SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-08 00:10:07

blackplague1347
Member
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 26

[SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

I resized my desktop and now Conky's display is just sitting there, slightly right of center on my desktop. I want to move it toward the edge of the screen, like it was before I adjusted my desktop size.

How can I do it?

Big newbie, by the way. So don't all jargon-y on me wink

Last edited by blackplague1347 (2010-10-08 17:46:43)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2010-10-08 00:28:10

bolle
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 220

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Hey there,

( welcome to #! btw big_smile )

Well in our home folder there is a hidden file named ".conkyrc"
If you open that up with root access
Find a line that says "position" or something alike.

There should be two words there saying
"top right" or "bottom left", etc. etc.

Im not sure if this will work, or if there is an easier solution ( probably is )
butt

Try changing those words to "bottom left"

save the file, restart your computer, your conky should be in some odd place, near your tint2 panel (where your tasks are),
and then open up your "conkyrc" file again, and edit those words to say "top right" now.

Restart, and see if my magic complete guess solution worked smile

Sorry i couldnt be anymore help.. someone smarter than me will come along and fix this in a snap ^^

Good luck!


I once installed gentoo. It asked me for a sacrifice and would not install itself unless I gave him my neighbor's first born and my best bottle of Whiskey.  -Awebb 2011

Offline

#3 2010-10-08 00:40:29

crunchy
#! Junkie
From: Juneau, AK, USA
Registered: 2010-08-19
Posts: 461

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

##############################################
#  Settings
##############################################
background yes
use_xft yes
xftfont Sans:size=8
xftalpha 1
update_interval .5
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_type desktop
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 200 200
maximum_width 240
draw_shades yes
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color white
default_shade_color black
default_outline_color white
alignment top_left
gap_x 12
gap_y 12
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
override_utf8_locale no

you should change that line to the alignment on the screen that you want that should do it! big_smile


registered Linux user: #533379
registered #! user: #6769
Whenever someone calls me a computer 'nerd' or a 'Unix-based-system'
all I can think is: You just wait. In a couple of years. I'll be your IT. Then where will you be!

Offline

#4 2010-10-08 00:51:32

bolle
#! CrunchBanger
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 220

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

what he said ^^


I once installed gentoo. It asked me for a sacrifice and would not install itself unless I gave him my neighbor's first born and my best bottle of Whiskey.  -Awebb 2011

Offline

#5 2010-10-08 00:53:10

vrkalak
#! Die Hard
From: Las Vegas > US
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 1,562

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Since, you are truly new to Linux . . . more help.

Open the File Manager from the Menu (Thunar)

On the taskbar of the Thunar file manager >  click on 'View'
Then, click on 'Show Hidden Files'

This action will open all the files that are 'hidden' in your Home file.

Now, scroll down to ".conkyrc" ... click on it, to open
This will open the .conky file in your text editor (gedit)

Alter, configure, change which ever lines might seem appropriate, then <save>
The Conky application will show the changes immediately.

It might be good advice:  To make a copy/back-up this .conky file before you change anything.
I always make copies of all my .files like this to a USB flash-drive ... in case, I screw something up and need the original later.

**There are some helpful Conky Hints, Tips and Scripts here  >>  http://crunchbanglinux.org/forums/topic … erence-v2/

Last edited by vrkalak (2010-10-08 00:56:28)


Registered Linux User: #497030
my DeviantART page
-- #!Crunchbang- Sid "Animal"  (Fluxbox) -- LMDE Fluxbox Edition -- Manjaro-Fluxbox --

Online

#6 2010-10-08 01:08:39

boromeus
#! Junkie
Registered: 2010-09-12
Posts: 254

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

vrkalak wrote:

Since, you are truly new to Linux . . . more help.

Open the File Manager from the Menu (Thunar)

On the taskbar of the Thunar file manager >  click on 'View'
Then, click on 'Show Hidden Files' (...)

Or right click on the desktop -> Settings -> Conky Config -> Edit .conkyrc

Offline

#7 2010-10-08 01:25:32

blackplague1347
Member
Registered: 2010-10-07
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

Thanks, folks. Got it. Had to adjust my display again, for some reason.

Offline

#8 2010-10-08 01:36:02

vrkalak
#! Die Hard
From: Las Vegas > US
Registered: 2009-09-14
Posts: 1,562

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

boromeus wrote:

Or right click on the desktop -> Settings -> Conky Config -> Edit .conkyrc

You have a point there . . . why didn't I think of the simple way. roll

Good to know both ways, I guess.


Registered Linux User: #497030
my DeviantART page
-- #!Crunchbang- Sid "Animal"  (Fluxbox) -- LMDE Fluxbox Edition -- Manjaro-Fluxbox --

Online

#9 2010-10-08 07:13:56

luc
#! Die Hard
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2010-03-21
Posts: 561

Re: [SOLVED] Can someone help me move Conky?

conky is sometimes misplaced when you change your monitor settings (resolution). to fix that it is sufficient to run these in a terminal:

killall conky
conky &

this command will terminate and restart conky.

luc

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo