SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-30 00:24:26

irdj

Hi!

Hi guys/gals,

Linux has been a hobby of mine for some time now, though I've always used WIndows for gaming. I work as a network admin for a hospital, though, sadly we don't have any linux/unix servers still in production. sad We have a few old Redhat boxes lingering around for nurse call, and our old unix HIS server for archiving.

I've been lurking around these forums a couple of months and finally decided to make an account. I've used many distros but this one is sitting nicely! I look forward to getting to know some of you and learning from everyone. big_smile

-DJ

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-10-30 01:20:02

VastOne
#! Ranger
Website

Re: Hi!

Hello!

Welcome to CrunchBang and the Community irdj, we are glad to have you!

VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

#3 2012-10-30 03:44:57

schwim
#! Die Hard

Welcome DJ!

I use #! in a VM on my work/play computer so I can game on the second monitor and use linux for everything else. It's the best of everything smile

#4 2012-10-30 04:00:32

irdj

Thanks for the welcome and advice! I have ran Arch and Xubuntu through VMs on my main PC. However, I don't like going back and forth between a VM and my main PC OS (and sharing resources). I'm running #! full-time on my work and personal laptops and absolutely love it, though!

-DJ

#5 2012-10-30 04:04:03

schwim
#! Die Hard

Any time I'm not inclined to game, I would agree big_smile

#6 2012-10-30 04:09:04

VastOne
#! Ranger
Website

^ Interesting, I do exactly the opposite... I use VBox for gaming on my Debian Sid systems..

I do the same with those customers who must use Quickbooks when I convert them over to Linux.

VSIDO | SolusOS

Words That Build Or Destroy

#7 2012-10-30 04:09:52

merelyjim
#! Die Hard
Website

Welcome to #! smile

Keep a copy of Win7 running for Netflix, but that's about it...