SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-15 15:51:40

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Updated Waldorf images are available now.

These new images were built to address an issue with the live session, whereby under certain conditions the live session would spawn two X sessions. Whilst this bug only affected live sessions and was not present once an installation had been performed, I still figured it was worth addressing to ensure any live users can more accurately evaluate the system, before performing an installation.

Other changes have been kept to an absolute minimum and any existing Waldorf users should not need to perform a new installation, unless they wish to help with testing the install process.

Other minor changes of note are:

  • Iceweasel updated to version 16.0.1

  • To improve the out-of-the-box networking experience, users are now automatically added to the 'fuse' group. This should make mounting of remote filesystems somewhat easier for novice users.

  • Thunar should now startup without delay. This addresses a long standing issue with Thunar whereby under certain conditions it would pause whilst waiting to automount network filesystems.

  • Other minor usability fixes which have been documented on the forums over the past few weeks.

A massive thank you to everybody who has helped test and provide feedback on the previous Waldorf images -- I have received numerous messages from people who have said that Waldorf is developing into something quite special and this would not have been possible without you! smile

As always, your feedback is greatly appreciated, so please do not hesitate to post below!

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-10-15 19:54:10

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11,491

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

There were two "fixes" suggested for the slow Thunar startup - one involved removing the package that auto-mounts the network shares, the other involved modifying a preferences file so it just doesn't try to auto-mount them.  Which fix did you apply?


Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#3 2012-10-15 20:05:12

m5
#! CrunchBanger
From: 200 years ago.
Registered: 2011-12-08
Posts: 221

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Congrats,
smile


Keep digging.
Linux beginner.

Offline

#4 2012-10-15 20:06:36

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@pvsage, no. 2.

I also rebuilt Thunar with a suggested patch, which delayed the action until after Thunar was open and running, but then read that the patch had been deprecated due to it causing other issues, so I removed it. Anyhow, I modified  '/usr/share/gvfs/mounts/network.mount' from:

[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=true

to:

[Mount]
Type=network
Exec=/usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd-network
AutoMount=false

This is currently done via a hook in the build process, but depending on feedback, I may look at patching the 'gvfs-backends' package.

Offline

#5 2012-10-15 20:10:55

dura
Bloated Gimp
From: interzone
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 2,106

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

yay. the crescendo cometh

Offline

#6 2012-10-15 20:23:08

hhh
Caught in the Vortex
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 1,885

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Just ran the 32bit PAE version on a Compaq SR2010NX w/ 1G RAM, everything worked OOTB, including keyboard volume multimedia keys, though volume was muted on login. Graphics were fine on an Nivida 6150LE integrated card, system RAM usage was ~100M at login. Great work, I have a spare partition I can install this to shortly.

No install option available from the LIVE session?

One tiny, miniscule fraction of a niggle, the download site says the ISO is ~765M but both Transmission and Nautilus told me it was ~802M. tongue

Any things you'd like specific feedback on, either running live or from the installed OS?

Offline

#7 2012-10-15 20:40:06

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

hhh wrote:

No install option available from the LIVE session?

Not at the moment. While it is possible to launch the d-i from within an X session, it is prone to errors with mismatched kernels etc. If I get time, I will look into it some more and see if I can troubleshoot the problems. That said, it is not super-high on my list of priorities at the moment.

One tiny, miniscule fraction of a niggle, the download site says the ISO is ~765M but both Transmission and Nautilus told me it was ~802M. tongue

I used Thunar to grab the approximate size. I am not sure why it reported differently hmm

Any things you'd like specific feedback on, either running live or from the installed OS?

Not really, any feedback is helpful, especially about any issues you might find smile

Offline

#8 2012-10-15 20:40:21

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11,491

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Volume's been mute on first login with every CrunchBang I've used on my netbook and desktop since the first Statler release.  What's up with that? hmm


Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#9 2012-10-15 20:47:42

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

pvsage wrote:

Volume's been mute on first login with every CrunchBang I've used on my netbook and desktop since the first Statler release.  What's up with that? hmm

Hmm, not too sure. Across numerous systems, my volume is set to about mid level on first boot, so my initial thoughts are that it could be hardware related. I will look into it.

Offline

#10 2012-10-15 20:58:29

junkie
#! Junkie
Registered: 2012-05-04
Posts: 364

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

^ I remember this happening to me once at first boot. Read somewhere that alsa runs lsmod to check if the snd modules have loaded. If not alsa won't execute the code to unmute sound...

ahh here it is.. http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01960

Offline

#11 2012-10-15 21:08:26

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

junkie wrote:

^ I remember this happening to me once at first boot. Read somewhere that alsa runs lsmod to check if the snd modules have loaded. If not alsa won't execute the code to unmute sound...

ahh here it is.. http://bkhome.org/blog/?viewDetailed=01960

Interesting, thank you for sharing the link. smile

Offline

#12 2012-10-15 21:22:21

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 11,491

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Well, not exactly muted on my hardware (Radeon sound chip on the desktop, Intel "HD Audio" on the netbook); volume sliders just run all the way down, and mixer channel list completely unpopulated.  Not really a big deal for me to add all the channels that first boot, but still...

...Of course, in Waldorf under Pulseaudio, things are...somewhat stranger. wink


Yes; as a matter of fact, I am a cop.  Why do you ask? cool
I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#13 2012-10-16 01:37:17

sqlpython
#! Die Hard
From: New England
Registered: 2011-11-28
Posts: 928

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Thanks for the UpDate!
@hhh says

No install option available from the LIVE session?

@Corenominal says

Not at the moment. While it is possible to launch the d-i from within an X session, it is prone to errors with mismatched kernels etc.

I continue use my Statler install almost Daily. I have downloaded and installed the 1st Waldorf some months ago. I used the Desktop install and had and Have no problems...
So, My Waldorf install is not the Norm?


OHCG #!, Jessie,, Siduction-13.1,  Slackware 14,  Bridge,, Sabayon 13.4,

Offline

#14 2012-10-16 06:48:19

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 608
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Thanks Philip once again...I was expecting this update due to the frequent updates of the last few days wink

corenominal wrote:
  • Other minor usability fixes which have been documented on the forums over the past few weeks.

Any relevant fix that we, existing Waldorf users, should apply?

Thank you very much.

Offline

#15 2012-10-16 06:55:01

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Milozzy wrote:

Any relevant fix that we, existing Waldorf users, should apply?

Not that I can think of. The fixes were applied to packages, so you should have them already smile

Offline

#16 2012-10-16 07:05:15

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 608
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

corenominal wrote:
Milozzy wrote:

Any relevant fix that we, existing Waldorf users, should apply?

Not that I can think of. The fixes were applied to packages, so you should have them already smile

Cool, thanks!Are there fixes in the config files too, so that should be wise to update my config files or create a new user?

Offline

#17 2012-10-16 07:11:05

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Milozzy wrote:

Are there fixes in the config files too, so that should be wise to update my config files or create a new user?

No, your configs should be all good smile

Offline

#18 2012-10-16 07:23:30

Milozzy
#! Die Hard
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 608
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

corenominal wrote:
Milozzy wrote:

Are there fixes in the config files too, so that should be wise to update my config files or create a new user?

No, your configs should be all good smile

Excellent, thanks again!!

Offline

#19 2012-10-16 13:55:56

afab4
Member
From: Stony Lake, Michigan
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 23

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

The live install works flawlessly.  With Thunar, I am able to access network shares as well as the other partitions on my hard drive, even without any root authorization.
After installing to my hard drive though, I am unable to access the other partitions on my hard drive.
Trying to mount them in Thunar tells me that I need to have authorization to mount them but fails to give me the opportunity to do so.


I support the candidate that will steal the least from me....

Offline

#20 2012-10-16 20:18:40

corenominal
WRONG
From: Lincoln, UK
Registered: 2008-11-20
Posts: 5,053
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

@afab4, thanks for the feedback, I will investigate.

Offline

#21 2012-10-16 21:10:55

hhh
Caught in the Vortex
Registered: 2010-08-04
Posts: 1,885

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Sorry for the delay, I was just able to install Waldorf and mess around a bit (life gets in the way and all)...

I can confirm afab4's bug. When Waldorf is installed, Thunar shows my internal partitions as mounted, but clicking on the drive's icon gives me a "Not Authorized" message. If I run gksu thunar, Thunar does not show those partitions, nor are they visible in either /media or /mnt.

The installer has a quirk that I've never seen with the Debian installer, and as a result it was pretty confusing. The installer labeled my install media (a USB stick) as sda and my hard drive as sdb, every other Debian install I've done it's been the opposite, sdb for the stick and sda for the hard drive. So, install GRUB (and format swap) to sdb was, as I said, confusing.

HTH, I can mess around more with it later and see what I can see.

@sqlpython, maybe we're just not using the same terminology? Yes, I can install Waldorf from the GRUB menu option (Live; Install; Memory Check, or something like that). I meant that once logged in to the Live desktop session, there is no menu item or desktop icon for "Install Waldorf to your hard drive", as there often is with Live CDs. A very minor observation on my part.

Offline

#22 2012-10-17 01:22:26

kd5ob
#! CrunchBanger
From: Oklahoma
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 206

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

I've taken the new installed and ran it in live mode on a Dell 1525 and a Dell mini 10.
The live system worked flawlessly on both units having tested wireless, browser, usb devices like my headset.
I installed Waldorf using the new iso on a 32 gig usbdrive using the Dell 1525 and the install came off fine.
The install also worked just fine on the Dell Mini 10 which has a dual monitor installed which came up just
fine during 1st boot of Waldorf.
I tried simple, LVM, LVM encrypted installs and the only confusion I had was during the usbdisk install when
I tried to install the boot loader to (HD2) and noticed the non-default grub installer had changed.  It was a bit confusing to me to use /dev devices and had to look.  I figured /dev/sdc would do this usbstick but found out that was rejected.  finally /dev/sdc1 worked and it booted.  Anyway, I wonder why they did away with say (hd2,0) specs???  Anyway, minor thing...  Just have to get used to the new Debian way of doing things.
Also, if your going to install to a usbdisk, best not plug the target usbdrive in until you've got to the
install section, about keyboard settings, otherwise the install get's hung trying to figure out who's who...
Again, this was cheating and I don't consider it an error or bug...  I had an old OS on that key and it would have confused my boot loader F12 on the dell as Waldorf was on another usbkey disk.  So, there you go...
FYI,,

If there is something wrong with this one, I couldn't find it.  Must be on the live side and I ran what I could.

Offline

#23 2012-10-18 12:44:33

NicePics13
#! Member
From: Finland
Registered: 2009-01-18
Posts: 73

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

This october release works again with my nForce2 desktop (the september releases did not) smile

Offline

#24 2012-10-18 14:03:36

jst_joe
#! Junkie
From: Here, There and After
Registered: 2012-07-03
Posts: 270

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

afab4 wrote:

The live install works flawlessly.  With Thunar, I am able to access network shares as well as the other partitions on my hard drive, even without any root authorization.
After installing to my hard drive though, I am unable to access the other partitions on my hard drive.
Trying to mount them in Thunar tells me that I need to have authorization to mount them but fails to give me the opportunity to do so.

Seems that the only partitions being written to fstab are the ones selected to be used during install.
You can add the others manually and all is good.


A person who has a cat by the tail knows a whole lot more about cats than someone who has just read about them.
Mark Twain

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#25 2012-10-18 14:59:41

idirae
Member
Registered: 2012-09-17
Posts: 19
Website

Re: Updated Waldorf "Testing" images: 20121015

Installed with this image on a 64bit system. No problems whatsoever. Everything worked as it should right out of the box!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo