SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2012-01-23 17:02:24

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

NOTE:  The information within this post is apparently not relevant to Waldorf, and is quite possibly no longer relevant to Statler as well; as such, I am closing this thread.  Please consider it a historical reference only.

It seems there is a problem with DMA and some Broadcom BCM43xx cards (specifically the BCM4312 lpphy; may be a problem with other(?) lpphy chips, but have not confirmed) on some netbooks that prevents the card from connecting to some, but not all, wifi routers.  With some routers, this problem can cause occasional dropouts; with others, it will cause an endless re-authentication loop in which network-manager keeps asking for your passkey.  The solution (from here) is to force the driver to load as Programmed input/output Mode 1 with Quality of Service set to 0 (messages are sent at most once).  Just copy & paste the following commands, one line at a time, into a terminal window:

sudo touch /etc/modprobe.d/b43.conf
echo "options b43 pio=1 qos=0" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/b43.conf

Reboot and enjoy a more reliable wifi connection.

Last edited by pvsage (2013-01-01 15:06:37)


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2012-01-23 17:20:12

Forthy
#! CrunchBanger
From: Warwickshire, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 188

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

I wonder if this will fix my hidden SSID connection issue.

Will add later and see - thanks for the tip smile

Offline

#3 2012-01-23 17:31:47

xaos52
The Good Doctor
From: Planet of the @s
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 4,602

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

If it does not solve your issue, try debugging wpasupplicant as in the thread referred to and post the content of wpa.log.

Offline

#4 2012-01-23 17:37:35

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

^ The link above isn't that thread; the wpasupplicant madness thread (at least, the one I was involved in) is here.


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#5 2012-01-23 20:09:08

Forthy
#! CrunchBanger
From: Warwickshire, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 188

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Hi guys - it now connects to the b/g hidden network, but not the dual band 5GHZ one.  I presume this is a restriction of this paticular driver?

It works on Xubuntu on the other partition - so I don't know :-/

I'm just about to read the thread you've linked to, so if the answer's in there I'll hopefully find it smile

Offline

#6 2012-01-23 20:34:14

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Unfortunately, this was the only successful answer we found for the BCM4312 card over there...


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#7 2012-01-23 21:31:24

Forthy
#! CrunchBanger
From: Warwickshire, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 188

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

TBH it's not a major issue - the speed isn't noticeable most of the time, and now that I can get on to the hidden network I can get to my NAS, which is the main thing!

Just curious really.

Symptoms when I try to connect to the 5GHz network is just a constant 'connecting' dialogue, and nothing else.  It doesn't ask for the key again or fail to connect, it just keeps trying indefinitely until I get bored.  This was the same behaviour for the 2.4GHz network before I followed your instructions above, and it would only connect to the visible network.

Since using the instructions above it connects faultlessly to the 2.4GHz hidden network (although it defaults to the visible one and won't let me delete it!!), but yeah, it's made a world of difference.

Offline

#8 2012-01-23 22:06:03

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Forthy wrote:

(although it defaults to the visible one and won't let me delete it!!)

If you right-click on the Network Manager applet in the systray, select "Edit Connections", and go to the wireless tab, you can't select the "Auto {whatever}" connection and delete? hmm


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#9 2012-01-24 01:28:29

weenerdog
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 7

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Worked for me on my Dell Mini9 (Inspiron 910) with WPA -- wouldn't work otherwise!

Thanks much!!:D

Offline

#10 2012-01-24 06:18:47

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

@weenerdog:  Glad it helped!  Just as a matter of curiosity, what kind of wifi router are you connecting to?  The default setting (QoS=1) worked fine with a Netgear router and whatever we have at work, but I had to use the above fix to get it to work with a Belkin router.  (Still works at work. smile)


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#11 2012-01-24 22:19:09

busprof
#! Member
Registered: 2011-03-13
Posts: 69

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Thank, pvsage, for the 'sage' tip!  I am using the following wireless chipset:

0c:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Broadcom Corporation BCM4312 802.11b/g LP-PHY [14e4:4315] (rev 01)
Subsystem: Dell Wireless 1395 WLAN Mini-Card [1028:000b] Kernel driver in use: b43-pci-bridge

And currently connected via WPA2-Personal using a Netgear b/g/n router at home - works at the office as well.  Great post on a persistently problematic set of wireless chips.

Offline

#12 2012-01-24 22:32:50

Forthy
#! CrunchBanger
From: Warwickshire, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 188

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

pvsage wrote:
Forthy wrote:

(although it defaults to the visible one and won't let me delete it!!)

If you right-click on the Network Manager applet in the systray, select "Edit Connections", and go to the wireless tab, you can't select the "Auto {whatever}" connection and delete? hmm

No - lol

I can physically do that, and usually it would bring up a box requesting my password to authorise the deletion, but that box never appears and the window hangs until force close.

Offline

#13 2012-01-24 22:51:30

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

^ Try `gksu nm-connection-editor`?


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#14 2012-01-25 21:24:37

Forthy
#! CrunchBanger
From: Warwickshire, UK
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 188

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

^Beautiful - thanks smile

Offline

#15 2012-01-26 17:42:05

weenerdog
New Member
Registered: 2009-02-26
Posts: 7

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

pvsage wrote:

@weenerdog:  Glad it helped!  Just as a matter of curiosity, what kind of wifi router are you connecting to?  The default setting (QoS=1) worked fine with a Netgear router and whatever we have at work, but I had to use the above fix to get it to work with a Belkin router.  (Still works at work. smile)

Worked fine without the fix with an old D-Link DI-624 using WEP, though I had to go to the security tab and indicate that I was using a 'shared' key, not 'open'.  I needed the fix for a D-Link DIR-601 using WPA/WPA2.  Still stable, fine after resume from hibernation, switching between access points (the above two), etc.

Offline

#16 2012-01-26 18:19:48

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Might be a WPA-specific issue then...


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#17 2012-01-26 21:00:59

vicshrike
#! by Default
From: /grill
Registered: 2009-02-13
Posts: 3,129

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

A little off topic maybe, but if we have had an "solve your Broadcom wifi problem monster thread", I guess
it would have been over 800 pages long by now.


#!, all else is but a shadow.

Offline

#18 2012-01-27 10:13:23

Lulu
Member
Registered: 2011-10-18
Posts: 11

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

You got that right... im never getting a pc witha broadcom wifi card in it ever again. Im using their wl driver but its buggy and slow to connect. pisses me off.

It's bad when you want to spend so much money on a new laptop just to get rid of everything broadcom tongue

Offline

#19 2012-01-27 14:21:32

dubois
The Old Codger
From: Missoula, Montana
Registered: 2010-09-03
Posts: 2,238

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

I use a netbook with the Broadcom 4313 chip and have beat my brains out against the wall, I just haven't told anyone yet.  Mine works fine thanks to this but with comments like this from their site

Broadcom's AirForce® family has rapidly become the preferred Wi-Fi solution for 802.11 LAN equipment vendors and notebook suppliers.

are the problems we're experiencing due to Broadcom themselves or to Debian's position on free software?  Just curious.


SOURCE -- http://www.broadcom.com/products/Wirele … -Solutions

Offline

#20 2012-05-10 04:37:32

nasirm
New Member
Registered: 2012-05-10
Posts: 1

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

The 2-line fix by pvsage works perfectly for the Dell Mini 9; and by extension, should work for Mini 10 and other Broadcom B43xx based cards (vice modifications by means of ndiswrapper, etc.).  This is a very elegant fix.

Offline

#21 2012-05-10 05:49:43

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

Why, thank you, nasirm, and welcome to CrunchBang!  Unfortunately, I can't take any credit for the solution - Dr. Xaos pointed me to this post by nathwill.  If only nathwill had named his source...

Now how's about you mosey on over to the introductions area so we can say howdy?


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

#22 2012-10-23 18:53:54

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 367
Website

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

pvsage wrote:

It seems there is a problem with DMA and some Broadcom BCM43xx cards on some netbooks that prevents the card from connecting to some, but not all, wifi routers.  With some routers, this problem can cause occasional dropouts; with others, it will cause an endless re-authentication loop in which network-manager keeps asking for your passkey.  The solution (from here) is to force the driver to load as Programmed input/output Mode 1 with Quality of Service set to 0 (messages are sent at most once).  Just copy & paste the following commands, one line at a time, into a terminal window:

sudo touch /etc/modprobe.d/b43.conf
echo "options b43 pio=1 qos=0" | sudo tee -a /etc/modprobe.d/b43.conf

Reboot and enjoy a more reliable wifi connection.

@pvsage - Thank you so much for this tip.  My HP Folio "forgot" how to connect wirelessly (evidently a fairly common problem), and I tried multiple hacks from multiple threads until I stumbled upon this one.  I'm happy to say I'm back in business, running the Liquorix 3.5.0.7 64-bit kernel.  smile

Last edited by extraspecialbitter (2012-10-23 18:55:36)

Offline

#23 2012-10-23 20:51:54

pvsage
Internal Affairs
From: North Carolina
Registered: 2009-10-18
Posts: 12,691

Re: Broadcom b43 wifi fix - the easy way

@ESB:  Thanks for resurrecting this thread; I keep forgetting to edit the first post to show that it seems to specifically be a lpphy problem.  (This hack has been reported to bork wifi with other BCM43xx chips.)  Fixed now! cool

EDIT:  As noted in the first post, this fix now seems deprecated; as such, I'm closing this thread to help prevent future confusion. ops

Last edited by pvsage (2013-01-01 15:15:31)


I'm a moderator here.  How are we doing?  Feedback is encouraged.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.

Debian Logo