SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2009-02-13 00:27:02

blackstar

Help setting up #! on MSi Wind! [Newbie]

Hey guys,

First a bit of history: I got my MSi wind a few months ago, mainly because I needed a small laptop to take around to classes for notes, etc (I'm a bioengineering student at the University of California, Berkeley). I had NO idea as to the amount of customization and "hacking" I would soon be undertaking with my Wind smile

I started off with XP Home, put on OS X. Stuck with that for awhile, then decided to try Windows 7. Installed W7, but accidentally lost access to my OS X installation, so I wiped it clean and just stuck with XP Home and W7 for awhile. Got bored with XP and Windows in general, and decided to go back to OS X. However, I didn't have a flash drive big enough to hold OS X, and so I messed around with ubuntu for the last month or so. Worked great, for the most part, but then I got the OS X itch again, and borrowed a friend's USB flash *8 GB*, and installed it and got everything running perfectly....except for the internal mic.

So I'm one piece of hardware away from perfection - so I went on a quest to try and find the "perfect" Linux distro to dual-boot with - one that would work with EVERYTHING, and that would play nice with OS X. Of special consideration: Wireless compatibility without much hassle, webcam working OTB, and internal mic WORKING. Basically I need a good skype partition...

Thus, I've been prowling the MSi Wind forums for awhile, and I recently discovered #!. I LOVE IT. I tried it on Live USB (using unetbootin), and it was stunning. Now, I'd like to actually install it, and I need some help.