl
Member
Registered: 2012-12-08
Posts: 15

Re: volume icon does not appear

Philippe1 wrote:

Hi, it might not be related, but just in case...
I had the same problem once: the volume icon disapeared after I tested a USB headphone on my computer and modified some sound parameters.
I just renamed (not deleted, in case I needed it back) the file config to something else in ~/.config/pnmixer
The icon came back after a restart.

still havent got the icon

Offline

#6 2013-05-08 15:14:42

greenpossum
Member
Registered: 2009-07-10
Posts: 12

Re: volume icon does not appear

I just installed the stable #!11 Waldorf and also had no volume icon. With some searching I found that the default volume control applet is now pnmixer but autostart.sh still refers to volumeicon. Now, I'm not 100% certain if my autostart.sh is fresh or inherited from an older install. But changing the line with volumeicon to pnmixer and logging out and in again, I now have a volume applet.

At the same time I commented out the line with nm-applet as this is already started by the system and I ended up with two instances of that applet.

Offline

#7 2013-05-08 15:54:35

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,602

Re: volume icon does not appear

IIRC the version of openbox that comes with stable ( which is now Waldorf ! ) uses autostart in stead of autostart.sh.

Offline

#8 2013-05-10 13:19:28

greenpossum
Member
Registered: 2009-07-10
Posts: 12

Re: volume icon does not appear

Ah my bad, I was using old config files. I should not have been lazy. I should have saved my home files, formatted /home, and restored them. Then I would have an up-to-date set of skeleton files.

Last edited by greenpossum (2013-05-10 13:20:05)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo