SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-22 16:16:33

dura
Bloated Gimp

Greetings

Greetings,

I'm new in the sense that I haven't ran #! on my main machine before, for everyday use. Blown away with stability, speed and configuration.......and the community.

Previously I used Linux Mint 11, and have only really been a Linux user for close to 2 years now. I have distro-hopped and experimented a bit in that time but returned to Mint. I stuck #! on a 12 year old dell, and briefly used it. Always had a bit of a soft spot for it. Before that I was stuck with Windows, too unknowledgeable about Linux to jump (like a lot, I thought it was perhaps all command and no GUI), too lacking in money to buy a Mac. Then I got a new laptop and just went for it. Never turned back (or maybe just in memory as to how awful Windows existence was).

My employment is as an ethnographic researcher and lecturer in a University in the North of England. Creativity, what it is and how we experience it, are notions that I am interested in.

Since being a Linux user this interest has blurred further into my everyday, and apart from the pragmatics of using Linux, it is also a learning and research exercise for me. Everybody loves learning whilst using Linux (most of the time...), but there is the potential my experience may someday take the form of an academic paper. If I ever can make space to do so.

Since using Linux a life long interest in computing, that was always nascent and never really realized, has grown in presence. I now spend a lot of time using my Raspberry Pi's, and fiddling about with #! on my x1212. I also 'administrate' (a nice way of terming 'colonialize' or appropriate for my own purposes) a few others machines. The evangelical desire though has reduced now quite a bit.