SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-28 01:12:18

profoundWHALE

Bravo!

Okay, I've been using Crunchbang for what, 4 months now? And it's the best of the ones that I've tried, mainly for a couple things.
1) It's stable, even the unstable. When I say that, I mean I can open up chromium, or firefox/iceweasel, play a flash video, and there's no problem. How come Ubuntu hasn't figured it out? I don't know. I always got delayed audio and a choppy video, which meant that I could watch without using google-chrome-unstable. Considering they install programs right from their Software Center, it's amazing how many times it's crashed in one way or another.
2) It's fast, which could be partly due to the drivers that are included (thankyou thankyou thankyou!) Ubuntu didn't like my USB Wifi adapter. It would kill it if I tried to do something like, load a youtube video. *loads 3 secs* *usb wifi light goes off* *reboot* Because unplugging it or reloading it didn't work. D:
3) It's minimalistic and simple. Einstein said, "Everything should be as simple as possible, not simpler." because when you make something too simple (*cough cough* Ubuntu *cough cough*) it only makes things more complicated. I tried to change a file in Ubuntu, but I had to go to the terminal to do it because it 'needed to be root' which you included right in the right click. Awesome!

My only gripes are actually quite minor really, and to change anything I'd assume would be pretty difficult. It has to do with having so many different folders for one program/application. (or 'app' as they like to call it nowadays) I figured it'd be neat if I could download a source or deb package, drag and drop to an 'install folder' or location, and the OS would automatically set it up/download stuff. The menu could ask to automatically make links for those too, asking what category to put it in.