SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-10 06:08:52

instantrobot

Help! Dual-Booting OSX and #! Waldorf.

Hi there. I used UNetBootin to create a 64bit Crunchbang image on a 2GB USB (and it worked flawlessly), but for some reason, I am getting several errors when I try and boot into the USB using rEFIt on OSX. I want to install #! on some free space I set aside for it on my hard drive. I get the message "The firmware refused to boot from the selected volume. Note that external hard drives are not well-supported by Apple's Firmware for legacy OS booting." on my iMac. That message is preceeded by several lines of errors that read "Error: Not Found from LocateDevicePath" etc.

I tried using the USB on a PC, and could start a live session just fine after booting the USB from the BIOS. However, I cannot seem to get it to work on my mac.

Has anyone ever dealt with this/thinks they can help?
I'm very new to Linux, and have only ever used the Chrome OS distro previously, so any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers.  smile

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2013-04-11 11:36:29

apm
#! Junkie
Website

Re: Help! Dual-Booting OSX and #! Waldorf.

sorry for the delay in answering , and yes "dd" is a standard unix utility found on all linux distros and other variants of *nix
including os x .
thus the command thats i have adapted for the article on linuxforyou.com from the usb installation guide here is your best shot .

sometimes all you need is to face the worst fear you have and to overcome it.

#3 2013-04-11 17:45:32

instantrobot