SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-17 12:02:22

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Broken Waldorf installation

This is the thread you should look at for more info on my problem:

http://crunchbang.org/forums/viewtopic. … 62#p272662

I'm sure that I don't have to do much (short of reinstalling Waldorf), to get back up and running. I am brand new to Crunchbang so I just need some guidance on what to do.

I am typing this in Waldorf at the moment. All I have is Openbox. Tint2 does not appear unless I manually restart it from the Settings menu. Same goes for Conky.

I am hoping to get my Waldorf system back to normal soon because I have to do some recording tomorrow with it. Appreciate all the guidance I can get. A Big thanks!!!


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2012-11-17 12:09:10

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

tint2 is bloat. Just middle click anywhere on the desktop, and you'll get a list of windows and workspaces.

Offline

#3 2012-11-17 12:13:34

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

When I middle click it reminds me of IceWM. Nice. Should I be using another panel?


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#4 2012-11-17 14:33:50

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

You could. I'm not exactly sure why tint isn't starting up again if you replaced your botched copy with the one from /etc/skel.

Offline

#5 2012-11-17 15:19:38

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

I commented out tint2 in the autostart file. I was able to boot up properly into Openbox. If I didn't comment out tint2, I would be unable to startup properly.

What I am going to do is reinstall Crunchbang but this time installing the stable version instead of Waldorf and see what happens.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#6 2012-11-17 15:23:41

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Oh for fuck's sake don+t reinstall. Show me the output of

ls -al /etc/skel/.config/tint2

I'm not sure what the tint folder is called. Hit tab when you enter tint and it will autocomplete.

Last edited by el_koraco (2012-11-17 15:24:22)

Offline

#7 2012-11-17 15:45:17

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

I was just about to install the stable Crunchbang when I caught your email on my Mac.

I'm on my Mac writing this because my PC is unable to boot into crunchbang. I did however go into tty1 so that I could get the output you requested. Here goes:

drwxr-xr-x  2 root root 4096 Nov 16 06:06
drwxr-xr-x  20 root root 4096 Nov 16 06:06
-rw-r--r-- 1 root root 3975 Sept 24 05:49 tint2rc


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#8 2012-11-17 16:06:15

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

So did you do this at any point:

cp /etc/skel/.config/tint2/tint2rc ~/.config/tint2/tint2rc

Offline

#9 2012-11-17 16:18:27

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

I did it I think it was yesterday. I will try it again now and reboot to see what happens and post back.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#10 2012-11-17 16:28:12

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

OK, I have successfully rebooted back into Crunchbang but all I am getting is the ability to use Openbox. I have to manually restart Conky and Tint2. Should I try to uncomment the tint2 entry in the autostart file?


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#11 2012-11-17 16:33:13

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Try it bro.

Offline

#12 2012-11-17 16:45:59

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Didn't work. All I got was a black screen with an X so I had to go back into tty1 to comment tint2 again. After a restart of the system, I am able to get back to at least openbox. Still no Conky or tint2 unless I manually restart them.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#13 2012-11-17 17:07:53

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Maybe start it after s delay. In the autostart, something like:

(sleep 5s; tint2) &

Offline

#14 2012-11-17 17:24:56

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Like this?

nitrogen --restore && \
cb-compositor --start && \
sleep 2s && \
conky -q && \
(sleep 5s; tint2) &

Last edited by rmcellig (2012-11-17 17:25:25)


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#15 2012-11-17 17:35:24

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

That can't be your normal, though I haven't used Waldorf, so I can't be sure. Let me see

cat /etc/skel/.config/openbox/autostart.sh

Offline

#16 2012-11-17 17:40:30

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

This is my autostart if it helps. I had problems with tint2 starting after a conky mod (as somebody else has too).

## Openbox autostart.sh
## ====================
## When you login to your CrunchBang Openbox session, this autostart script 
## will be executed to set-up your environment and launch any applications
## you want to run at startup.
##
## Note*: some programs, such as 'nm-applet' are run via XDG autostart.
## Run '/usr/lib/openbox/openbox-xdg-autostart --list' to list any
## XDG autostarted programs.
##
## More information about this can be found at:
## http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Autostart
##
## If you do something cool with your autostart script and you think others
## could benefit from your hack, please consider sharing it at:
## http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/
##
## Have fun! :)

## Set root window colour
hsetroot -solid "#2E3436" &

## Group start:
## 1. nitrogen - restores wallpaper
## 2. compositor
## 3. sleep - give compositor time to start
## 4. conky
## 5. tint2 panel
(\
nitrogen --restore && \
cb-compositor --start && \
sleep 2s && \
conky -q && \
tint2 \
) &

## Enable hot corners
cb-hotcorners --daemon &

## Volume control for systray
(sleep 2s && pnmixer) &

## Volume keys daemon
xfce4-volumed &

## Enable power management
xfce4-power-manager &

## Start Thunar Daemon
thunar --daemon &

## Detect and configure touchpad. See 'man synclient' for more info.
if egrep -iq 'touchpad' /proc/bus/input/devices; then
    synclient VertEdgeScroll=1 &
    synclient TapButton1=1 &
fi

## Start xscreensaver
xscreensaver -no-splash &

## Start Clipboard manager
(sleep 3s && clipit) &

## Set keyboard settings - 250 ms delay and 25 cps (characters per second) repeat rate.
## Adjust the values according to your preferances.
xset r rate 250 25 &

## cb-fortune - have Waldorf say a little adage
(sleep 120s && cb-fortune) &

## GNOME PolicyKit and Keyring
(\
/usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=ssh && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=secrets && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=pkcs11 && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=gpg \
) &

# Autostart the Dropbox daemon
(sleep 10s && ~/.dropbox-dist/dropboxd) &

tint2 &

I haven't got any delay for tint2.

Offline

#17 2012-11-17 17:51:48

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

This is what comes up when I invoke cat /etc/skel/.config/openbox/autostart:

## Openbox autostart.sh
## ====================
## When you login to your CrunchBang Openbox session, this autostart script
## will be executed to set-up your environment and launch any applications
## you want to run at startup.
##
## Note*: some programs, such as 'nm-applet' are run via XDG autostart.
## Run '/usr/lib/openbox/openbox-xdg-autostart --list' to list any
## XDG autostarted programs.
##
## More information about this can be found at:
## http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Autostart
##
## If you do something cool with your autostart script and you think others
## could benefit from your hack, please consider sharing it at:
## http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/
##
## Have fun! smile

## GNOME PolicyKit and Keyring
eval $(gnome-keyring-daemon -s --components=pkcs11,secrets,ssh,gpg) &

## Set root window colour
hsetroot -solid "#2E3436" &

## Group start:
## 1. nitrogen - restores wallpaper
## 2. compositor - start
## 3. sleep - give compositor time to start
## 4. conky
## 5. tint2 panel
(\
nitrogen --restore && \
cb-compositor --start && \
sleep 2s && \
conky -q && \
tint2 \
) &

## Volume control for systray
(sleep 2s && pnmixer) &

## Volume keys daemon
xfce4-volumed &

## Enable power management
xfce4-power-manager &

## Start Thunar Daemon
thunar --daemon &

## Detect and configure touchpad. See 'man synclient' for more info.
if egrep -iq 'touchpad' /proc/bus/input/devices; then
    synclient VertEdgeScroll=1 &
    synclient TapButton1=1 &
fi

## Start xscreensaver
xscreensaver -no-splash &

## Start Clipboard manager
(sleep 3s && clipit) &

## Set keyboard settings - 250 ms delay and 25 cps (characters per second) repeat rate.
## Adjust the values according to your preferances.
xset r rate 250 25 &

## Turn on/off system beep
xset b off &

## The following command runs hacks and fixes for #! LiveCD sessions.
## Safe to delete after installation.
cb-cowpowers &

## cb-welcome - post-installation script, will not run in a live session and
## only runs once. Safe to remove.
(sleep 10s && cb-welcome --firstrun) &

## cb-fortune - have Waldorf say a little adage
#(sleep 120s && cb-fortune) &

You have new mail in /var/mail/randy
randy@randy:/etc/skel/.config/openbox$


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#18 2012-11-17 18:02:36

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

^ please put your output in code box by pressing the 'code' button. Makes it a lot neater and easier to follow.

What is this?

You have new mail in /var/mail/randy
randy@randy:/etc/skel/.config/openbox$

Some of your autostart seems to be missing.

Here is my default autostart.

## Openbox autostart.sh
## ====================
## When you login to your CrunchBang Openbox session, this autostart script 
## will be executed to set-up your environment and launch any applications
## you want to run at startup.
##
## Note*: some programs, such as 'nm-applet' are run via XDG autostart.
## Run '/usr/lib/openbox/openbox-xdg-autostart --list' to list any
## XDG autostarted programs.
##
## More information about this can be found at:
## http://openbox.org/wiki/Help:Autostart
##
## If you do something cool with your autostart script and you think others
## could benefit from your hack, please consider sharing it at:
## http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/
##
## Have fun! :)

## Set root window colour
hsetroot -solid "#2E3436" &

## Group start:
## 1. nitrogen - restores wallpaper
## 2. compositor
## 3. sleep - give compositor time to start
## 4. conky
## 5. tint2 panel
(\
nitrogen --restore && \
cb-compositor --start && \
sleep 2s && \
conky -q && \
tint2 \
) &

## Enable hot corners
cb-hotcorners --daemon &

## Volume control for systray
(sleep 2s && pnmixer) &

## Volume keys daemon
xfce4-volumed &

## Enable power management
xfce4-power-manager &

## Start Thunar Daemon
thunar --daemon &

## Detect and configure touchpad. See 'man synclient' for more info.
if egrep -iq 'touchpad' /proc/bus/input/devices; then
    synclient VertEdgeScroll=1 &
    synclient TapButton1=1 &
fi

## Start xscreensaver
xscreensaver -no-splash &

## Start Clipboard manager
(sleep 3s && clipit) &

## Set keyboard settings - 250 ms delay and 25 cps (characters per second) repeat rate.
## Adjust the values according to your preferances.
xset r rate 250 25 &

## The following command runs hacks and fixes for #! LiveCD sessions.
## Safe to delete after installation.
cb-cowpowers &

## cb-welcome - post-installation script, will not run in a live session and
## only runs once. Safe to remove.
(sleep 10s && cb-welcome --firstrun) &

## cb-fortune - have Waldorf say a little adage
#(sleep 120s && cb-fortune) &

## GNOME PolicyKit and Keyring
(\
/usr/lib/policykit-1-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-agent-1 && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=ssh && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=secrets && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=pkcs11 && \
/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=gpg \
) &

If you add weird stuff like you seem to it will break it. monkey Sounds like you're enjoying yourself anyway smile
Be careful not to bodge up your defaults in /etc/skel as you need them to save your ass when stuff like this happens. Just do it straight to autostart.sh from obmenu

Last edited by dura (2012-11-17 18:20:29)

Offline

#19 2012-11-17 18:16:06

el_koraco
#!/loony/bun
From: inside Ed
Registered: 2011-07-25
Posts: 4,748

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Try to copy paste dura's configuration into yours. Make additional changes later.

Offline

#20 2012-11-17 18:35:36

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Installing Statler instead of Waldorf is regression- go for Waldorf. In my vast unknowledge I would suggest this issue you are encountering is not a bug, but a picnic error. Lets get it fixed. smile

Last edited by dura (2012-11-17 18:37:18)

Offline

#21 2012-11-17 18:45:08

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Sorry about not putting in the codes. I should have known better. My problem is that I have some shows to record tomorrow so I want to get this issue resolved soon if possible. I could boot into Lubuntu and record my shows from there put I am so stubborn when it comes to solving computer problems. I love what you said Dura, "Let's Get It Fixed"

I will paste the autostart code into my autostart file and see what happens. Is uninstalling/reinstalling tint2 an option? Like I said before, I am really new to all this stuff so if I post something that sounds silly, please bear with me. For me, this is all part of learning Linux and I love it!!! smile

I have no idea what that mail stuff is at the end of my autostart file.

Last edited by rmcellig (2012-11-17 18:46:14)


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#22 2012-11-17 18:50:14

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

I wouldn't bother reinstalling tint2 yet. Just copy my default autostart.sh and lets go from there. If you are really getting the output you say you are from your default autostart.sh in /etc/skel then you might be best replacing that as well with the one I have provided, because it seems bodged. It's really important to keep everything in skel safe, so don't ever touch it unless it is to copy a file and replace another bodged one.

This is all part of learning, definitely. Breaking stuff is the most important!

The bodged stuff at the end is probably what is breaking stuff

Last edited by dura (2012-11-17 18:50:59)

Offline

#23 2012-11-17 19:03:17

rmcellig
#! Die Hard
From: Ottawa, Canada
Registered: 2012-11-15
Posts: 547
Website

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

OK. Now here is what I have done. I copied/pasted die Hard's autostart file that he posted above into my autostart file. I restarted my machine and it works fine now, except for one thing. When I start up, I have two Crunchbang options in my GRUB menu. One option is 3.2.0-4 -pae (this does not work on my machine. I get a black screen with a X. The other option is 3.2.0-3 -pae. This one works. What gives? Is this a kernel issue? What should I do?

I also have Gnome-Do on my machine because I like to quik load apps with it (unless there is a better way to do this? All I have to do is type au to launch audacity, type fz to launch Filezilla when Gnome-Do launches. Pretty quick.


Cheers Randy
www.mcran.com - my web site
www.chuo.fm - My radio show Sundays  noon-2pm EST or 89.1 fM

Offline

#24 2012-11-17 19:12:40

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

Cool. One down.

When I start up, I have two Crunchbang options in my GRUB menu. One option is 3.2.0-4 -pae (this does not work on my machine. I get a black screen with a X. The other option is 3.2.0-3 -pae. This one works. What gives?

These are two different kernels. 3.2.0-4 -pae is newer than 3.2.0-3 -pae. Did you stop any upgrades before they had finished or anything? Perhaps the 3.2.0-4 -pae is broken somehow- not that I would really know, but I should think that it works on your machine.

Others may be able to help more here, but I think you should not in the mean time do any apt-get autoremove commands because it might remove your only working kernel.

It would be good to remove the broken 3.2.0-4 -pae kernel and try and reinstall it. But probably best to leave it for now until you've done your radio show.

If you want to have more fun though, you could try, or at least break something else so we have something to do for the evening  monkey  monkey

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2012-11-17 19:15:31

omns
#! wanderer
From: ~/
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 5,131

Re: Broken Waldorf installation

dura wrote:

Installing Statler instead of Waldorf is regression- go for Waldorf.

Great work on solving the problem everyone smile

Just on a small related side note. It concerns me somewhat that there is a general tendency at the moment for Waldorf to be recommended for users looking for a the newest and most stable release.

Waldorf is the 'testing' release and as such will have small bugs despite being stable enough already for many users. Statler is the stable release and best for users looking for this type of thing.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo