SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2010-11-25 16:03:33

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

[SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

I have been running Statler Alpha 2 on my Asus EeePC 1005HA for several months and would be 100% satisfied with it if not for one glaring peculiarity - there are certain keys that I must hit twice in order for them to echo once - whether in a terminal or a browser.  The keys are apostrophe, double-quote, tilde and back-tic (`).  This happened both before and after running "sudo dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration."

My /etc/default/keyboard file looks like this:

XKBMODEL="asus_laptop"
XKBLAYOUT="us"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS="terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"

I should mention that I've also played with the XKBMODEL variable set to "pc105" with no change in behavior.  Very strange...

Last edited by extraspecialbitter (2010-11-28 16:26:51)

Offline

Be excellent to each other!

#2 2010-11-25 19:14:09

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

I can confirm that this does *not* happen when I boot an Ubuntu 10.04 Live CD, leading me to believe that it isn't the physical keyboard itself, but something to do with my configuration.  hmm

Offline

#3 2010-11-25 19:53:33

Awebb
The Singularity
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 2,812

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

See if there is an eeepc-laptop kernel module.


I'm so meta, even this acronym

Offline

#4 2010-11-25 20:22:47

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

Offline

#5 2010-11-25 20:34:53

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

I just booted from the Statler Alpha 2 live CD - the same one I used for my hard drive installation - and found that I'm not getting the same behavior (i.e. that the keys behave as expected).  This means that I must have somehow configured it to work the "wrong" way.  Now to figure out how to fix it (hopefully without reinstalling)...

Offline

#6 2010-11-25 21:01:32

Awebb
The Singularity
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 2,812

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice


I'm so meta, even this acronym

Offline

#7 2010-11-25 22:03:20

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

The plot thickens.  I noticed that I do have an eeepc-laptop.ko in the proper directory, but it fails to load when I attempt to do it manually via modprobe:

pablo@cruncheee=> sudo modprobe eeepc_laptopFATAL: Error inserting eeepc_laptop (/lib/modules/2.6.32-5-686/kernel/drivers/platform/x86/eeepc-laptop.ko): No such device

An odd error message considering that the module clearly exists:

pablo@cruncheee=> sudo modinfo eeepc_laptop
filename:       /lib/modules/2.6.32-5-686/kernel/drivers/platform/x86/eeepc-laptop.ko
license:        GPL
description:    Eee PC Hotkey Driver
author:         Corentin Chary, Eric Cooper
alias:          acpi*:ASUS010:*
depends:        pci_hotplug,rfkill
vermagic:       2.6.32-5-686 SMP mod_unload modversions 686 
parm:           hotplug_disabled:Disable hotplug for wireless device. If your laptop need that, please report to acpi4asus-user@lists.sourceforge.net. (bool)

Offline

#8 2010-11-26 02:40:07

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

Good news!  Editing my grub.cfg file and adding "acpi_osi=Linux" did the trick after a quick reboot.  Thanks for the help!

Offline

#9 2010-11-26 09:10:31

Awebb
The Singularity
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 2,812

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

Just as I thought. :-D

It's interesting though... could you please try to modprobe eeepc-laptop again, this time with the grub line? I wonder if it's connected.


I'm so meta, even this acronym

Offline

#10 2010-11-27 15:48:36

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

Offline

#11 2010-11-28 01:17:38

Awebb
The Singularity
Registered: 2009-07-23
Posts: 2,812

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

Tilde and apostrophe? You use a "nodeadkeys" keyboard scheme. Use another one :-D


I'm so meta, even this acronym

Offline

#12 2010-11-28 16:00:33

extraspecialbitter
#! Junkie
From: Cochituate, MA
Registered: 2009-01-21
Posts: 395
Website

Re: [SOLVED] some keys on EeePC need to be pressed twice

XKBMODEL="pc104"
XKBLAYOUT="us"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS="terminate:ctrl_alt_bksp"

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: bleh

Debian Logo