SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-12 15:00:47

schwim
#! Die Hard

Your thoughts on some application choices to be run in Crunchbang

Hi there Everyone!

To preface, although I'm not very good at it, I've been working on and with linux for probably 12 years or so.  As the distributions matured, I was wrapped up in the new bells and whistles they provided and felt I needed to distro hop or upgrade to the latest version of whatever I was running so I could have the absolutely biggest and best applications available simply because they existed and I didn't have them.

Last week, while I was installing probably the 15th distro on my work machine to find something that worked for me, I had somewhat of an epiphany.  At some point in relationship with linux, I entered my minimalist phase.  Not only do I no longer feel that I need the latest Amarok or a GUI for absolutely everything, I am kind of excited at the prospect of an OS that exists in the background only to provide the stuff I need for work and play.

Which led me to another realization;  I have absolutely no idea what apps to install for my various needs that have a small footprint and "just get it done".  So here I am, asking for the assistance of the guys and girls that would know this type of thing.  I was hoping you could make some suggestions concerning apps that

1) work well with Crunchbang
2) follow Cb's ethos and provide the needed features while not packaging the kitchen sink
3) work in the de and not via cli(hey, baby steps)

So here's my list of things I haven't found a match for yet.  Your suggestions on suitable applications would be greatly appreciated!

Machine specs:

Acer Aspire 5251-1513

Processor: AMD V Series processor V120 (512 KB L2 cache, 2.20 GHz, 1066 MHz FSB, 25 W)
Memory: 2 GB of DDR3 1066 MHz memory minus video allocation
Video: ATI Radeon™ HD 4250 Graphics with 256 MB of dedicated system memory