SEARCH

Enter your search query in the box above ^, or use the forum search tool.

You are not logged in.

#1 2015-11-02 13:13:44

837183
Member
Registered: 2013-04-19
Posts: 35

Dual booting #! and Windows

Hi dear, knowledgeable users (did the flattery work?)

My course requires that we work with a Windows application called "HP Unified Functional Testing", according to HP it works with Windows 7 Service Pack 1 (32-bit or 64-bit) or above.

My PC is Dell OptiPlex 3010 G645 + 120GB SSDNow V300 solid state drive (Where #! is) + Seagate 4TB ST4000DM000 ( where the porn is)

So..I will be happy with these results:

1. HP software works
2. I have #! on the SSD
3. I keep the porn (porn really means porn et al')

Maybe you can direct me..as to what the best course would be - what Windows OS will boot dual best with CrunchBang? which OS to install first (Windows or CrunchBang)? should I put them both on the SSD?..

I have backed everything up, so formatting the SSD is an option..

Last edited by 837183 (2015-11-02 13:15:32)

Offline

Help fund CrunchBang, donate to the project!

#2 2015-11-02 18:35:24

MartinRF
#! Junkie
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 451
Website

Re: Dual booting #! and Windows

Why not install Windows on a virtual machine?

/Martin

Offline

#3 2015-11-02 20:17:09

837183
Member
Registered: 2013-04-19
Posts: 35

Re: Dual booting #! and Windows

Well, I never looked into virtual machines, although the term sounds familiar, so I Googled it, and it seems like a good solution!

Thanks Martin

P.S.: let me ask you something..I have 4GB of RAM, do you think this will be enough for Windows 7 x64?

This page says that any Windows x64 will need at least 2GB, plus #! is currently taking 800MB, with only a few tabs in IceWeasel.

So running it with only 4GB on the whole system, is stretching it? I think...maybe I should buy more RAM for it?

Offline

#4 2015-11-02 21:54:05

MartinRF
#! Junkie
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2009-01-23
Posts: 451
Website

Re: Dual booting #! and Windows

I have 4 GB of RAM and using Virtualbox I easilly run 32-bit WinXP in a virtual machine. 64-bit Linux also works fine -- I am thinking of Ubuntu-based CAELinux which isn't exactly slimmed down. I have no experience of Win7 in a virtual machine but why not try it? There is little to loose.

Next time I re-install/re-build my computer I will drop dual-booting and go for virtual machines. I do plan to get some more RAM as I think some of the stuff I want to try in CAELinux will work much better with more RAM.

/Martin

Offline

#5 2015-11-03 13:39:06

twoion
Emerald Caffeine
From: 星界
Registered: 2012-05-11
Posts: 1,648

Re: Dual booting #! and Windows

837183 wrote:

Well, I never looked into virtual machines, although the term sounds familiar, so I Googled it, and it seems like a good solution!

Thanks Martin

P.S.: let me ask you something..I have 4GB of RAM, do you think this will be enough for Windows 7 x64?

This page says that any Windows x64 will need at least 2GB, plus #! is currently taking 800MB, with only a few tabs in IceWeasel.

So running it with only 4GB on the whole system, is stretching it? I think...maybe I should buy more RAM for it?

I am keeping a Windows 7 VM around and am running it with 2-4G of RAM (depending on how much I need for Linux applications). 2G run Acrobat and MS Office 2010 applications just fine. I can't make any comments on that HP software, but with Acrobat being the most bloated application I can imagine running, the testing framework would most likely work just fine, too. Passing through external ports to a qemu-kvm VM is no problem, too.


Tannhäuser ~ {www,pkg,ddl}.bunsenlabs.org/{gitlog,repoidx}

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB

Copyright © 2012 CrunchBang Linux.
Proudly powered by Debian. Hosted by Linode.
Debian is a registered trademark of Software in the Public Interest, Inc.
Server: acrobat

Debian Logo