SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2011-12-19 01:12:53

bubbadave

[SOLVED] Apache and PHP troubles

I just installed the Statler build of Crunchbang released around November 25th, 2011. I want to set up a small web server with the ability to serve PHP pages.

The post-installation script seemed to be just what I needed to set up Apache with PHP support. However, after installing Crunchbang and placing some PHP pages in my /var/www directory, I found that they would not display in a web browser when accessing the site from another computer (or even on the host computer). What am I doing wrong? The Apache web server works fine when serving HTML pages but PHP pages aren't displaying. Is there something I have to do to enable PHP? I'm not a TOTAL noob, but I am new to Apache and PHP on the server end. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

Last edited by bubbadave (2011-12-28 21:52:26)

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2011-12-19 03:27:30

dkeg
#! Die Hard

Re: [SOLVED] Apache and PHP troubles

put your project in htdocs instead of www.  That should solve your problem.  then it would be

localhost/username/projectname

not sure if you said yes to symlink option during setup.  I did, hence the above.  if not probably would be just

localhost/projectname

hope that helps.

grill it | the rocky path may just be the best path

#3 2011-12-19 05:48:04

Ozitraveller
#! CrunchBanger

I installed xampp from  http://www.apachefriends.org/en/xampp-linux.html#372

Last edited by Ozitraveller (2011-12-19 05:48:44)

#4 2011-12-19 12:37:51

dkeg
#! Die Hard

Ozitraveller wrote:

that would only be necessary if you skipped over the option to install the lampp stack during the install process.  bubbadave stated that he did select to install at that time.